April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Box Catcher

by voidstar69 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A simple quick-reaction game made in about 8 hours.

This is a world filled with moving, shrinking and expanding boxes.

Hover your mouse cursor over boxes to stop them from shrinking or expanding. You need to prevent the boxes from colliding or vanishing.

Contains 8 ordinary levels (1 to 8), and then these repeat as faster and faster meta-levels (A-1 to F-8).

You gain score for succeeding on a level, and lose score for failing a level. Your scoring multiplier increases with meta-level!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#321Theme3.78
#625Fun2.91
#824Innovation2.78
#914Overall2.83
#1131Mood2.19
#1297Graphics1.83
#1564Coolness39%

Comments

Spelchan says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:57pm

simple but interesting puzzle. A bit too fast as often a level would end before I could even finish reading what the goal for the level was.

hgouveia says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:57pm

catchy game, i spent some time playing D:

Rubi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:58pm

I miss music in the game. But it is simple and funny!

KunoNoOni says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:01pm

This game is rough with a trackball :) Good use of theme. Sound would have been nice though.

ming_tea says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:14am

Addictive and it fits the theme really well.

multikorv says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:32pm

Simple and cool puzzler. :)

Fritzendugan says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:36pm

Crashed on level C-3 right after I had beaten it. Very cool concept, you managed to cram in a lot of gameplay for only working for 8 hours. It's a shame that it lacks the polish you could've given it if you used more time: sounds, music, more play-testing, etc. because I think the game would've really benefitted.

The gameplay sort of reminds me of a twist on the "wario ware" titles and similar titles. Quick, rapid levels, where you have to read the description quickly and then react. The descriptions themselves had their own humor which added to the aesthetic. Well done, but maybe plan to use a little more time next round? haha

May 8, 2013 @ 4:45am

Surprisingly fun little puzzle game. I think it'd be interesting if you took out that level descriptions so that players would have to figure out how to solve the level on top of doing it correctly and on time.

My Milked Eek says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 10:40pm

Cool little puzzle game. Reminded me of Wario Ware. Which is never a bad thing :)

Make A Game says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 11:35pm

This a great sortie of small mechanics that are challenging and fun. Great minimalist approach. I would give some warm-up time before each level, so we could have some time to read the proposed objective.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]