April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Fjoxel

by Pixelsalt - Jam Entry

Might be a bit difficult, but that's kind of the point, to die a lot of times until you learn how to effectively dispose of each enemy.
Maybe worth mentioning, you can't beat it, it just gets more difficult as you progress.

This is my first finished Ludum Dare game aswell :D

You need the Microsoft XNA Framework installed, which you can download at http://goo.gl/yJjBC

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#110Fun(Jam)3.37
#141Theme(Jam)3.65
#203Humor(Jam)2.43
#211Overall(Jam)3.30
#382Graphics(Jam)2.80
#386Mood(Jam)2.58
#406Innovation(Jam)2.52
#452Audio(Jam)1.59

Comments

Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:22am

The perfect Smash TV minimalist remake, complete with snarky comments. Love it. Awesome job making identifiable different enemy AIs that were fun to battle against.

manabreak says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:50am

Reminded me of Binding of Isaac a bit. :)

Ofursnati says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:52am

Reminds me of binding of isaac. Fun and challenging. Good job.

notepid says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:12am

I enjoyed this game :)

timtipgames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:19am

Actually minimalistic. Actually fun.

erdos says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:27am

This game is a lot of fun, very hard, but in a good way, those flashing red block are crazy difficult!

Madball says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:23am

The graphics are minimalistic, though I liked effects, but gameplay easily compensates it. I liked the variety of enemies. Couldn't pass the first level though.
And the starting screen's comments are really opportune.

Xaychru04 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:23am

I love this game! All is very simple and minimalist, but there's a big variety of ennemies that keeps you trying again and again :D

DarkX2 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:39am

A nice small game. I really liked the map, the optionm to move from one room to the next and the exploding particles.

It is amazing how each enemy is different and or an iteration on one you already saw before.

Tainted_Code says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:13pm

It really is like Smash TV! I like it a lot! Well done :)

Atridas says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:20pm

Challenging game with quite solid mechanics. :D

yinbar says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:22pm

It's like a totally stripped down Binding of Isaac, which works great. Crazy challenge, but I love it.

Xatulu says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:48pm

Very challenging, but thats a good thing, keep up the good work! :)

Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:45pm

I love how you with mimimal graphics have made a truly awesome game :D

Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:17pm

I could not launch the game, sorry.
Using windows 8.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:31pm

Forgot that I didnt have XNA installed.
Tried it, it's a really cool game!

Masadow says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:30pm

Very hardcore game. But it's awesomely addictive !

Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:31pm

I love it, it's one of the only good 2D Shooters i've seen this LD.

bowlercaptain says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:31pm

Very nice. Not anything new, but very well done. I would have liked some sounds, but everything else was quite well done.

billknye says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:34pm

Difficult, simple, fun. Good work.

kacperski1 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:53pm

Really good game, but the difficulty is very high :I

8BitPimp says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:58pm

Aww crashes on startup :(

HelkeGames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:59pm

Very minimalist game! Nice one well done :)

dark_hunter says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:33pm

started playing, ... then i looked at the clock and was 1 hour later :D very simple, very entertaining, I had much fun. Good job.

Salamander3 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:30pm

Really liked this, a lot like a heavily stripped down Binding of Isaac. Simple controls, well displayed, good game feel. Nice work.

EatenAlive3 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:31pm

I didn't like the idea of losing 100% of my progress AND the level resetting... but good job D: (The game occasionally slowed down a bit for me.. meep)

AnTiCamPr says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:37pm

Simple, fun, challenging, and is entertaining for way too long :D

FREEZX says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:50pm

Crashes on startup for me

LizEngland says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:21am

Good game, though with one-hit kills it could've used a slower learning curve. Still, the idea/genre is a great choice for a minimalist game!

infinitedog says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:00pm

Binding of square TV!! FUN!

inko says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:16pm

For 48 hours that's insane! ;)
Had a blast and will definitely finish this one day when I have a little bit more time! Very good job!

ChuiGum says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:39am

Very nice, cool death!

Jonapulse says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:57am

Cool little game. Well executed.

May 2, 2013 @ 6:23am

Can't rate this one since I'm on a mac, but I really liked the descriptions people were giving. I sure do miss Smash TV.

May 2, 2013 @ 7:28am

Good game!

TehSkull says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:37am

This game is HAAARD. I gave up before ever beating the tutorial. And this is coming from someone who has 250+ hours logged in Binding of Isaac.

Ray_Mickelino says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:02am

That was really hard. But it was also fun and addictive. Good job!

noddy2006 says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:36pm

So much fun! With a bit more polish and controller support (and maybe slightly more forgiving gameplay!), I could totally see myself playing this game a lot. Awesome :)

GranaDa says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:43pm

Nicely done! Really fun, hard and addictive! Awesome job!

Rafael Sales says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:15pm

Cool game. Congratz!

May 3, 2013 @ 6:35pm

This was very fun, it could have used some more enemies, though. Particle graphics are great, too.

Sylvain.p says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:10pm

Very hard, but pretty fun. Good job.

tankete says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 5:13am

Great first game. A bit too difficult for me. Loved the "explosion" effect. Needs some sound. Would have loved that the controls were swapped. Great job!

Prelucid says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:10pm

I lost at the right middle guy. :/

Tyro says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 4:59am

Really fun gameplay. Things I especially liked:

* the minimap
* the varied enemy behaviors
* the particle effects for enemy and player deaths

The boss of stage one actually seemed easier than those flashing red blocks and the snake thing. Anyway, terrific entry. Well done!

avidgamerNino says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 5:16am

Controls were a bit odd I think. But other than that this was a great game.

May 11, 2013 @ 4:41pm

Challenging but extremely addicting. You did a great job with this!

MinionStudios says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 4:29pm

Fun and really hard. Simple art, very smooth

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]