April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Block Disco

by Jubjub. - Jam Entry

'BLOCKS. DISCO. COLOUR. It's all here, it's all minimal and stylish 'n stuff. How long can you survive the boogie?'

Made by Jubjub and Meek, using Flixel, FlashDevelop, SFXR and various image editors.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#14Fun(Jam)3.97
#37Overall(Jam)3.86
#86Audio(Jam)3.57
#96Humor(Jam)3.00
#105Innovation(Jam)3.49
#152Theme(Jam)3.63
#163Mood(Jam)3.31
#193Graphics(Jam)3.54

Comments

albertnez says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:05pm

I found this game amazing. I liked the idea, and the sound was perfect. Also, the results looks very neat.

pereubu says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:24pm

wo, that's a super nice and addictive game, great job on the ambiance :D

Ray_Mickelino says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:37pm

This was a really awesome and addictive game. I sort of suck at it, but a good game, nonetheless. Awesome.

Jubjub. says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:42pm

It is pretty hard haha!
I really wanted to add an easy mode with double jumping or several retries, but we didn't really have time for it.

The best we've managed is 120 without cheating, and that took both practice and luck!

Jellycakes says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:05am

Pretty fun game, breath of fresh air to see a platformer that can actually grip the sides of objects in an LD for once. Seems nicely polished too. Well done.

Hyaku says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:14am

This is really fun. Would be great to have the option of arrow keys movement.

I ended playing with my right hand on the A/D and my left hand on the space bar. xD

Btw, i've seen your comment on my entry. Next time you get stuck, just press "R" and you will teleport to the beginning of the current puzzle.

Norgg says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:19am

Argh! So close! Nice game.

Norgg says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:23am

Yeah, arrow key movement would be nice, my A/D fingers were getting pretty tired.

Got that highscore for now. :D

meek says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:28am

Damn you, Norgg. Being one of the developers...I'm tempted to leave it at that. But I'm so tempted to hammer this now and try and take you off the top spot!

meek says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:28am

Oh, and Norgg, we'll have those keys implemented by tomorrow!

meek says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:29am

Infact, Jubjub is adding it right now!

Jubjub. says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:38am

Hey guys, thanks for the feedback about the controls, I've updated the game and now you can use the arrow keys too!

minism says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:45am

Really fun game. I played like 50 times trying to beat your high score. Nice work!

3.14 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:17am

Awsome! It's a man trapped inside a tetris game. Make the blocks into tetraminoes!

WanBean says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:01am

Brilliant game, and even more fun now I think of the person as being stuck in Tetris. I think these are the rejected tetraminoes anyway; the odd-shaped and downright dangerous ones.

Travis Irby says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:15am

Thanks for the comment on my game! Wow this is a ton of fun, nice job. And super stylish :D

Szedouu says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:44am

very addictive and fun game. Great job!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:35am

Nice job. It works, it's playable and enjoyable. But I'm not a bit fan of the interpretation that retro means minimalistic. Minimalism is a design concept, and atari games looked how they looked not by design, but by technical limitations. The engineers of the 80's worked their hats off trying to make the games look as cool and colourful and NOT minimalistic as possible, and here you are making this, laughing in their face :P

fysx says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:38am

Exploding blocks seem to inhibit jumping when standing on a normal white block.

Nevertheless: great game! Lots of fun! Also the title + gameplay + sound is superb!

WanBean says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:39am

Exclamation Mark: I would say the 'minimalistic' style here has more to do with the fact that the theme was 'minimalism'?

Pixelboy_85 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:21am

This has to be the perfect jam game! So fun yet simple. I'm sure I will play it for a while :)

Alink says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:30am

Very fun. Nice usage of physics and good variety of blocks.

Holofire says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:49am

Very fun and challenging. Love the way the blocks do something different.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:52am

WanBean: I'm saying that it is *NOT* minimalistic :P WIth all the action and colours and explosions and retro theming. That's my only complain to this otherwise very good entry.

dissonance says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:20pm

This game is pretty damn fun, even if I was terrible at it. Good sound as well. Although, there wasn't enough disco as advertised. Good job!

Hyaku says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:54pm

Much better with arrow keys. ^-^

enzo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:08pm

I died when I went off the top of the screen :(

This is the best game I've seen so far. I feel like a technicolor NINJA.

patrickward says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:08pm

Neat game. I like how the character grabs the blocks when climbing. Nice graphics and audio too. Unfortunately, I couldn't get past the first couple of blocks, but it was fun trying!

rab236 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:15pm

This is a very enjoyable game. It is a nice spin on the classic tower climb games.

mrexcessive says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:13pm

Like the retro packaging and disco feel. Did not get how to survive long. Nice solid/breaking things.

SuperDisk says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:19pm

Really fun game! The concept was very well implemented and it's quite addictive.

It's too bad the level doesn't seem to be randomly generated, so it's the same thing every time, but it's still quite fun.

Jubjub. says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:03pm

Thanks for all the comments!
Actually once you get to a certain height there's some randomization, which basically means the game picks one of several predefined patterns and every time you climb x meters, it switches.

The first zone is always they same though, we really should have made a few different starting zones so it doesn't get too repetitive!

peaveyj says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:24am

Great game! Really addictive gameplay!

zkenshin says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:48am

Pretty fun. :)

jerombd says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:29am

Very fun even I'm stuck at 22m!

uncade says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:31pm

One of my favorites so far - wish it was a compo game so I could check out the source! How'd you get those wild slopes working with Flixel?

Jubjub. says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:46am

Thanks uncade!
We used Nape as a physics engine, but if you're willing to read through awfully rushed as3 code, send me an email to ethedona@gmail.com and I'll send you the source.

Tifu says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:26am

Pretty hard. Dying when you reach the top of the screen seems incredibly counter-intuitive, I can see why you don't want the player going too high, but I die so often just getting too caught up in "gotta go up!!!" mentality :P
I also seem to occasionally not grab onto an object, or am unable to jump off it if its rotating a little which is a little frustrating.
Really awesome and addictive though, I really want to beat my high score D:

May 2, 2013 @ 11:47am

Disco and infinite jumps? Really like this entry. Congrats!

Pixelulsar says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:59pm

Great Idea! It was fun and something I've never really seen before.

Alucard J says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:17pm

Nice game, took me a while to learn how to use the red blocks, spent quite a while trying to beat my best score. Well Done =]

ceMelusine says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:59am

Tough as nails but super fun to play for sure!

May 3, 2013 @ 5:35pm

Cool load screen! Gameplay was super fun, good use of theme and physics. Really awesome that you have a global high score screen! Control of jump height height would be a welcome addition.

PapyGaragos says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:21am

crashed my flash player twice (when i got to submit my score)

Jubjub. says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 3:08pm

PapyGaragos, can I ask what version of flash you were using, and also what browser/operating system?

May 6, 2013 @ 10:20am

o_O Holy. That's a nice game, hah.

AlexFili says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 5:41pm

Good game but really hard. Takes some practice but overall is a very fun game.

Beerman says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 6:38am

That's pretty great :)

davidpeter says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 8:25pm

Man, I can't get past 22m. I really suck at this game, but this is a beautifully executed game.

mildmojo says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 6:09am

It took me a few tries before I figured out I could walljump. I never quite mastered the exploding blocks. Looks like a solid climber. I only got to about 28m. =)

ilo says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 6:11pm

Best so far is 42m. Very simple design but variety of blocks and wall jumping add a pleasing layer of depth. The visuals and sound fit together nicely, and the high score takes it to another level. Good job!

paulmcgg says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 11:02am

This is really great. Love the visuals and sound, strong style. A pet hate of mine is 'space' as a jump but other than that, being a bit and a tiny bit of unreliable collision on diagonal surfaces, this is excellent. Good stuff. :D

alts says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 6:32am

Very fun. It's nice to see the chaotic nature of physics systems highlighted as a game feature. I'm pretty terrible at the game, but it plays great.

TurboDindon says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 12:51pm

Very fun.
I losed more than 10 times before discovering the wall-jump feature. Then it was really fun. The music is great too.

- SEPHY (@sephyka)

Puzzlem00n says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 7:48pm

I dig it. It looks and sounds great, and I love the floaty feel of the blocks. Great character sprites.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]