April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Different Gameplays

by Toki Anholmes - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hi everyone, here is my entry for this LD.

This is not exactly a video-game, but i presents 6 different gameplays, minimized as possible.


Hope you will enjoy !

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#17Theme4.39
#66Graphics4.08
#149Audio3.43
#158Mood3.47
#326Innovation3.42
#344Overall3.39
#549Humor2.23
#777Fun2.74

Comments

pereubu says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:29am

luv <3

cahman says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:39am

You definitely boiled the gameplay down to the bare minimum! Very nice work art work with grey scale images.

Shigor says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:11pm

Basic game design concepts explained interactively:)

Andy Go says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:14pm

I like a lot :)
Graphics are really nice also

Nakato says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:19pm

Great graphic style! good job

ericlass says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:19pm

Very cool and minimalistic. Nice music too.

mrspeaker says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:20pm

Nice - and an entry that actually uses minimalism as part of the mechanic, rather than just meaning "bad graphics" ;)

kannas says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:24pm

I love how people took this theme as a competition to make the more significance from the bare minimum. And of course i also love this competing games. this is not an exception. And about the "not so much a game" part, well, atm we are not even sure of the modern definition of game, so don't worry about it xD

PiotGuy says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:20am

Really nice, simple and effective !

Robotic says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:02am

The grayscale art looks really good, and it fits the theme very well. Even if there are no goals, you feel compelled to "play"

May 1, 2013 @ 8:35pm

Best use of the theme I've seen.

celiacjoe says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:21pm

Approche interessante du sujet, j'aime! <3

SuperDisk says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:20am

Not quite sure what I was doing.

kreddor says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:19am

I very much liked the aesthetics of this entry, but it felt more like an art installation than an actual game. I would have loved an actual game with the same aesthetics

Neonlare says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:23am

Definitely minimalist, not a game so much, but a basic kind of collection of game concepts. Was interesting to try, I didn't quite get all the game mechanics within it but there is a fair bit of content in this to enjoy for a time. Cheers!

May 3, 2013 @ 6:54pm

Loved this, you made a good use of minimalism. Graphics were awesome along with the gameplay.

netmute says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:21pm

I'm on a Mac, sorry :(

wilbefast says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 6:25pm

Having to build 6 different gameplay showcases in 48 hours means that none of them can be explored particularly deeply, but I really like the *idea* behind it all, and the music and aesthetic style really go well with the theme (this is a theme that not many people have paid close attention to, so it's worth nothing). Good job ;)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]