April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Desire

by burtlo - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are the object of affection. You are desired. You are both the victim and the part to play in the story.

## Goal

Build up the highest level of desire by staying close without being grabbed.

## Controls

Use the mouse to move the character within the window.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#36Mood3.92
#159Audio3.41
#249Theme3.88
#296Innovation3.45
#477Graphics3.13
#491Overall3.23
#688Fun2.83
#839Humor1.86

Comments

Lerc says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:56am

Framerate drops to about 1fps when the ring clouds appear.

lightsoda says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:20pm

The topic of desire and play on emotions in this is an interesting idea. Pretty moody.

DaanVanYperen says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:37am

A dimension that not many play with. Like it!

shawn42 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:31am

Fun concept. It's tricky if you're reading the text and trying to keep an eye on your score! Good work!

Topaz says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:20pm

Runs fine on my laptop. The graphics which are there look really nice, and the music's pretty good too. Nice job!

HelkeGames says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:25pm

Nice game, well done! :)

kurrik says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 5:44am

Took a second to get what I was supposed to do but the theme and atmosphere are both really strong. Seemed a little more thoughtful than many of the other submissions I've seen. Nice work!

avidgamerNino says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 6:03am

Desire: 1969, I think I could have gone longer. Nice and simple towards the theme.

Logan says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 6:28am

You did a great job setting the mood with this one. With the sound and the movements and the lines that thing says... It comes off as so creepy and needy, and yet I'm the one leading it on...

gmaker says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 6:34am

really fun! great job

Ryusui says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:26am

Very beautiful and unsettling - "dying" in this game is likely to haunt my dreams. XD

I just wish the text had the same care as the rest of the graphics - the stock fonts and static word balloon clash badly with the rest of the game's aesthetic. And that little "plink" sound when you start the game seems a bit out of place, too.

Jerm says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:09am

Not an incredibly fun game, but the atmosphere was really well done. There wasn't very many graphical elements, but what was there was really detailed and I really liked the whole visual style of the game. The music was really good too. I also liked how the 'enemy' had a few different styles of movement, which keeps you on your toes. My best score was 4700.

SnoringFrog says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:13pm

Got my score up to 3840 before my roommate called my name and I slipped up. Found it easiest to just circle the enemy when it was chasing me, as that kept our separation fairly constant. Game looks and sounds great, though there isn't much to it. Nice work.

dremelofdeath says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 9:16am

Full score for mood! I loved the flow of this game. It's very simple, although for a while I didn't understand how to score points. The game is very symbolic, and I love it. Good work.

Geoege says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 10:08am

AwesomeAwesomeAwesomeAwesomeAwesomeAwesomeAwesomeAwesomeAwesomeAwesomeAwesomeAwesomeAwesomeAwesomeAwesomeAwesome!

Cake&Code says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 5:51am

Looks fantastic all around! The mood, the interaction, the music... it's all so perfectly blended together. I wish there were more than just a single quote that showed when you lose but hey, that's just my desire ;)

Make A Game says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 11:00am

The first time I played I went straight to the red circle.
2007 points.
I loved the concept, great mood, the narrative flowed beautifully it touches topics sometimes deemed as taboo like arousal, desire in an abstract way. Congratulations =)

lanz says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 3:39pm

Simple, yet complicated. Cool graphics and music. I definetely liked the idea and implementation!

psc1997 says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 7:32pm

Music and graphics are awesome. Overall i like this game! Good job! ;-)

kyru says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 8:29pm

Neat idea for a game, fits the theme well.

FREEZX says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 5:55pm

Keeps you alarmed at all times! Liked it a lot.

garygreen says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 9:37pm

What a quirky and original game. I really liked the idea and how you executed it in a minimal style. The fiery graphics were great too.

hissssssssss says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 10:12am

This was a really eerie game. It made me uncomfortable, in a good way. Fantastic.

JonathanG says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 12:16pm

Well put together, fits the theme well, good music. Very unsettling/creepy as well!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]