April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Cubecatcher

by zerebruin - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Built with Unity3D in C#, Ilustrator (potato), NanoStudio (sound)

Time: approx. 8 hours.

Sadly, I only had time from Sunday afternoon but the theme allowed me to finish something.

Enjoy :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#549Humor2.23
#688Fun2.83
#759Theme3.33
#836Innovation2.76
#882Overall2.87
#931Audio2.00
#1152Mood2.16
#1170Graphics2.18

Comments

Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:21am

having to guess when the colour will change and decide whether to risk approaching a box is interesting!
I'd say the potato is a little OP in early levels though, I was doing suck and picking up the potato just made for instant wins.

Vincenzo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:30am

That's a good job, for a 8-hour compo :D !
And that would be even better if there was a warning, at least a semi-second before the screen color changing. How many times I hit the wrong color because of that ...

Crefossus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:33am

It fits the theme fairly well. The yellow/orange bars and corresponding boxes seem to be different colors to me (at first I was like.. there is no orange there are only yellow boxes what am I supposed to do?). I wonder if some kind of warning when it's about to switch colors would help gameplay at all? As Sophie says that potato is OP!

euske says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:35am

Very simple game, but the control is spot-on. Enjoyed it.
The ending score was a bit off. (It shows a negative time.)
Potato is pretty much the key to win. :)

zerebruin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:55am

@Sophie: but potatoes *are* powerful, they're made of pure energy ;)
@Vincenzo: I considered it but I think it's more fun this way. And since the change intervals are regular it's possible to predict them (until they change in the higher levels). If the prevalent tester opinion says it needs a warning, I'll integrate a short colour flash or something in the likes.
@Crefossus: yup, GUI shader vs. diffuse shader means different colour appearance for Color.yellow...didn't have time to fix that but with only 3 colours it's fairly obvious.

JaJ says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:40pm

Interesting mechanics, but I often had to wait over 10 seconds before I could pick anything up.

Kiwiboi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:03pm

That was a pretty neat game, followed the theme really well. Simple yet fun!

LZAntal says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:23pm

Very fun game with solid controls.... AND POTATO!!!!:D Very clever way to tell the player what to go after with the bar color change. Nice :)

zerebruin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:08pm

@JaJ: Hmm...I guess I should make sure that at least one start cube colour matches the starting target colour. Thanks for the feedback!

Brassawiking says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:22pm

This is a solid entry. The interface looks really sleak and the game has a good fast pace to it.

McFunkypants says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:53pm

Potatolicious. Spudtastic. Fun!

BumpkinRich says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:44pm

Managed to win without the potato. Nice entry and enjoyed playing it. Only frustration was when a block of the wrong colour was hidden behind another.

theomnis says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:44pm

For some reason it took me a while to see a potato..I had to play on until I saw one just to make sure you weren't kidding. And as stated already, at least one start cube should match the starting color.

psychopsam says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:35am

Great graphics considering the theme - I think the potato was over dressed :D I only got the level 3. The confusion comes from the dot being red so you have to think about it when the colour changes wasting precious seconds. Well done!

sharbelfs says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:02am

Potatoes! Good game for 8 hours!

Beerman says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:42pm

Pretty fun. I definitely think there should be some sort of warning when the colour's about to change, possible a couple of beeps or something half a second before so that if you're close to a box you have to decide whether it's worth the risk.
Might also be good to make sure you only ever change the active colour to one that exists on the screen and always spawn at least a couple of boxes of the active colour when you collect one - it's pretty frustrating having to sit and wait for the colour to change before you can do anything.
My first game, I didn't read the instructions and thought you had to avoid the potatoes - makes things tricky!

mrexcessive says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 4:27pm

Nice idea. Big potato. Steering physics are good. Start level two seems broken (Pressing Enter does nothing - Compo version running on Chrome/W7)

GameNacho says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 7:43pm

Interesting mechanic, it actually works pretty well, good job!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]