April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Messimalism

by NeverAutomatic - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The goal in Messimalism is to keep bouncing glowy balls off platforms as high as you can. Use the arrow keys or mouse (hold left click) to influence the direction of the balls.

**Works best in Chrome**

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#381Graphics3.29
#603Humor2.17
#653Audio2.53
#759Fun2.76
#773Innovation2.85
#838Mood2.60
#929Overall2.82
#1123Theme2.85
#1284Coolness48%

Comments

amijlee says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:52am

I didn't really understand what was happening, it didn't seem like I could control the balls. It was pretty, though!

NAMKCOR says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:52am

I was so incredibly confused at first, because I didn't seem to be doing anything. That's my fault though. After I re-read the instructions I understood. Not bad, but the graphical style doesn't really lend itself to clarity.

lpcustom says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:53am

Potato mode FTW! I actually got an extremely high score before I read the instructions. Then after reading them my score started hurting. It's funny. Not doing anything, I got a high score somewhere around 7,000,000. When I realized I was supposed to click, I started getting game overs at 700,000 haha.

VDOgamez says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:58am

It took me a while to even figure out how it was interactive because there were so many balls on the screen that seemed to be content going up themselves. The green platforms turn out to be the worst ones to hit, because you lose the big group of balls you've collected.

nseward says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:19am

Amazing graphics. I lost control after a little bit. Balls going crazy. Ahhh! (I fixed the link to my game if you want to check it out again.)

Cosine says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:21pm

LOVE that you did it in HTML5. Great game. Like the chaos.

manabreak says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:17am

Messy, but pretty!

GamingYourWay says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:45pm

I do love a bit of particle porn, and that had plenty of it.
Really nice concept, a little tricky to get your head around at first, but worth the effort.
Impressed by it being in html5, also works nicely on Safari / OSX too.

vladimirdlc says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:51am

This is hectic!, vibrant colors and really cool music.
Extra humor points for potato mode xD.

moomoo112 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:30am

felt much more of a 'watch this pretty thing' than a game

_Rilem says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:02pm

Wow, that was very simple but also very fun! :D

ataxkt says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:56pm

Novel, but the amount of balls meant I didn't feel I had much control.

May 4, 2013 @ 11:39pm

I like the style of game, seems for me a little Surrealist, haha. Great Job.

tzamora says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 1:42am

too simple but nice effects very cool in graphics

Taro Omiya says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 5:56am

Very mesmerizing, but the lack of influence with the controls makes it hard to enjoy.

Brassawiking says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 8:50pm

This one played by itself =) Really nice visuals, even though I had no idea what was going on.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]