April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Dark Wayne

by lasergans - Jam Entry

Here it is: my very first Ludum Dare entry!!!

You play a simple quad on his way through his dark world. Try :)

My good friend Christian designed the levels *thx*.
By unzipping the .love file you can also easily make and play your own levels.
I would love to play some of your levels, too.

Have at least as much fun, as I had while scripting! :))



Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness74%
#228Theme(Jam)3.39
#268Innovation(Jam)2.98
#291Fun(Jam)2.83
#367Overall(Jam)2.88
#393Mood(Jam)2.56
#394Humor(Jam)1.63
#461Audio(Jam)1.33
#489Graphics(Jam)2.35

Comments

siondream says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:37pm

Great mechanic! At the beginning it's a bit WTF but then it becomes really interesting, some music and timers could be a nice addition.

robc says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:38pm

Interesting - the mechanic to switch layouts certainly leads to some interesting level design.

lulzfish_4 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:39pm

Definitely fits the theme, and it wasn't too hard, but it was kind of boring.

bb_buster says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:46pm

Really good. Was a little confused at first but then I got how the mechanic worked. I enjoyed it a lot.
Good job on it =)

klianc09 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:26pm

This really is minimalistic, but maybe too minimalistic. It felt like it was missing something more.
That it has no instructions makes it much more interesting to find out what is going on, but once you find out, there really isn't any other challenge anymore.
The Light effects fit it very well.

notepid says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:22am

Good game mechanics, and it seems like there has been done a lot of thinking to design interesting levels.

HelkeGames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:49am

Nice game, love it well done! ;)

Madball says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:01am

Seems a bit monotone. Just 2 layers? I player "Layer maze" recently, it was 15 layers + nice level design, and still so-so. This concept isn't very original, you could add some more features for additional challenge. Also, I often could see the level in the darkness.

fullmontis says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:45am

Nice! Simple yet fun. Would benefit greatly from some ambient music.

lasergans says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:57am

Madball, if you compare this game to "Layer Maze", i thing you don't really understand how it works. But yea, you all are right: more features and music are missing. I keep it in mind for the next LD :) Thx everybody for playing :)

TriBeard says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:25pm

The layout switching mechanic certainly has potential. I echo the sentiments that a timer / par time would help. Crying out for some ambient music, but I'm sure you know that!

kacperski1 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:43pm

At first I was like what is this, but it became very good after few levels :)

Xatulu says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:44pm

Interesting game, awesome mechanics once you get a hang of it!

leafo says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:09am

Cool game. I like how the yellow dots work. Glad to see so many love2d games this time around!

Qaterknan says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:12pm

Great! I liked that I had to remember several positions in the maze and the idea of changing the maze. But I lacked the audio, it would make game much better.

May 3, 2013 @ 5:35pm

Elegant :)

GranaDa says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 12:46pm

Missed some BGM. Nice entry!

GameRespect says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 1:01pm

Pretty good for a first entry! :) a bit more work on maybe some music and more gameplay mechanics would benefit the game greatly though! Regardless, goodjob! :D

May 9, 2013 @ 12:18pm

Sadly I can't play it on my WinXP (32-bit) laptop, because I got following error message:

"Error

main.lua:25: Cannot create canvas: Not supported by your OpenGL implementation.


Traceback

[C]: in function 'newCanvas'
main.lua:25: in function 'load'
[C]: in function 'xpcall'"

lasergans says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 3:49pm

@SuperlevelSebastian:
I'm very sorry, your GPU doesn't support the OpenGL features I need to use (framebuffer) :(

May 10, 2013 @ 3:36pm

Sigh. :( Good luck though! :)

May 12, 2013 @ 12:42pm

I got really confused by the layout switching mechanic, it made the level navigation very difficult for me. Very interesting idea though :)

MrShoestore says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 8:12pm

Oh man, that win screen angered me. thought the game broke! good mechanic.

Oye Beto says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 3:35am

I don't like maze games but this one entertained me.
It's a new mechanic to me :)

I got to the you win message :D
I said "oooh..!" when I noticed it xD

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]