April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

The Rules Are Simple...

by saampahlavan - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The Rules Are Simple... is a minimalistic game that centers around the visuals of minimalist artist Piet Mondrian. As you play the game the rules change....

Platform: Flash

Engine: Flixel

Sounds: Garage Band

Other: Flash Develop / Photoshop

Enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#196Theme3.95
#368Audio3.02
#423Fun3.13
#447Overall3.27
#540Graphics3.05
#651Mood2.78
#794Innovation2.81
#812Humor1.89

Comments

naxum says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:44am

Minimalismmmmm

Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:17am

The audio is great! I do hate the lack of vertical control, though.

deathray says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:19am

I knew I'd see a Mondrian game! Points for theme, although this type of gameplay frustrates me and my bad coordination.

Loren says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:21am

really nice sound :)

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:22am

Nice and simple

Frankus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:23am

Too bad it runs so slowly. I hope it's only me.

JigxorAndy says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:25am

Awesome game! I really liked how the levels were short and the mechanics kept staying fresh. The end was cool as well. Nice work!

fueelin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:27am

That was really really good. Very fun/satisfying and great use of the aesthetic. Awesome.

xel says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:31am

Beat it after many many deaths. The different rule variations were cool and kept the game interesting. The end screen was also a nice treat. Good work.

Alec Von Arx says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:32am

Awesome game! Great use of the theme! Make sure you play it to the end so you can draw your own art haha. I found myself using spacebar to jump so my move hand was independent from my jump hand. Bookmarked ;)

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:03am

Nice use of the theme!

Andy West says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:06am

Great concept and implementation! I played through the whole thing and I amazed that this was accomplished in 2 days.

saampahlavan says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:08am

Thanks for the comments everyone! If you get to the end of the game be sure to tweet me an screen shot your awesome minimalist art @saampahlavan.

netgrind says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:03am

I got stuck fairly far into the game. I really liked the level design. One thing that would be so cool is if you managed to get all the black lines to draw and subdivide rectangles. Mind you that would be pretty tricky to add on top in 2 days XD. Nice job.

jpverkamp says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:57am

A bit sluggish on my machine and it would have been nice to have a little more margin of error on a lot of the jumps (particularly the early ones), but a neat enough take on the style.

PapyGaragos says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:50pm

Nice touch at the end :)

Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:13pm

Loving the Composition No. 10 look!

8BitPimp says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:28pm

Nice game, I found this one really addictive.

KunoNoOni says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:46pm

Awesome use of Theme and great mechanics to boot! Well done.

Puzzlem00n says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:44am

Wow! Fantastic, fantastic work! I love the animation when the player is loading. I made a Mondrian/De Stijl based game, too, but this is probably a bit more polished.

Kyle Bolton says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:36pm

I really liked how you changed the rules of the game as I progressed. Not being able to move left really opened the game up for me. Strategizing a platformer by limiting the player's resources is quite clever.

My only criticisms would be the lack of ascent control, and I wish I had more time to prepare my first jump during the auto running levels.

Great job!

multitude says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:52am

nice game and good mechanics. i liked the endless jump

Nanolotl says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:47am

Very nice game. The varying pitch of the jump sound effects and the simple way the rules were conveyed added greatly to it. A few difficulty spikes though.

ilovepixel says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:13am

Hard game, got stuck at a level I couldn't pass. Overall it was a very nice game.

Uhfgood says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:59am

couldn't get past the one with the 5 alternating red blocks, kind of annoying, but the theme is right on

Hypnohustla says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:36am

Good variation on the platforming genre. Some levels were frustatingly hard. Loved the graphical style :)

Xaychru04 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:21am

The graphics are simple, but the number of levels and how they are difficult very add a lot of content to the game. It was a pretty cool game, and I liked the concept of limited actions!

Jiggawatt says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:59pm

It lacks some focus and has a bit of awkward progression, but it's still one of the most promising prototypes. 4 stars just for the amount of content.

I could see this being made into a full-length game, with higher production values. Please consider that.

mortus says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:15pm

Great final touch with that drawing screen, adds much to the game.

Travis Irby says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:31pm

saw your post on tig! Fun game and i really like the audio

theomnis says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:13pm

I think this is one of my favorite Mondrian games.

robcozzens says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:05pm

Wow that got hard!
Awesome though!

sharbelfs says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:03am

Simple and fun and minimalistic! Good game!

shuall says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:44am

Liked the Mondrian, and the gameplay made me feel like a winner when I got past all those freaking red squares.

Husky says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:47am

Nice concept.
It's really match the theme, good job! :p

lotusgame says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:17am

Good concept, but level 4 is very difficult, so I stop.

Tifu says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:03pm

I know its just barely a second, but waiting for the box to be filled in in a game where death happens frequently, builds up to frustration D:
Despite frustrations, good game, nice ideas, managed to get to the end and enjoyed the little bonus thing :D

@SamPotasz says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:36pm

Nice work, Saam! I did indeed enjoy

alts says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 7:02am

I like the idea of making a game around simplification of the control scheme. I feel like the game really shined when all keys were eliminated but 'up'. It just felt like it took a long time to get to that point. I also feel like there were some consequences of 'no left' that could have been explored that weren't. Lots the expand upon here. Great work.

raoz says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 10:39am

Fun, interesting. Really liked the sounds!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]