April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Happy Face's Adventure

by Kotucz - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Well the game is finally published. It is simple platrofmer with great ambitions :-).
The player should have learn what and when the level does to finish successfully.

Only 10 basic levels. (there is nothing more when you se big E)
Thats all I got in only 18 hours 8-).
Created using PlayN framework (used for the first time).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#826Humor1.87
#922Fun2.59
#1053Theme2.96
#1065Mood2.32
#1157Innovation2.19
#1170Graphics2.18
#1185Overall2.48
#1236Coolness49%

Comments

ndssia says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:56am

Cute :)

karsyf says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:56am

The E level is the end? It was interesting, lots of hidden mechanics like rolling up the wall =D

ella guro says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:57am

happy face's happy adventure sure involves a lot of spiteful triangles and hostile environments. this seems like a WIP - several things seem kind of broken or out of sync and i'm not sure if that's because they're not fixed or i just don't understand the mechanics. some sound or other kind of player feedback would drastically help

Kotucz says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:19am

Thanks, thats right, I did not make it to finish the game in the deadline. Rolling up wall and jumping in midair are bugs :-) but maybe it will provide some inspiration.
Sounds are not working - I wonder why.
Maybe if I will have a time I will fix bug and create better levels that fully use the game mechanics.

multikorv says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:23pm

I could hold jump button and fly away. :)

Joror says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:16pm

I parked my smiley in the E. ;)

Norritt42 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:18pm

Nice! I'm happy! Nice work! Promising...

thatwhichis says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:32pm

I'm not going to lie, I kept going until level 40. Because... why not? :-)

stefenism says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:35pm

I can fly!

Jellycakes says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:53pm

It was pretty cool, I liked happy face. But it was a bit short. Would like to see more.

Ray_Mickelino says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 1:23am

Pretty good. I did find one or two glitches though.

Skulls says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 1:23am

Nice little platformer, well done for 18 hours.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]