April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Monoboy

by jhrrsn - Jam Entry

This is the tale of a monochromatic boy with a certain affinity for long-deceased colour. Guide him through his journey into the skies, acquiring and combining colours to reveal the path forward.

Monoboy is an HTML5 game, so it should be playable in any modern browser without plugins. It was created by @gavinpinkney, @jhrrsn and @baytaromeo, crafting art, code and sound respectively. We hope you enjoy it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#49Overall(Jam)3.78
#64Fun(Jam)3.57
#70Graphics(Jam)4.05
#87Mood(Jam)3.59
#150Audio(Jam)3.33
#151Innovation(Jam)3.33
#173Humor(Jam)2.60
#307Theme(Jam)3.17

Comments

agmcleod says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 11:45pm

Nice. i wish the death screens could give some indication as to how to skip quickly back to the gameplay.

anbreizh says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 11:46pm

Really, really fun. Great ambience !

imagnity says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:34am

Minimal. Graphics. FUN!!!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:36am

Very neat concept very nice colors..

ilovepixel says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:39am

Nice one! I really like the idea of the mixing colors. There are some colors that are hard to see because of the low contrast between the background and the platform.

Crazi456 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:08am

Very fun! Great mood!

Sebastian says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:12am

I found this really beautiful!

daniel says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:12am

Beautiful game :)

GetFun says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:01am

So relaxing. Very good

graytest says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:02am

Very nice. Good graphics and controls. Fun gameplay!

leeowen says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:02am

absolutely a brilliant game, wished there was more levels so I could play for longer

Sanguine says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:09am

The movement felt a bit sluggish, but the ambience was great.

loxo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:10am

Great concept, really nice graphics and sound! I like it very much.

caasi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:27am

Let's kill someone and steal their colors!

lpcustom says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:47am

Follows theme and good graphics. Only complaint is that you need more levels.

mrspeaker says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:49am

Fantastic idea... and those graphics: super sweet. Sometimes the platforms felt a bit unfair ("I flippin' made that jump, I swear it!") - but so addictive!

hgouveia says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:59am

I love it, great graphics and ambient, but i not source code :(, and not mentioned were was developed

jhrrsn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:03am

Source added! Developed in the UK.

JohnBroadley says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:28am

Loved it! Shame I literally couldn't be any worse at platformers if I tried. Great entry, and loved the hand drawn scenes! Keep it up.

Hypnohustla says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:37am

Fun game :) Controls felt solid and smooth. Great atmosphere. The collission felt a bit off sometimes but nothing serious though.

manabreak says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:47am

I don't know if this was very minimalistic, but this was really fun!

Perry says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:50am

Love the art. God damn. Music tied in well. Great entry.

Crynix says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:06am

Wow. Amazing job.

Logun says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:20am

Nice idea, maybe need more level design variety. The music is strange, dunno if it is my computer or the original track. Enjoyed the graphics !

martijn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:26pm

Monoboy is adorable

HelkeGames says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:00pm

Nice game!! Cool graphic! :)

AlbertoSM says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:10pm

Very nice graphics, although a bit too detailed in contrast to the main theme of this LD, if you ask me.
Still, the game feels smooth and polished, well done :)

raincole says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:34pm

The control is too slippery. But it's still a great game

Nacho says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:35pm

This is easily my favourite submission so far. I'd pay for a game based on this concept, honestly. Music was amazing, the art was fantastic, and the mechanics were solid.

Tinco says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:37pm

Fun, beautiful, wish you had polished the character control a bit more :)

Smaxx says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:29pm

Nice Little game. The game screen doesn't appear in the right Position on IE 10 (Windows 8) for me (half way off the left side of the window), works fine in Chrome. You should definitely add some kind of loading screen. Everything going blank when loading is as odd as seeing only sprites between Levels. Oh, and I think the Angry Video Game Nerd would hate this game. It's too easy to fall through the borders of the dark cloud platforms, cause they're smaller than the actual graphic. :)

Zekyon says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:20pm

Very good game, the graphics are awesome!

rogueNoodle says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:39pm

Great job on the art and audio! The particles slowed it down a lot for me, but otherwise, nice entry :)

geepit says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:54pm

Art and music are really nice! Gives a great mood to the game. Actual gameplay is pretty fun also

HakitoCZ says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:17pm

Holy *** It's great! Very funny and colorful. Pretty nice.

Chman says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:23pm

Cute graphics, movements feel a bit sluggish but nothing too serious.

I like the base idea of killing monster and mixing colors to unlock parts of the level, but IMO the level design isn't very inspired. It feels like a missed opportunity for something great. Still, nice work !

KEFIR says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:39pm

incredibly cool art and atmosphere!

BortStudios says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:40pm

This was the most fun game I've played LD26 yet. It was a pretty simple mechanic, but the design was excellent - jumping felt fun, bouncing on the things felt fun, etc.

Better yet, I really think this has the potential to become a pretty decent little puzzle platformer. As of now, it is quite linear - yeah you have 'paths' to take, but in the end you have to get this ghost, then this one, and eventually this one, etc. By adding a mechanic where you can remove color from him, to perhaps remove walls or something to get by, it could turn into more of a puzzle game where you have to figure out what order to get the things in and which ones to remove and how to get them back up again, etc

Very fun!

mrexcessive says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:29pm

Looks great, plays well, colour combining makes me think of wizball on Atari-ST... but it's completely different this time. Nice mix of drawn and "live" art.

adnzzzzZ says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:36pm

Really nice graphics and music. The platforming is a bit off but nothing serious. Overall a decent game.

zerebruin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:47pm

Beautiful style & atmosphere! I only wish one could change the controls (I hate using up arrow for jumping).

fenixtao says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:06pm

Well this was just bloody lovely. Smooth, sketching is awesome, rad job!

tonic says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:31pm

Nice little jumper there with nice small touches. The death screens are funny. =)

LrdKzrth says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:43pm

Very good effort, very cute, and simple

McFunkypants says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:25pm

Just fantastic! I love the colour mixing and hand-drawn art. Not a big fan of the music. Overall: AMAZING. Great work indeed!

8BitPimp says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:58pm

Really nice game here. The graphics are lovely. I really like the particles rising up from the character. The colour/platform mechanic is nice too.

Psytew says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:40pm

Fun, but very repetitive levels and anticlimactic ending. The graphics and controls are pretty great, though.

sparkleswirl says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:12am

Love the death screens; they're beautiful.

visibleatom says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:41am

At first, I thought it was a cookie. Then, I thought it was a deformed moon. Then, I saw what it was...

Great game, though. I liked the concept, I dislike the 'up = continuous jumping' that so many games have, but everything looked top-notch.

qdowngames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:41am

Whenever I die and restart, the game lags like crazy. But it's really fun and very graphically smooth!

scottychips says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:47am

I played this one for a while. I love the little color particles that trail off of you when you starting alot of potential colors. The platform mechanic was also a really neat idea.

ps3master72 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:33am

Awesome game, it also has POTATO!

evoker says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:44am

Nice art style and smooth animation. I also liked the color mixing mechanic. But there was a point in one early level were making the wrong decision meant having to kill myself and start over since the necessary platform was unreachable. Otherwise, I had fun!

tacograveyard says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:42am

Wow, very cool! This was really fun and clever, I had to stay in til the end. Great job!

stromchin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:48am

I was getting slowdowns during the game, was this just me?
Anyways, this actually helped me manage the jumps better.

cwilloughby says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:07am

Super cool. Mechanics and controls felt great. Loved the rejump when you went through a plat. Art and graphics were great too. Very nice. Also liked the death cutscenes.

Jiggawatt says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:32am

Some of the platforms felt like their sprites deceive their hitboxes.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:39am

Good thing someone cut the clouds so they are walkable ;)
Nice entry with good quality on art, sounds and gameplay

Alex Rose says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:51am

This is awesome, really love the style.

ethankennerly says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:18am

The drawings enchanted me and the music mesmerized me. Mixing colors interested me. If you continue to develop this, have you considered some puzzles where the order in which you mix colors is critical to solidifying platforms to the exit?

Almax27 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:32am

Excellent overall polish. Thoroughly enjoy this entry!

orangepascal says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:16am

nice! really enjoyable game.. sometimes it lags a bit, and collision detection is a bit off at times.. but great game

omaromeir says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:53am

Fun game with awesome atmosphere, I loved the idea of jumping on monsters to enable platforms :D.

Hadyn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:48am

Awesome style and good mechanics. I think the level design could have gotten a little crazier - perhaps more puzzle-like to get the most out of the mechanic. Still, it was a fun experience over all!

oatsbarley says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:21am

This is lovely! The graphics and music fit together so well and the levels are really nicely designed. I sort of wish his jump was just a little bit more powerful, but other than that this is awesome.

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:38pm

Yeaaah monoboyyy !

daubers says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:27pm

Fantastic concept. Quite well balanced, loved the sparkly particle effects :)

MaxguN says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:01am

Beautiful. Sad it has low fps on my computer but i enjoyed it :). And, was that a potato ?

Zoidbergtron says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:33am

Love it!

kidevil says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:18am

Good mechanics and fun gameplay. Nice job!

May 1, 2013 @ 3:04am

Very charming.

magnpeas says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:53am

I love the detail of the colors following the little guy around and the combination of colors. Awesome work!

OnlySlightly says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:58am

Really well made game. Cohesive aesthetic style, cool concept, tight controls. Nicely done!

Travis Irby says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:04am

fun platformer! the controls are really good and i liked the enemy color platform color concept. nice work :)

savethejets1 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:34am

Cool stuff. I liked the mechanic!

if I might suggest one thing it's that a flatter first level might have clued me into the fact that you have to stomp on the guys heads, as it was didn't immediately clue into that fact and kept dying.

All in all though, a really innovative idea!

+1 for using Heroku :D

May 1, 2013 @ 6:53am

The color mechanic is very fun, particularly mixing colors together. Wonderful art style.

HelkeGames says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:47am

Love the graphic and the concept, well done :)

fullmontis says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:51am

Great mood and great concept, really like it. Maybe a little too easy...

henrykun says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:37pm

Beautiful game, I love the drawings and certainly particles are awesome. I like jumping too :) simple and fun.

multitude says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:30pm

LOVE THIS GAME!

Felix20 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:48pm

Wow great game, especially the art and music. The mechanic was cool, but still kinda boring. The game makes up for it in mood and graphics though.

psychomonster says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:59pm

Very cool game

May 1, 2013 @ 9:15pm

Good Work. I Really Liked the art style and soundtrack. The use of colors is very good!

PsenFilip says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:36pm

I like the drawing.
The music is just fine and sound effects do the job.
Level design is rather interesting.
I died a lot trying to rush the levels. I managed to reach the potato, after some time :)
Very good controls. Smooth!

One thing I would consider is somehow requiring a specific order to kill enemies in order to unlock platforms. Maybe a bit of puzzle aspects on top of would add up nice.

GranaDa says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 3:25pm

Loved the colors iteraction. Nice entry!

Rafael Sales says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:45pm

Veeeeery interesting game! Great mood and challenging level design. Congratz!

Prelucid says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 6:42pm

Superbly done. I liked this one a lot.

SmilingCat says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 1:57am

Really cool, I like how you have to mix the colors to get the second-order platforms to appear.

dick_claus says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 11:27am

Cute platformer, I like the

May 13, 2013 @ 2:40am

Cool concept and a good use of the theme. A job well done I must say.

MinionStudios says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 3:06pm

I love the artwork.. those particles ended up being handy for remembering the colors...

Cyboot says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 6:15pm

Beautiful game. I really like the colors.

I think it also is the perfect length for Ludumdare, I failed a few times in the last level but I saw the potato and it was worth to continue playing.

Great Job!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]