April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Galaxaloid

by lando walters - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Play as the ship! Save the world from aliens! Don't fail!

I made this is 48 hours for ludum dare #26, the theme was minimalism, so I decided to make a game with a screen resolution of just 136*160 pixels.
Enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1864Coolness20%

Comments

deige101 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:35pm

Good work!

May 1, 2013 @ 10:03am

Solid little game. Get it? The joke is that it's small.

imagnity says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:18pm

How do I shoot?

lando walters says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:46pm

Deige101: Thanks!
Dark Acre Jack: haha, that was the plan. Glad you enjoyed it.
Imagnity: Uhhhhhhh...... did you try anything other than the space bar? z to shoot is pretty standard.

TenTonToon says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:41am

Nice, old-school fun, and quite some content crammed in for a LD game :)

As I've seen in other games, this is a simple game, not a minimalistic one. To me, there's too much content and gameplay mechanics in there to be considered minimalistic.

The game is unbalanced, probably due to the random nature of the enemies' creation. At times it seemed almost a danmaku, with huge amounts of bullets flying around (without the benefit of the carefully designed patterns). Then I got the laser, upgraded it to level 2, and I was sweeping the screen like a Boss, clearing it like nobodies business, in a particle shower extravaganza, until I was left alone. And alone I was for the next 10 or so seconds, until a single missile entered the screen. The game kept throwing me single missiles like that for a while.

Best score: 4570

Keep it up! :)

lando walters says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 2:39am

TedTonToon: Yeah, I had very little time to balance it unfortunately. I had other plans for the weekend, so I basically only had time to shove whatever content I could, and get it working. Its really more of a prototype, as I wanted to try to make a shmup that was powerup driven (unlike the last one I made). I'm not sure why the game kept throwing the side missiles at you, it really shouldn't do that. I had some problems like that though, in testing. Not really sure whats causing it, as the enemies code is purely random.
I had originally planned to make a procedural system for enemy spawning, but sadly didn't have time :(. Thanks for the feedback!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 3:48am

nice effort for such little time -- good job!

Cake&Code says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 5:33am

Didn't manage to last very long but it certainly was fun while it lasted! I tried to restart the game once I lost but there doesn't seem to be a key for that xD

Very nice little game! :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]