April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

TREVNI

by Mnemusyne - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You must invert when it tells you to.

Controls:
SPACE or Click to invert.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#89Audio3.63
#138Mood3.52
#311Graphics3.40
#408Theme3.68
#778Overall2.96
#843Fun2.67
#890Innovation2.67
#1503Coolness41%

Comments

Nakato says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:55am

Graphics simple and good but, the gameplay was not very clear. There is no tutorial or something like .. i press space and don't realy on what i have action

BortStudios says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:28pm

I was confused by the purpose of this game. I tried as hard as I could to lose, but couldn't figure out how, and my score just kept rocketing up

kannas says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:29pm

At first understanding the goal of the game is challenging, so you should do something about that. After that challenge, beating the game was fun . Graphics and music are perfect ;)

Moist says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:29pm

I love the mood here! The overall graphical style is great and the music is superb. Gameplay is pretty addicting, too. Good job!

adnzzzzZ says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:35pm

Nice graphics, gameplay and music. The rules are rather simple, but the music and graphics set the mood for each color in a very interesting way. I can't quite explain it... It sort of reminded me of Boximalism (http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-26/?action=preview&uid=5776), but there the mood is "INTENSE!" while here it's "weird" (but in a good way).

I wish as you get further in that the inversion would come in more often so that the game is harder in a way... But still, it was a great experience. Thanks for creating it.

Cosine says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:31pm

Love the mood. It's pretty cool, but there's no score count and the stars move a little bit slowly.

john_conder9 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:43am

4271 is the score I made it to. It took me a bit to realize when to invert - at first I thought it was when a star reached the edge of the screen but eventually I think I realized you just have to wait till the text says (like it clearly states :P)

I really like how both the music and graphics invert when you click it. But, I'm not sure if this was intended or not but the music transition was rather jarring. It made me not want to invert because I felt like I was being punished when I did (then again, maybe I was messing up the whole time and it was punishment for doing the wrong thing? I'm not really sure.)

Anyway, amazing concept and it at least seems to work well, but I can't really tell because it is a bit confusing and/or abstract. Great job though!

BipolarMike says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:51am

I like the idea, reminds me of an extremely minimalist Ikaruga, but with apparently no way to lose ;P

BNeutral says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:24am

Very interesting. As said before, failing the timing should have some sort of effect to instantly show that you missed to make things clearer.
Also you should just have made the "INVERT" invisible instead of the same color as the background when it shouldn't show, since you can see the "trick" if you put the muse at the center.

mushbuh says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:16pm

Neat game, but how do you lose?

HelkeGames says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:24pm

Nice game, well done! :)

elbowroom says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:57pm

Out of around 30 entries, this is the best game I played so far. I got 6755 points. The only things that trouble me is what is the purpose of the purple circle and the moving blue shiny ball? It was a game (that aside from tight situations where velocity matters) even a blind person could play which works perfectly for the theme. The graphics was beautiful and felt very minimalist. I can't score five for innovation cause it feels like a ddr game. I am going to score fives on everything else. Very strong entry imho.

May 4, 2013 @ 8:58pm

I was confused in some moments. But, soundtrack and graphics are perfect. Great Job.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 4:25am

music and graphics were good -- gameplay could be harder -- nice job

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]