April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

The Forgetful Little Square

by Idovoodoo - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Well, here we go with my Ludum Dare entry. I hope you like it, it was great fun to make. I think I have stuck to the theme pretty well, and there is a potato reference in there as well to keep all the potato lovers happy.

I am really pleased with this final prototype and I've lots of ideas to develop it further, so big thanks Ludum Dare!

I ran out of steam after making six levels.

Written in the wonderful Haxe and HaxeFlixel.
Music generated using WolframTones.
Sound FX generated using SFXR.

Enjoy!
Idovoodoo

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness93%
#85Humor3.50
#95Overall3.79
#105Mood3.61
#115Theme4.07
#138Audio3.46
#168Fun3.49
#268Innovation3.49
#564Graphics3.02

Comments

Apr 28, 2013 @ 8:42pm

I like it! :)

Gustera says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:55am

Very fun :D

rockford says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:58am

Very good game. However, quite repetitive but a lot of potential to make it less.

Crefossus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:07am

I like the gameplay premise and music, but I get stuck seemingly early where I can't make a jump. Also the star and level completion particles seem to be the same but might be better if they were different.

mrspeaker says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:09am

Man - addictive! I used a similar concept in my entry (invisible levels) - but your approach was much more zen.

cmayhem says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:12am

The mood was very nice, very minimalist. It got a bit trickier at the end. A lot of potential.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:13am

Really very nice, I was worried it would involve a lot of guesswork but the narrator helps build up an idea of what sorts of things to try. I had a good time :)

alwaysinbeta says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:27am

Very minimal! Good mechanic. The little messages added some humour. Finally got the end after about 20 tries on the last level :)

OneMoreGo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:26pm

Very good!

Ysty says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:59pm

Brilliant.

rab236 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:14pm

I really enjoyed playing that. A very nicely though-out idea turned into a pleasant game.

BradleySmith says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:44pm

This is amazing, really really good work for 48 hours.

theomnis says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:45pm

Fun little game! I laughed at the LD25 reference.

karsyf says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:47pm

Execution was great, simple and effective and funny =D

BumpkinRich says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:12pm

Lovely execution of a nice idea. Well done.

d_durham says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:12pm

Very clever, I really enjoyed this one.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:18pm

I enjoyed the tone of this so much, nice to play something that felt so friendly!

naughtyloose says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:36pm

that was awesome! the text added a whole lot of atmosphere to the game :)

McFunkypants says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:37pm

Nice work! My favourite feature is all the help comments you get on reaching each platform.

JAH2488 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:47pm

Cute and the whole thing felt very cohesive. I liked it alot.

Some of the jumps were pretty hard though when it was nearly impossible to know where they were. Great first iteration though.

lucasncv says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:20pm

Charming and clever :) Nicely done.

Saturnyn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:56am

Nice music, quite funny too :)
Good job !

BipolarMike says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:59pm

Liked the narration, well done!

BipolarMike says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:03pm

Liked the narration, especially the "help" in the last level ;) Well done!

thatwhichis says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:55pm

Suuuuper-cute. ^_^

karlin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:28pm

Lovely game, would be great to see it explored further.

patrickward says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:38am

Wow, I really liked this game. The text cues helped and added to the overall atmosphere. I would definitely continue to develop this out a little further. Outstanding effort for 48 hours.

LrdKzrth says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:59pm

I love this game! One of the best entries I've seen!

uncade says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:40pm

It was the right amount of challenge and simplicity to make it fun yet relaxing, good job!

KevinZuhn says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:42am

That was very calming and cute!
I enjoyed the narrator and his attempts at help. I would like to see more levels where you proceed without his help (like the final level).

Spiridios says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:20pm

Loved the mechanic and the tone set by the narrator. BTW, Wolfram Tones isn't free to use (read their terms of use, they claim ownership of all content produced through the site and require you to get a license from them to use it).

tcstyle says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:22pm

This game was pretty fun to play. Great idea and well done. Fits the theme perfectly.

robmozart says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 6:32pm

Enjoyable. I like the messages you get during the levels.

zkenshin says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 1:03am

Lovely (:
The narration kept it fresh. :P

Dietrich Epp says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 7:17pm

Beat it. Nice level progression.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]