April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Golden Age

by LandoSystems - Jam Entry

Why make one game for ludum dare when you can make four?

Relive the classic era of arcade games!

Pong? check...
Breakout? check...
Space Invaders? check...
1942-style Bullet Hell? check...

Potato? ....maybe


Controls: minimal...
Can you move your mouse?
Can you click the left mouse button?
Great! You've got what it takes!


Team:
-----
Brian Rossman
Doug Graham
Brian Ploeckelman

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness84%
#49Humor(Jam)3.41
#79Fun(Jam)3.52
#124Mood(Jam)3.44
#129Audio(Jam)3.41
#156Overall(Jam)3.44
#282Graphics(Jam)3.15
#283Theme(Jam)3.22
#428Innovation(Jam)2.43

Comments

Entity2D says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:56am

Very fun and hilarious! I loved the way the games transitioned!

VictorGrunn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:57am

A straight up mix of 4s and 5s for you. This was an excellent game. Graphically smooth, conceptually neat, and actual solid gameplay. Well done on all counts!

Dew says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:59am

Hahaha hilarious!

You made me feel like a child, the only thing you could change is the order of the games breakout took too long...

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:59am

love the mothership at the end of the game -- very cool -- loved the retro look and music -- great job!

FaBrito says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:01am

Okay, you might have gained a few stars on the theme, but I don't get the point on making revivals... specially when there's nothing new on them.
To me, even though Innovation is just one category, I always expect something new on this competition.
I didn't have the patience to go through 2nd level, but judging by the screenshots, it was a good work on every level. IA is ok as well.

Otoris says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:42am

Really random. Really polished. Really Potato.

ChuiGum says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:46am

Awesome, very fun!

dick_claus says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:53am

Nice!

Ryusui says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:59am

Love the final boss. XD

Gremlin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:15am

Potato.

I like the progression between the games. The Breakout part was a little twitchy for my slow reflexes, so it got a little frustratingly long. The others were good (though maybe not perfect) feel.

Gremlin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:15am

Oh, and I like the sound.

Gungnir says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:38am

Well executed homage mash-up. Great work on the transitions between games, seamless. Smart use of lives lost, anything else would have been frustrating.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:26am

The humor was great, especially the high scores screen where you finish just off of making the leaderboards. Very funny. Having the lives and score counter consistent through each game was nice to keep them linked. I think that this would have worked a lot better with the theme if, instead of adding features to each new stage, you worked your way backward to the most basic visuals. Fun play, good work.

jacklehamster says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:49am

I have to say, despite all the other original games in this competition, I'm still getting the most fun out of good old classics!
good rendition, smooth controls and great music. That's all we need!

savethejets1 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:48am

Cool stuff!

Switchbreak says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:56am

Hah, really fun! Doesn't fit the theme super well, and it could stand to add some new twists to the old arcade games, but overall fun to play.

zatyka says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:20pm

Very nice game. I enjoyed the progression. I especially loved when you would rip through the blocks in breakout. Very nice job!

MRvanderPants says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:26pm

Very funny game. I really like the music as well. Well done

psychomonster says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:43pm

yeah retro evolved :D

ddionisio says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:33am

Beautiful take on the classic arcade games! Good transition and great presentation! The potato felt out of place though. :P

LizEngland says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:53am

Show off! One game in 48 hrs, people. One. Not four!

No really, excellent all the way through.

captainkraft says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:02am

This game rocks. There isn't much I can say except well done. I had lots of fun

SuperDisk says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:03am

Cool game! Sad that there's only 4 games.

Actually, I had this EXACT same idea, it's scribbled on some graph paper. It involved going from PONG up to modern day games, but we decided on an ASCII thing instead.

fermcg says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 1:35am

Great!

belickim says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 10:46am

It's a nice compilation of some classic game mechanics, transitions between stages are really cool. I found two things to be quite annoying: the first one is the dying sound, the second is performance, which was quite poor despite the minimalistic graphics, the game was especially laggy in breakout/arkanoid mode (I was playing in Firefox 21 stable).

May 19, 2013 @ 10:54am

This was a lot of fun, had a smile on my face through most of it. Very polished, very funny, very NAMCO Museum-y. I'll echo some earlier comments in that a twist or two to the familiar formulas would have been nice, but for what you set out to create this was very strong.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]