April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

One Word RPG

by Clavus - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The intention was to make a small roleplaying game where all the NPCs would say just a single word. The player would derive his goal/quest from just this one word.

That was the intention.

Instead, just have fun slapping pixelated zombies around.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#85Fun3.67
#88Humor3.48
#200Graphics3.67
#303Overall3.43
#337Mood3.17
#574Audio2.68
#624Theme3.47
#890Innovation2.67

Comments

Cybearg says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 10:55pm

Please, please, please keep working on this game! I love the art and the combat, even though it's just hitting space, is very satisfying and fun! I would love to see this expanded into a bigger game with more to it, keeping the awesome aesthetic and quick, slashy combat. Please do!

Also, it's a great game.

Michael Hall says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:49pm

Wow, I really love the art in this game. And I like how natural the combat feels. Also very rich sound effects. Altogether great game, you should continue working on it!

Ninjaxio says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:09pm

It's a great, MINIMALISTIC, Zelda-esque RPG that was fun while it lasted. Hope you'll make it a bit longer!

Nisshoku says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:36am

great style and animations! i also think you should keep on working on it, keeping the one word idea!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:56pm

Combat felt really nice, such a shame the game was not longer because i wanted to play a bit more ;)

Aron says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:56pm

You really should finish it. I like that the only NPC is like "ooooh my goood I cant get further" just because of the obstacle ^^

lanz says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:57pm

Sadly I had white squares in the places of moving characters and quite laggy movement (win8/x64). But slashing part was fun .) Also great sounds!

Ofursnati says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:58pm

I would like to see more of this game. It is really fun and would probably keep me occupied for hours if there was more content. Good job

Vaalen says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:01pm

Nice game but a bit short and there is a lack of features and of various ennemies. I think you should continue to work on it. It could become very good.

Dabuuker says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:03pm

Short but fun. I agree with the others about expanding it, there's definitely potential here.

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:03pm

Noooo i was having fun !! I demand full game !

mortl8324 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:04pm

Very cool game. Hard to give a lot of points cause it was so short, and nothing much happened, but the potential to make a really cool game is here!

allinlabs says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:06pm

Your first intention was very interesting, that's too bad you ran out of time to complete it.

belickim says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:11pm

Just as others said, you have some pretty solid base for a good game; the classic Zelda-esque hack & slash mechanics is always fun.

Axelhein says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:00pm

The game wasn't very long and not really done. This is a shame since what you have is very well done. The idea is really neat and funny and your graphics are very pretty. The combat is also really good. What you have is really good. I just wish there was more of it. You are obviously very good at making games, so I am looking forward to seeing what other things you can make.

donan says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:17pm

Good idea :D
Keep working on it ^^, combat is awesome.

BipoleMoment says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:47pm

I RAN OUT OF TIME

HAVE SOME ZOMBIES

KR-Eddie says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:48pm

Reminded me of my first LD entry xD
I have the same opinion people had with my game: I rather have a small really polished game than a big unpolished game. And this had the perfect amount of content for it's lenght.
Only thing I found slightly annoying was that you have to be perfectly aligned with the zombies to hit them, but I'm guessing that was intended to make it harder xD
You have a really good solid start for a bigger game here. Keep working on it!

Gremlin says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:57pm

What did you use to build it? The controls are solid and I like the smooth way the screen scrolls. Hitting the zombies was a little fiddly, but otherwise a very solid example of what it is.

I like your original idea, but props for shipping something!

Clavus says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 4:12pm

@Gremlin:
I used https://love2d.org/
Essentially a Lua framework around SDL. Great for rapid prototyping and creating games like this.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]