About | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post
Construction1990’s Internet Montage? No!
Please excuse the site weirdness. Mike is fixing and making things.
Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014!

  • ??? Begins: in 7 days, 23 hours, 19 minutes, 52 seconds
  • October Ends: in 8 days, 23 hours, 31 minutes, 52 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 44 days, 0 hours, 19 minutes, 52 seconds
  • (FYI: Clock might be off) | Ludum Dare 31: Real World Gatherings (Now Open!)

    [ October Challenge 2014 | Resources | Submit/Edit | View All ]


    Ludum Dare 26

    April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

    Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
    [ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
    [ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

    [ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    Back to Browse Entries

    Life! - cwilloughby - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    Life!
    A LD26 and April #1GAM minimalist rhythm life simulator.

    Back of the box:
    Take on the role of John Albertson.
    Guide him through life's ebb and flow.
    Will he end up happy?
    Overweight?
    Divorced?
    You and your keyboard decide.

    Theme:
    Minimalism
    Minimalist art
    Minimalist audio
    Minimalist elements
    Minimalist controls
    Minimalist life

    Backstory:
    You are John Albertson
    Age 23
    You just started a new job.
    You have a girlfriend.
    You are in reasonable shape.
    You have a little money.
    But you aren't really happy.
    Yet.

    Tutorial:
    In life, you must choose to be happy...
    Opportunities trickle to the left...
    Press a key to act at the decision point.
    In life, you are faced with many decisions...
    Needs and value dictate the answer...
    Simply ignore those which are unnecessary.
    In life, you must make decisions quickly...
    Act efficiently to maximize happiness.

    Controls:
    A/S/D/F - Perform action
    Space - Start/continue

    Libraries used:
    Unity 3.5
    SmoothMoves - 2d within Unity
    Photoshop - arts
    iNudge - music
    Drumcircle - music
    Bfxr - sounds

    Content used:
    Free 8bit font

    Links:
    LD26 In - http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2013/04/21/im-all-in-my-ld48-entry-will-be-my-april-1gam/
    LD26 Announce - http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2013/04/26/ld26-life-min-max-your-way-to-happiness/
    LD26 Status - http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2013/04/28/life-my-rhythm-based-life-simulator-nearly-finished/

    View cwilloughby's journal. | View all entries by cwilloughby

    Ratings

    Coolness92%
    #148Innovation3.70
    #160Humor3.06
    #251Overall3.49
    #274Mood3.23
    #340Audio3.06
    #371Theme3.73
    #395Fun3.16
    #758Graphics2.76

    Comments

    Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:05am

    Cool idea, about as minimal as a life sim can get, good work!

    vegard1992 says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:02am

    nice game. very polished imo

    Test User says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:07am

    I like how it went with the theme for the idea. And I like the bio's at the end of each level. Do the note things on there go with the music as a rule?

    voxel says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:09am

    Combine life sim and rhythm game? The critics said it couldn't be done, but then cwilloughby got a perfect rhythm combo and blew all of their minds

    gabehollombe says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:13am

    Woo! This was really fun. I like the performance-meets-narrative aspect, and the ability to 'bank up' points in one column to let me ignore it as things get hectic. Nice gameplay, simple, and fun. Great job.

    thristhart says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:16am

    I really wanted to love this, but a rhythm game lives and dies by the music and unfortunately the music here was only okay. On the plus side, if you take this after LD and give it some really good music, it'd be awesome!

    Only other complaint I have is that it took me a while to realize that it wasn't possible to hit two at the same time. Somehow I didn't understand that as a "decision point". No idea how to go about improving that, but there ya go.

    Otherwise, a really innovative concept that I'd love to see you expand upon!

    Kortuga98 says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:21am

    Nice work! Cool concept and good implementation of the theme.

    Parabol says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:29am

    Love it, very interesting concept. First time I've ever seen a rythm game mixed with a life sim. Nice simple tunes too :)

    cwilloughby says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:30am

    Thanks for the awesome comments everyone!

    @thristhart - yeah. The music is definitely a sore spot for me. I used iNudge and did my best to pull it together, I would have loved to integrate it better with the mechanic and have better tunes, but I'm happy with where I landed given my skill and the time.

    zatyka says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:48am

    Nice blend of 2 very different genres. The movement wasn't smooth (possibly because I'm playing on a macbook air), so it was difficult to time everything. I'm going to have that little song stuck in my head for the next hour.

    deathray says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:00am

    I enjoyed the concept and the narrative was good.

    Ludipe says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:35pm

    Nice work, the concept is very original.

    cadin says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:38pm

    Neat idea, I like it. I liked the audio and the little bios at the end of each level. I found it really difficult to read any of the event text since I was focusing on the thing falling on the left. The tutorial texts also went by a little fast. It took me a couple of plays through to understand what they were trying to tell me.

    Nice work on this!

    gilmore606 says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:11am

    Nice! This is the only rhythm game I've seen. Really curious how you were syncing game stuff to the audio track, did you just use a song of known BPM and timers?

    cwilloughby says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:04am

    @gilmore606 - you nailed it. I made the audio, so I knew the timing. Just played with timing until it 'lined' up.

    ThreeUp says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:40am

    struggled with hitting two keys at the same time, but otherwise it was pretty well done and a clever theme

    Masadow says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:52pm

    Great great great ! I didn't even think about such a mix ! Absolutely fantastic !

    Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:25pm

    Love the concept and a fun gameplay!

    rodrigomotta says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 2:36am

    Oh man, o love the audio and the text. Amazing. Thank you to play and rate my game. o/

    LizEngland says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 3:32am

    Hey, you did a really nice job with this. Still minimalist, but also pretty fully featured. And nice use of the gameplay as a metaphor for life.

    Leginar says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 7:16am

    I loved how you lost the ability to keep your health up over time. A very original little game. :)

    Rialgar says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 9:27pm

    I like it very much, it fits the theme perfectly. Only two little things could be improved I think:

    I had no time to read the events on the right, maybe display them after each level, so the player has time to read them

    I am not quite sure if the music and the opportunities were in sync, sometimes they seemed a little off, but as I said, I am not sure about that

    May 2, 2013 @ 7:44am

    Great mashup here, excellent work for 48 hours.

    dremelofdeath says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 6:35am

    interesting take on a rhythm game; I really like the status messages after each level

    ceMelusine says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 6:53am

    I really like the graphics and mechanics. Love the whole "banality" as gameplay thing.

    KEFIR says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 9:53am

    Nice work. I like this concept and realisation!

    r3d5 says ...
    May 4, 2013 @ 4:48am

    Ah, took me a while to figure out the keys have to be pressed as the dot hits the line.

    Maybe having the line pulsate to the beat would grab the attention more?

    cwilloughby says ...
    May 4, 2013 @ 7:37am

    Thanks for the feedback guys!

    @r3d5 - totally agree, that just fell off the list :(

    tankete says ...
    May 4, 2013 @ 8:20am

    I enjoyed it. Unique. It was a nice break from all the platformers :)

    I did have problems anytime there were two items occurring simultaneously. Maybe it was my fat fingers, but I swear I hit them both at the same time yet it never registered.

    I died at 53 :(

    cwilloughby says ...
    May 4, 2013 @ 8:52am

    Hey tankete - that's intended but not messaged well. When there are two options, you have to choose one. I need to work on my message delivery. :)

    EggDestroyer says ...
    May 4, 2013 @ 10:08am

    Can you hit two keys at the same time ? It seems I can't. Some problems about feedbacks (brightness, when to hit the keys), but the idea is great and the experience is overall enjoyable. :)

    Orni says ...
    May 4, 2013 @ 10:25am

    brilliant concept - reminded me of 'alter ego'

    I loved your game, made me think about my life decisions in a different kind of way

    well done

    Madball says ...
    May 4, 2013 @ 1:12pm

    I liked the narration. The idea seems like a good add-on to rhythm games. However you should tell what does color of notes mean. Also, the timing wasn't perfect.

    madlee says ...
    May 4, 2013 @ 6:28pm

    Very cool, although I found it difficult to read the text on the right while dealing with the falling objects on the left. I didn't really get when I was supposed to hit them and when I was supposed to skip them. It was fun though, great job!

    LPGhatguy says ...
    May 5, 2013 @ 12:16am

    I like this. A lot.

    loxo says ...
    May 5, 2013 @ 6:47pm

    Interesting simulation. Simple graphics and game mechanics. But I can only concentrate on the buttons or on the text.

    terrivellmann says ...
    May 6, 2013 @ 1:46pm

    Nice, interesting concept.

    Spiridios says ...
    May 7, 2013 @ 4:47am

    Wow, neat idea for a rhythm game. Had fun playing it.

    DkCub23 says ...
    May 7, 2013 @ 9:48pm

    Super simple. Quite addicting, too. I played four or five games. Good game

    AlexFili says ...
    May 8, 2013 @ 5:28pm

    This is great. It's like a mix between Guitar Hero and Alter Ego. It's a bit unclear what you're meant to do at first but I like the idea of choice and juggling life's problems.

    avidgamerNino says ...
    May 10, 2013 @ 10:33pm

    This game is awesome, I just love that "asdf"/gutiar hero mechanic. I wanted to his the two whites when they crossed at the same time. Am i only allowed to hit one at a time when it crosses the line. Great Job!

    GaTechGrad says ...
    May 11, 2013 @ 8:13pm

    Neat life simulator. Now if real life was as simple as pressing the correct home row key. I really liked the music as well.

    Sylvain.p says ...
    May 15, 2013 @ 6:03pm

    Strange concept, cans you make an easytype version? :-)

    Xanjos says ...
    May 15, 2013 @ 10:33pm

    Really interesting cross between a rhythm game and a life sim. Took a while to realise that I couldn't hit more than 1 note at the same time and the narrative on the right was excellent.

    Zccc says ...
    May 16, 2013 @ 4:23pm

    I loved it, very artistic :)

    paulmcgg says ...
    May 18, 2013 @ 12:33pm

    Nice concept, I liked being forced to sacrifice one over an another. I seemed to keep getting similar choices though (ie: mostly hearts). Some two frame animations illustrating actions while you play might be really nice. Little bios were neat.

    Misael.K says ...
    May 19, 2013 @ 8:50pm

    A good balanced game with a nice take on the theme. Simple and fun!

    WiseGAMER says ...
    May 20, 2013 @ 10:11pm

    Nice game, loved it :)

    You must sign in to comment.


    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]