April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Priorities

by hissssssssss - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Priorities: de-clutter your life!

Priorities contains simple mechanics as a metaphor for trying to live a minimalistic, zen-like life.
Click on people, responsibilities and things you love to free them from taking up space in your mind.
Use S and D to switch between screens.

The fewer total objects you have at the end, the better. Black objects will subtract from your score.
The more total objects, the faster new objects will spawn! Don't let little responsibilities overwhelm you.

Music inspired by Philip Glass, a minimalist composer.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#176Theme3.98
#386Mood3.11
#521Audio2.76
#543Innovation3.13
#663Humor2.08
#778Overall2.96
#804Graphics2.71
#1101Fun2.32

Comments

Tyro says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:48am

A nice interpretation of the minimalism theme that creates a simple yet fun experience. Good work!

Gustera says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:07pm

Very artistic :)

AlvaroH says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:13pm

Cool game.

metadept says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:19pm

"Well this house is nice and clean, let's see what those hearts look like."
*wall of black*
"Crap."

Cool concept, fits the theme well. I found myself wishing for a way to move the good priorities around and organize them, since often they were in front of (and blocking) the bad ones. Good job!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:20pm

i have literally no idea what i was doing even after reading the instructions hehe.. i liked it for the differentness of it all tho .. and im a glass fan aswell :)

Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:20pm

Really good use of theme. I wish I could do this in my real life.

Dietrich Epp says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:35pm

I thought I was doing pretty well but I got... negative 1.5 million points at the end. I was focusing mostly on my girlfriend, my lover, and my wife. It takes a lot of effort to make sure the never meet, am I right? Sucks when new boxes overlap old boxes.

hissssssssss says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:45pm

@Dietrich Epp:
If you got negative 1.5 million points, it's likely that you missed out on the other two screens. There are three screens that fill with boxes (house, heart and garden), and you swap between them with S and D. All the unattended black boxes on those two screens probably added up to a lot.
I certainly could have done something to make the presence of the other two screens more clear.

JokerDen says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:20am

Good game. It make me think about some persons on my life.

Jubjub. says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:01am

Haha, stressful and kind of disturbing. Enjoyed it!

Salamander3 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:07am

For me, this absolutely hit the nail on the head with the theme. Good use of music, novel idea, and ultimately an impossible feeling task. Exceedingly artsy, but I really think you nailed this theme. Good job.

lekochen says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:23am

It's not fun to play. But the message you presented is really good. Thanks.

TehSkull says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:44am

Needs to be harder. The game had me panicked at the beginning, but then it was super easy. Plus I'm not really sure if I could lose. And when time ran out, I couldn't tell that I won.

gmaker says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:52pm

really nice! =)

nddrylliog says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:02pm

Was actually stressing for me :) Maybe because I'm on too much coffee right now. Otherwise, nice concept, I think it could use a better algorithm to spawn the squares on the screen, I often misclicked and took care of a bigger thing instead of the smaller thing I wanted to actually take care of.

whitetigle says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:45pm

I like the concept although I didn't really have fun playing. But it is good

axcho says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:11am

I had two spouses, a boyfriend and a girlfriend. :p

I didn't realize there were multiple screens until re-read the instructions. I did find it odd that I was giving my attention to the things I didn't want instead of focusing on the things I did want, despite the fiction of the game. Seems kinda backward.

EggDestroyer says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:10pm

Interesting concept and atmosphere :) But it could use more polish in terms of game design (balance, rate of spawn, fun of the game). Nevertheless, I liked your intention quite much !

kibertoad says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:01pm

Interesting take on a theme.

BipoleMoment says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:30pm

The audio definitely set the mood, in my opinion.

HD408 says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 1:48am

At my first play, I've swept all the screen and there was no one left while the counter was at 70 or so.

Then... Oh OK, so there's "how to play" file. Then I understood. And there's also a "Help" button in the main menu, which I didn't want to press and forgot about its existence the moment after that.

There's an interesting concept behind this game, I liked it. Good work.

shawn42 says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 2:51pm

Crazy click-fest with meaning. Well done.

May 8, 2013 @ 2:31pm

Little weird but it does suit the theme. Loved the audio!

Broxxar says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 3:11pm

Great work with the theme. Gave some big points to humour to for the social commentary about how things like internet trolls and farmville should have a low priority in life and clicking the larger square representing things like that took a big chunk out of your score. Great stuff.

kill0u says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 12:10pm

Nice game.

Misael.K says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 5:04am

Nice game! Agree with Metadept here. Having three different screens is a nice touch, which adds to the difficulty (and associated stress, like many commenters said).
First score: -290383. Ouch. The "you can't do everything" metaphor also hit very close to home. Second score: -132132.

Turtle says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 7:37am

Pretty stressful to make that call of dropping a people in my mind.

Pisti says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 5:20pm

Might need a new left mouse button, nice game!

HuvaaKoodia says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 6:40pm

TOTAL -526587
I fail at Zenism.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]