April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Gotta Light 'em All!

by SkyWolf - 48 Hour Compo Entry

UPDATES:
29/04: Updated notes. I was tired when first wrote them.
---------------

THE IDEA:
To me a minimalistic world means something with no color, desaturated. Hence my game world was filled in greyscale.

The poor old bot, which was in itself old and as minimal as it gets (have you noticed that he has a little muffler on his back, oww..), has the power to bring some color in that world, planting some "seeds" (mechanical seeds? what am i talking about?) that bring into the world some mystical powers, that maybe come inherently with the color (color is power?).
---------------

CONTROLS (KEYBOARD):
Left/Right: "A" and "D" or the arrows
Jump: "Space"
Cycle Seeds: "Q" and "E"
Plant Seed: "CTRL"
Restart: "R"
Main Menu: "Escape"

CONTROLS (360 JOYPAD, maybe only on Windows):
Left/Right: Primary analog stick
Jump: "A"
Cycle Seeds: Bumbers
Plant Seed: "B"
Restart: "Start"
Main Menu: "Back"
---------------

TOOLS:
Unity 3D,
3DS Max,
Photoshop,
Cubase.
---------------

FINAL COMMENTS:
I greatly appreciate feedback, so comments are very very welcomed. If you made it reading down here: i love you.

PS: Sorry for any poor english.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness68%
#346Audio3.05
#381Innovation3.35
#381Humor2.52
#433Graphics3.21
#470Fun3.08
#479Overall3.24
#684Mood2.75
#1152Theme2.79

Comments

raincole says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:41am

This gameplay has appeared times in LD. But it's still a good implementation.

shaircast says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:42am

I love the idea, and enjoyed, but when playing with keyboard, key setting is somewhat complex.

TheFudster says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:45am

Good work.

chobrah says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:49am

Very fun, good job :)

Uhfgood says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:00am

The music was a bit annoying, but other than that not bad.

CagedRat says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:07am

Well executed on the core mechanic!

rujo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:51am

nice idea!

ArkadyDracul says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:57pm

Good work!

atraxgames says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:44pm

Great concept!

dsoft20 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:35pm

Very nice gameplay

tonic says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:55pm

Played quite a few levels, despite I was a bit frustrated. But there is some nice ideas going on there.
(PS. Crashed Unity web player when I closed the page.)

Cosine says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:55pm

I like the game, but I can't seem to get a seed.

qdowngames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:29am

Difficult to play with a single hand. But I actually quite enjoyed and it seemed very smooth.

MetroidMan347 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:39am

Very nice idea! The controls were sometimes a bit iffy. I dig the music. Nice game!

xgeovanni says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:41am

Very nice game, Akasky.

SkyWolf says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:49am

xgeovanni: i hate you :P

Catman says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:25pm

Cool game, reminds me of CarVup for Amiga!

Lidfrid says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:42am

Cool concept man!! Good job on this :)

DarioOliGPI says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:19pm

good;)

naufr4g0 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:37pm

A really well made game. :)

saggiosoft says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:51pm

Well done!

ming_tea says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:44am

Pretty solid.

KunoNoOni says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:58pm

Nice use of theme. Liked the idea a lot. reminds me of some of the games I used to play in the 80's. Very fun.

infernet89 says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 6:27pm

Very complex idea for a LD game, nice work!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]