April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Space, Space, Space!

by shinestrength - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Space to Play, Space to Argue, Space to Worry, and Space to Chill out afterwards.

If you're not getting to the next Space, just keep pressing Space.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#146Humor3.11
#167Mood3.45
#374Graphics3.30
#407Audio2.96
#533Theme3.56
#851Innovation2.74
#1104Overall2.61
#1222Fun2.09
#1564Coolness39%

Comments

Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:23am

what is going...

Lovely gag! I thought it would be kept to the "title-screen", but then it wouldn't stop and it got a bit unsettling. So bonus-points for mood I guess :P

Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:09pm

I probably didn't press space enough.

Cheshyr says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:14pm

blink. blink. nice.

alwaysinbeta says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:19pm

Great graphics and audio. Quite enjoyed it. Not sure my spacebar did...

Markavian says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:48pm

"It goes on and on.."

cableplays says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:13am

kind of confusing kind of cool!

Brian Corr says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:36am

neat xo

Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:38am

I think I killed my space bar. But it was worth it.

Lamprabbit says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:14am

Hahaha that was awesome.

SaintHeiser says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:42am

What the Hell going on?
Stupid but fun game!
Really, dude =)

Sayaer says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:52am

Haha interesting, good game.

Tanius says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:45am

lol

qdowngames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:49am

Woah. Alright - kudos for the best named game!

Cybearg says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:25am

Neat graphics. This isn't a game, though.

Daniel H says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:33am

the noises were annoying but overall it was pretty funny.

pvwradtke says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:13am

I'm still trying to run the game, it keeps asking me to press space :D.

Andrewves says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:50am

Great game, took me awhile to memorize the controls tho ;)

niun says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:27am

Heh.. That was awesome!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:28am

Um, I saw doggy style, right? Just me? Anyway....interesting? :)

shiprib says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:45am

Spacey.

LemonTree says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:51am

don't understand. :-|

Dohan says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:58pm

Minimal concept indeed.

muton says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:34pm

Dude.. What... were you taking?! My LD was powered by caffeine, this must have been some less conventional substance.

Super atmospheric though, I do like it.

Galvesmash says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:19pm

wtf man?
I laugh in the first part but then I was like "WTF man?", beautiful songs and a strange pendulum?
Great idea btw XD

Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:22pm

Was a bit weird, a bit interesting, though I wish there was more to do in the pendulum part than just watch or go back down by pressing space.

LeafThief says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:37pm

I stayed with it all the way to the end. I enjoyed both parts.
The pendulum was somehow off and I have the feeling that had you adapted the background colors, that part would have greater effect.
Now that I sat it through to the end (I didn't interact in the second part) I really liked it. Especially the stark contrast.
Good experience.

GamingYourWay says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:11pm

Loved the concept, made me feel all Amiga demo scene.

belickim says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:24pm

I loved the first part, I think it was truly impressive.

psychomonster says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:26pm

Work of Art.

runonthespot says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:52pm

Top marks for Mood. My space bar has suffered though.

Mase says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:55pm

Beautifully drawn. I was reminded of the opening credits from "Enter the Void."

Husky says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 3:17am

I do love this game!
Great mood!
Good job! :p

JokerDen says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:13am

Hmm. That's was weird. And I don't get second part.

MinionStudios says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:40pm

Installation piece. Totally. Love it.

worff says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:04pm

Man, the game is great but the learning curve... how can you got it more complex than Dwarf Fortress man??

May 6, 2013 @ 6:20pm

Moody and evocative

mildmojo says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 11:29pm

Unity? Could you put up a Linux build for those of us who can't run the webplayer?

shinestrength says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 11:42am

@mildmojo - There ya go. Apologies that wasn't up sooner.

TurboDindon says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 11:38am

Great graphics and mood.

- SEPHY (@sephyka)

bvanschooten says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 9:41pm

Interesting piece of interactive art. Interesting enough for me to wait and see what happens when the pendulum gets to the top, but I think that part should have been a little more interactive. The audio is really unusual and atmospheric.

dremelofdeath says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 7:59am

I don't know what this is, but it sure is pretty

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]