April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

qob

by alts - 48 Hour Compo Entry

qob
===


About
-----
qob is a 2 player competitive turn based game
inspired by Go, Hokra, Piet Mondrian, and Chinese Checkers.
made in Love2d

Rules
-----

qob is a competitive 2 player game
the goal of the game is to collect the most stones in your colored zone
players take turns rotating groups of stones


Controls
--------
Click to select stones
LEFT / A to rotate counter-clockwise
RIGHT / D to rotate clockwise

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#98Innovation3.83
#416Theme3.67
#618Fun2.92
#619Overall3.11
#872Graphics2.63
#991Humor1.62
#1019Mood2.38
#1027Audio1.58

Comments

Ragzouken says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:21pm

A really interesting idea! If it doesn't remove too much of the fun of playing I'd suggest highlighting the stones that would be moved using the current pivot; but maybe I'm just too bad at this :p

alts says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:04pm

Thanks Ragzouken. I had though about highlight the stones that would potentially be moved. I worried that that would encourage players to just click around. I think it's ultimately the right idea, but I need to think of a way to incorporate it without changing the flow of play.

leafo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:12pm

This game is cool. I was able to play it with someone else and we had a lot of fun. There seems to be a lot of potential for strategy. 100 turns seems like too much so we tweaked it to 20. Figuring out how the stones move took a bit but once we understood the rules everything was good.

dark_hunter says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:06am

Very unique idea. Maybe it should not allow me to make move when it is invalid.

Joror says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:08am

Very interesting mechanic, like it! If only I had someone to play against now... A totally random opponent would still have been fun. :)

JokerDen says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:16am

Really innovative gameplay (never seen like this before). I think we need more games for 2 players like this.

Sylvain.p says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:04pm

Innovative and really minimalist

KunoNoOni says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:54am

that was a really interesting mechanic. great use of theme. a job well done!

robc says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:13am

Interesting little puzzle game. Would have loved a solo mode, but besides that, it's certainly an interesting concept.

tankete says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:52am

Interesting game. It took me a while to really understand, but once I did, I enjoyed it. Of course, now I need to find someone to actually play against :)

May 1, 2013 @ 8:09am

This has potential.

GetFun says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:27am

I like puzzle games. I think it should be very difficult to make one =)
gratz

The Consul says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:49am

Great idea that was well executed! I actually don't think you should highlight what stones will be moved...figuring that out is part of the game.

Gutsy to do a 2-player game.

Good work.

imagnity says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:47pm

New concepts are always nice. It's interesting. Also the sound was catchy for the game play.

Husky says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:01pm

It's cool to make it a competitive game .
But maybe 100 turns is a little too much lol.
Anyway, good job!:p

TenTonToon says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:41am

Very interesting puzzle idea, although somewhat limited on its appeal if you do not happen to have someone to play against.
It certainly is minimalistic in its presentation and mechanics, yet takes some practice getting the gist of it. Luckily, the manual/tutorial you included was really helpful on that front.

Finally, I really dig the way you managed to "squeeze" the Mondrian-esque background in your overall design, and not just as an easy backdrop for the action. Kudos for that.

Congratulations! :)

stevejohnson says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:56am

Extremely interesting! I'd be interesting in hearing about any follow-up you do to this.

juaxix says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:00am

Wow, this videogame is really fun for two people, it reminds me of the traditional japanese games like Go ( http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Go_(board_game) ) , Renju ( http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Renju ) or Pente (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ninuki-renju ) but with rotations which can change an entire game :D

I would add more rules like rotate an extra circle in certain occasions like having an enemy in your colored side and two of your colour adjacents for example...

Have to test this with girl-friend :)

May 3, 2013 @ 12:30pm

Great idea.

Benjamin says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 5:59am

The game rules are understandable, but when playing it's very dificult to foresee which stone will move.
Also I think it would have been possible to add an AI for cheap development cost : There's not so much differents moves possible each turn, so compute all of them and choose which one provide the best result ( a score based on the situation after the move ) should be enough to make, a not-so-dumb AI.
Anyway, the game seems fun, I wish I had someone to play with. Nice work and very innovative idea.

May 8, 2013 @ 6:03am

Sometime the rotations were counter-intuitive; maybe some pop-up arrows before the rotation to give you a sense of the result?

Make A Game says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 12:07pm

While it is strange to play against myself, I liked it =).
In my oppinion, as it has rotations of stones it's the perfect abstract game that would be easier to play digitaly instead of having phisical pieces dancing everywhere.
The best part of making an abstract game is the fact that it ends up being minimalist anyway =P.
Also (I'm starting to be picky), one thing that can make or break this type of game is having a dominant strategy. As this game is purely deterministic it almost certainly will have a dominant strategy, you need to make sure that this strategy is not easily picked up.
I want to leave you with the challenge to build an AI player =), if you invest in having a good AI you'll be able to spot structural problems that would hardly come by in playtesting.

paulmcgg says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 12:43am

Nice! Love the idea. Think it's a bit punishing to take a turn even for invalid moves, especially when you're just finding your feet or some sign-posting to help point out what you're action may do, but otherwise clever concept executed well.

dick_claus says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 6:07am

Nice idea. Amazing board game.

Mach60KAS says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 11:42pm

Well, certainly one of the most entertaining 2-player games. We had no idea what we were doing, but that seemed to make it better. Well done! :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]