April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

BiT

by SanctuaryInteractive - Jam Entry

BiT is a 'how far can you go' game with twist; you can change the direction of gravity.
Use this power to avoid obstacles to beat your, or your friend's best scores!
Use the spacebar to change the direction of gravity and M to mute the music.

The game follows the minimalism theme with simple and elegant graphics, basic chip-tune loop and easy to learn but hard to master game play.
The random level generation means chances are you won't have the same run each time you spawn. The spawn system allows you to drop into the level as you wish, when you want to so you can choose the best place to start off from.

How far will you last?

*NOTE: The version you are playing is an older version than the actual build because the new build was highly unstable. The versions are fundamentally the same, it's just that the older version has as longer load up time where it sits at a white screen, but is easier to play and has less jumping puzzles*

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#148Theme(Jam)3.64
#159Mood(Jam)3.33
#167Graphics(Jam)3.64
#179Overall(Jam)3.36
#208Fun(Jam)3.06
#332Audio(Jam)2.69
#349Innovation(Jam)2.73

Comments

Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:16pm

I cannot run this entry because there does not appear to be a link to the game.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:52am

Sorry, the link has been added now.

MemphisTen says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:25am

could not play it. dont know why - just a white screen

tacograveyard says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:28am

Seemed fun what I played but it had trouble loading and seemed to freeze up on spots.

Daniel H says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:28am

other than the fact that you can spawn in walls, pretty fun.

Phase says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:33am

I really like this game's style, and the puzzle designs are well designed for the game mechanics. Sometimes you get stuck in a wall when you spawn though...

Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:37am

@MemphisTen, you may have to lower your security when it comes to java or accept the java run popup.

@tacograveyard, we have noticed the freezing and are looking for the solution at the moment.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:55am

We temporarily rolled back our game to an older but stable build of the game while we figure out why the game breaks.

ThreeUp says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:31am

A well completed product with art and controls but I didn't feel the design was particularly interesting.

Blinked says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:50pm

I liked it, its very challenging, reminds me of the old Helicopter Game :)

meszka says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:50pm

Nice visual style, I like the minimal parallax scrolling background. Game mechanic reminds me of VVVVVV ;)

Tyro says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:05am

Very cool idea! The randomly generated levels keep it fresh and the visuals are all consistent and clean. Good work, all around.

Switchbreak says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:08am

Very nice! Really difficult, the best I could do was 18. Sometimes it spawned me inside a wall, but for the most part it worked great.

Tokken18 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:24pm

Will not play for me. Chrome said it's because java needs a 64 bit browser which it is not, so I tried safari and it just didn't work.

Jiddo says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:01pm

Really cool game. It sort of has a nice atmosphere, but it is bloody difficult, especially for me who is generally useless at this type of game.

It is also really nice to see a fellow Java entry. Kudos!

Both versions worked fine for me running Oracle Java 7 on Linux, even tho tend to be dead throughout most of the "unstable" one. Did not see any freeze or crash. :)

You might wanna consider adding a loading screen tho. I was almost confident that it was broken when the screen was just white for the first 20 seconds. It wasn't until I activated the Java console that I realized that it was actually doing something.

Also, maybe it'd be better to look for a smart place to spawn the player rather than always the center of the screen? I keep spawning inside the ground or on top of spikes cuz I'm impatient. :)

Drabiter says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:06pm

Cool visual. It's easy to play player by not requiring player repeat a section.

May 2, 2013 @ 3:04pm

The visuals were great, but the 'chiptune soundtrack' was kinda dull, could you have done better?

Ernyz says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:04pm

Reminds me of gravity guy. Like the artwork, it really fits the theme. On the other hand, once the gravity is changed, squares speed increases a bit too fast, at least for me :)

May 2, 2013 @ 9:44pm

Sadly I just saw a white screen when I tried to start it. :( I'll try it again in some days. :) Maybe it's just a server issue.

loxo says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 11:42am

I really like the graphics and color palette.

hgouveia says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 9:45am

Love this game! very original plataform!, and the music too,
quite dificult, i died every 5seconds haha, love the art, but is a shame you didn't add the source code

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]