April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

The Minimalism Quest

by Pol - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The Minimalism Quest tells the story of a guy who embraces the phylosophy of minimalism (getting rid of what is not necessary) a little bit to litteraly.
Short warioware-inspired game, mouse only.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#21Humor3.88
#32Graphics4.24
#205Fun3.43
#219Mood3.33
#223Overall3.53
#249Theme3.88
#439Innovation3.27
#532Audio2.75

Comments

Apr 28, 2013 @ 7:08pm

i like it. It's like warioware but with more explosions.

fussycashew says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 7:08pm

This was beautiful.

jijaweb says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 7:13pm

Best one so far, that I have played. Looking really great. Nice work!

Jacob says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 7:50pm

Awesome!

Andrio says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:54am

Stylish! Just needs music.

Waynetron says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:55am

I really liked it. Very enjoyable

sol_hsa says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:55am

The ending was a bit gross though..

visibleatom says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:56am

Very good graphics. A bit morbid at the end. No one can say that they're being surprised by a penis, though: it's right there on the first screenshot.

Jaus_LXXIV says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:00am

Very well polished and quite fun to try to get the best rank! Feels very responsive and everything comes together well. Not much replay value but now I feel like I'm asking a lot of something that was made in 48 hours. Nicely done all around.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:01am

I Like the graphics

pereubu says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:33am

luv <3

JohnnySix says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:33pm

Loved the car. Great stuff - the limb action was a little buggy - took a while to hack them off. Bonus point for style, execution and interpretation of the brief. :D

PiotGuy says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:07am

Really nice, good graphics and humor !

FredericRP says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:30am

Fun concept.
I clicked 30-40 times on the computer but I did not understand how to do it well as I was stuck there during 30 seconds at least and did not crushed it 0_o

Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:34am

Nice art style. Most were fun. The final one - seemed very difficult to cut. I must be missing something.

Toki Anholmes says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:40am

I just love what you did, exemplary polish

Webravenz says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:35pm

nice job !

Ariake81 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:56pm

Great little game and although concise, very replayable. Dark (ending!!?) but a lot of fun, love the graphics and the twist on the mini game genre - so many riffs on warioware out there (our previous jam entry included!) but this feels fresh and unique

Codexus says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 2:56pm

Funny game, nice graphics!

AlanZucconi says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 4:34pm

A bizarre creation. Yet, one of the best games I've played here!

ZYXer says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 11:38pm

Yay, destruction! ... and a penis. xD

alcazar says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 9:32am

Almost 5/5, you made me laught, gg

wilbefast says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 11:16am

Get psychiatric help ;P

goerp says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 7:54pm

Hmm how should I rate this? Not much of a game maybe. But I did have fun, and the graphics were brilliant, the sound was just right, and great on the theme.

Ok then 5 stars it is!

bobiniki says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 3:16pm

Lol nice idea for doing that kind of minigame tasks fast. And your interpretation of the theme is original. Good graphics and mood. I laughed a lot when shaving the dog and burning the books. Goo job!

EggDestroyer says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 11:30am

The ending was way darker than the rest of the game and somehow ruined my experience, which was really pleasant and humourous so far. I'm not sure what you wanted to achieve here o_O
Also, shifting between mouse with & without click felt a bit awkward to me, as I had to think about which control to use instead of doing it fast, which doesn't seem to fit so well with the "wario ware" experience.

But the game looks nice and made me laugh (before the ending), and is fun to play overall :)

ethankennerly says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 6:17pm

The coherent and provocative message interested me while guessed the goal of each screen. I love WarioWare, so I was keen to act. It looks beautiful! As you wrote in the post-mortem, I wouldn't have understood the mutilation scene. As a follow up the scenes of exploding the car and burning the books, it seems to approach nihilism.

patrickward says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 8:15pm

I loved the graphics and the overall style, but the last level seemed out of place and a bit too dark for the rest of the game. It was a fun concept though. Well done!

mildmojo says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 9:15pm

Nice art, good interaction variety. I like how after a few more complicated stages you just blow the car up. Boom. Simple. =) Kudos on the sound, too.

With a touchpad I couldn't get beyond "meh". A mouse let me get up to "fairly simple".

Topaz says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 9:04am

Pretty simple and well polished.

kill0u says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 2:08pm

Hmm can't load the page =/ I'll be back later, I hope it will be fixed then ; I want to play this game :D

Rafael Sales says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 3:34pm

Excelente work! Complete and fun experience. I'm without problems to list here. Congratulations!

lorancou says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 3:53pm

Remind me some wario ware style game .. It's very fun.. but still "meh"

kill0u says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 12:30am

Great game :D
If you want to try warioware on drugs, try my game ;)
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-26/?action=preview&uid=5422

bvanschooten says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 9:23am

Well presented, only I didn't find it much fun to play. It is not clear what to do in the computer scene. The ending scene is too gross for me. I'd like to have seen more scenes.

deathray says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 5:51pm

That was the only one i played this LD that deserves a 5 for humor. :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]