April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Mini the Malism Potatoe Beetle

by Adam - Jam Entry

The goal is to collect all the potatoe points. Using the space bar to rotate the beetle platform when parallel to another rail. Only 1 level as time didn't allow for more.

*Note some issue still exist with rotating the platform and jumping to another rail. This is my first LD and with a family time was a pinch, but I got it done.*

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2059Coolness0%

Comments

ilovepixel says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:28am

I started playing the game and the beetle turn by it self, I didn't press any key.

Adam says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:09pm

Sorry forgot to mention it automatically moves forward. Your goal is to change rails to collect the potatoe points.

If i had had more time levels would have been more complex and included obstacles.

hardycore says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:53pm

Weird game. wasn't sure exactly what type of control i had over the character.

Tyro says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:28am

Interesting concept. Are you supposed to be able to move through the blue walls, or is that a glitch?

The world definitely needs more games with potato beetle protagonists. Props for that.

Adam says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:56pm

Yeah, there are still some glitches, such as the arrow keys shouldn't work still as that was for testing purposes.

I plan to make a minor change to disable them and add an info scree showing the controls/gameplay.

May 9, 2013 @ 4:02pm

Sadly I can't play it because it doesn't seem to be a Windows 32-bit version. :(

donan says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 12:56pm

Controls are weird, but the idea is original :)

goerp says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 8:03pm

AHa now I see. I should have read the comments first.
It is a good idea and the munch sound is good and the graphics are OK too, but I don't think it is very clear?
Just like the other people said: it isn't clear how you control it.
I think I have to be attached to a rail, but by pushing keys a lot I can get into areas without rails?

I think you can expand on this, but first make it a bit more clear?

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]