April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

KeepTheMusicAlive

by iamorim - Jam Entry

Ok... It's my second LudumDare :)

The first: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-25/?action=preview&uid=18057

And MiniLD39: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/minild-39/?action=preview&uid=18057

KeepTheMusicAlive:

That's pretty simple. You win if you listen to the whole music. How to make it? Just use the A and W or arrow keys to rotate the camera and left click on the ball to make the volume goes up.

If the balls hit you the volume goes down. So, be careful and have fun!

I know it's a little hard to know where you are because it's all black. I have an idea but I have no time now :|
I would like to add some things yet, like a progress bar and power-ups. Anyway, thanks! :)

I used Unity, Photoshop, Audacity and musics from freesound.org

------------------------------------------------------
I made a post-compo version with some changes that I didn't have time to do during the weekend.

1. There are colors!
2. The balls don't spawn at the same time now.
3. Changed the musics
4. Choose a music from your hard disk to play.

That's it :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#121Audio(Jam)3.44
#158Innovation(Jam)3.32
#257Theme(Jam)3.30
#402Mood(Jam)2.54
#403Humor(Jam)1.53
#464Overall(Jam)2.61
#511Fun(Jam)2.10
#525Graphics(Jam)2.06

Comments

LrdKzrth says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:09pm

Great music and great idea! Very tough though...

Galvesmash says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:15pm

Great game! But too confusing to know where I am in the beginning... Btw, cool potato! xD

iamorim says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:03pm

Thanks guys! Actually I had the idea to put some colored lights while the balls are spawned but I chose to make the essencial first. No doubts I will keep working on this game!

Masadow says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:09pm

Good concept. Camera is a bit confusing at the start. You feel like you don't move or you are stuck on a wall

Rafael Sales says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:16pm

Nice game. Very innovative. I suggest to highlight more the volume on HUD to see easily when you are with volume 1.

PTSnoop says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:31pm

This game got a lot easier once I realised I could just keep constantly clicking at the centre of the screen, and just use A and D to spin around. I'd have liked to have kept alive some more complex music than just those drumbeats. But overall, pretty good!

tonic says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:57pm

Well, didn't keep me playing for long, but it is freshly different idea anyway. It was pretty hard I think, maybe it'd be better if there would be more balls visible than having to search for them?

neight says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:01pm

Great use of Theme. Great prototype. I found myself just spinning and clicking. Keep exploring the idea.

iamorim says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:31pm

Wow! Thanks again for the tips guys! As I said I have a lot of ideas to add. Something like let the player choose a music from the HD etc.

oatsbarley says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:29pm

You web link gives me a 404. I'm downloading the PC version, but I thought I'd let you know ASAP.

ataxkt says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:29pm

404 on web version too :(

iamorim says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:54pm

Oh, sorry guys I had a problem with the folder in dropbox. I fixed it already! '-'

LizEngland says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:18am

Confusing (as you noted) because it's all black. Once I thought about what you meant by the camera, it made a lot more sense. Music's great.

oatsbarley says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:00am

I think it's already been said but the music doesn't really make you want to keep playing, which is a big problem when the music is the main focus of the game. It doesn't progress anywhere, so you feel as if you're just grinding away until the time limit goes down and getting nothing for it. It's a unique idea though, well done for that!

madlee says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:37am

interesting concept. like others have noted, the camera movement was a bit weird at first. If you continue to work on it, I'd recommend adding some other visual cue that the camera is moving. good work!

May 1, 2013 @ 11:27pm

Nice innovative idea, but needed something to better convey to the player where he was and what he has to do next.

john_conder9 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:49pm

I managed to beat the first track, and it was pretty thrilling, but, the music was just a total mis-match to what was going on. If this had a crazy BPM increase or if the music got more "epic" as you went or something that would have made this game super addicting and awesome. But, great for LD and I liked it! Of course the camera was super confusing, so maybe having some kind of low-noise background or some kind of something to help tell which way I was facing would help, it was also impossible to see if I could face up and down and sometimes even when holding A or D down and clicking like a mad man I was still taking damage and I couldn't figure out from what. But, really cool!

minibutmany says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:51am

The music wasn't really synced up with the game, which is odd because it is a game all about music? It's a cool idea but it just needs a wee bit more work.

iamorim says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:16am

Good news guys! I'm already working to make it better. I'm getting nice results :)

May 3, 2013 @ 1:46am

Fun the name is good and its fun, and it's a great idea kudos.

May 8, 2013 @ 9:10pm

Hmmm... kinda basic and not very much fun... sorry to say so!

SnoringFrog says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 6:41am

Crazy difficult, but nice idea.

DaveDobson says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 1:59am

Interesting and very minimalist idea. I found the game ran rather too long - I felt like I'd mastered any particular challenge a level offered by about 120 in, and yet I had to get to 240 or so. It would be more challenging to have the balls at different heights, and it might be cool to be able to see where they were coming from on a radar or something, so you could plan better. Very cool minimalist look, and rockin' music. Nice job!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]