April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Blox - Return of the Pixel

by thequay - Jam Entry

Simple platformer made in 48 hours (I started late).
WASD (or Arrow keys) to move, Space to jump.
Total of 20 levels with increasing difficulty. + 1 Bonus level.

If you rage quit, I win.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1864Coolness20%

Comments

admund says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:56pm

very nice :) how many levels are in the game? i'm stuck on 20 :P

Spierek says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:16pm

@admund - 20th is the final one, actually. Took me several tries.

siondream says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:22pm

The text appears cropped a bit :-S. Besides that I like the style very much and the mechanic it's simple but feels good. Congrats. Is it only HTML5 + Javascript + canvas?

Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:25pm

Simple. reasonably in theme. Works. No annoyances. Quite unique features for this Dare from what i've found so far :) You're definitely better than me on the last one :D

Milktoast says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:47pm

Awesome! This is about as minimalist as you can get with a platformer. Nice level of difficulty.

Sylvain.p says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:29pm

Nice progression of difficulty, I really liked it.

May 1, 2013 @ 12:31pm

A nice fun game, that makes you want to complete :D

May 4, 2013 @ 8:49pm

Nice Game!

runonthespot says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:58pm

Pretty tidy little platformer. Not a huge fan of reset as a solution though!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]