April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Frame Aim

by Symmeteer - Jam Entry

Made in < 2 hours.

Inspired by that painting by Piet Mondrian.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#141Theme(Jam)3.65
#246Innovation(Jam)3.06
#495Graphics(Jam)2.31
#499Mood(Jam)2.00
#517Overall(Jam)2.38
#528Fun(Jam)2.00

Comments

basspenguin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:22am

I like the concept. I just couldn't get anything to happen once the blue box got in the yellow square. Unique controls though.

Tyro says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:56am

Are there any levels after the first one? Once I got the blue square in the yellow nothing seemed to happen. Cool concept this be, I'd love to see where you take it if you expand on it.

Symmeteer says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:57am

Thanks for checking it out!

Nope, that's the only level, and I ran out of time to add bells and whistles for when you win. I did make it stop the gameplay, though. (I see in the footnotes that we're allowed to fix 'win condition' bugs...)

I also liked the concept, so I'm working on an updated version - see the new link!

FREEZX says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:03am

Needs a bit more work, but unique in its own way.

Benn says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:06am

I really like this idea, it's a shame there's only one level!

lotusgame says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:10pm

Great idea, need more challenge and level to be fun

May 3, 2013 @ 6:46pm

Cool for such a small time frame. I can see how this could become a more full game if you had multiple stages and made it so you lost if the blue cube hit the red lines while you were moving them.
-Strega

(this is a team account)

kurrik says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 5:38am

Wanted to see more depth, but totally understandable given the short amount of time you had. The updated version is cool, I would like to see more ways to develop strategies for getting a better score.

May 4, 2013 @ 8:54pm

Very nice experiment :)

May 7, 2013 @ 5:57am

unclear what the tension is... is there a lose condition?

LionelJitro says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 6:32am

Neat concept.

Welldone for a 2 hour effort.

ananasblau says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 6:08am

For two hours a great success. But how do you want to go about limiting the player's movement? By limiting the total movement possible so we can't just move the ball where it needs to be?

Cake&Code says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 6:13am

I wish there were more levels! Oh, what's this... made in 2 hours?? Nicely done :)

Thank you for making a post-compo version! It is fun to try and nail the target in the fewest bounces. Add a few more mechanics (like a laser that splits the ball + 2 exits, or a magnet that attracts the ball, or a dead zone where the ball will get stuck, or... LOTS OF STUFF) and you'd have yourself a fully fledged game!!

nimblegorilla says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 6:16am

Neat idea. Pretty good for two hours. To make it more challenging you might make it so that parallel lines always move away from each other. Otherwise it is pretty easy to just make a tiny box around the yellow one.

kyru says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 6:47pm

Neat idea, playing controlling the walls instead of anything else. Could be fun expanded into more.

Qaterknan says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 7:20pm

Quite interesting concpet, but definitely not grown to its potential. There could have been more levels and more logical concepts, which would have made the game much better.

ncgames says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 8:53pm

cool concept. really like the visual motif and the way you worked backwards from that

gerritg says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 9:05pm

7 bounces - great idea, especially for 2h!

domrein says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 3:40am

This has already been said, but I like the concept, just wish there was a little more content there.

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 6:57am

Well, it's minimalistic xD

Floko says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 5:38am

Very interesting. Simple yet challenging. Quite into the theme =]

Super Hamster says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 9:15pm

Interesting game idea, I wish it was more challenging and would automatically continue though.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]