April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Crated

by Thepattybeast - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Crated is a jumping-based platformer where everything(except the sky) is created out of crates and your goal is to get to the "home" cube(it has an H on it)

GamePlay:
A, D and Space to move;
Escape to pause

Editor:
WASD to move
scroll wheel to switch between blocks
LMB to place block
RMB to break block
Arrow keys to rotate cannons
Escape to pause
the blocks with the red rectangle around them is the player spawn

Libraries:
LWJGL - http://lwjgl.org
Slick2D - http://http://www.slick2d.org

if the game doesnt work try updating java if it still doesnt work post it in the comments and please try to be as specific as possible :)

it should now work on windows!

After seeing all the comments having trouble with the movement heres some hints:

A & D accelerate the player based on the block.
jump height is based on 2 points

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#557Humor2.22
#969Audio1.90
#1158Theme2.77
#1167Fun2.21
#1208Mood1.96
#1213Innovation2.09
#1291Graphics1.89
#1313Overall2.11

Comments

Tenko9 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:47am

Doesn't work

Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:18am

Doesn't work here as well (Windows XP).

Yezu says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:21pm

Works without issues on Fedora 18.

stefenism says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:20pm

Something about a crate man is hilarious to me. Also he gets killed by crates full of ammo.

aglie says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:51pm

does not work ((

Exception in thread "main" java.lang.UnsupportedClassVersionError: com/thepattybeastlabs/ld26/LD26Launch : Unsupported major.minor version 51.0

Thepattybeast says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:08pm

everyone it should now work on windows!
also aglie updating java should fix it

Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:51pm

Can't run due to "Could not find the main class: com.thepattybeastlabs.ld26.LD26Launch"

Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:53pm

It's a good attempt, but you should work on the controls in general. It feels really awkward to not be able to control yourself in the air in a platformer. It also makes even the very first 2 jumps in the game really annoying.

hgouveia says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:59pm

I like the game but too slow and you get bored

Gravity Games says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:59pm

For whatever reason, the game won't even start when I double click on the .jar, and the batch file gives me an error, saying "Java" isn't an executable file. If it helps, I'm on Windows 7.

William Bundy says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:56am

I'm impressed with the platforming physics. The jump-run height trade off would actually make for a deep game, if finished. Is this an issue on my end, but it's playing really slow for me: ubuntu 12.04-3.60ghz? Am I missing a library?

Thepattybeast says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:58am

-Gravity Games: Do you have Java?
-William Bundy: when you are playing(not in a menu) the game will print out (a number) Ticks if that number is close to 40 it is running fine(unless you were talking about FPS)
and no its not a missing library

Drabiter says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:06pm

Game works on linux + openJDK. The jump mechanism is kinda hard to play.

klianc09 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:11pm

The level selection screen is somehow bugged or I don't understand it. I like that everything is crates. If it would be polished a little bit more, especially the controls and the levels, it would be a nice platformer (and maybe beatable too).

Benjamin says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:26am

The game as too much inertia for my tastes, the crate with arrows on them is good idea, but I could not go very far in the game. I was already trying very hard dying every 10 seconds then the game sent me on a black screen with a very punishing "you failed" & no way to restart. It was a bit rude :D Apart of that the platform engine itself is pretty clean.

Bernhard says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:27am

Level 4 was quite tricky but I finally got the timing right.
I couldn't select blocks in the editor with the mouse wheel and was only able to place blocks (WinXP, Java 1.7).
Being able to save mid level is maybe excessive but together with the level editor it feels very complete.

SuperDisk says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:24am

Wasn't much of a game, but more of an editor. Weird.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 3:29am

nice effort -- controls were very sluggish and the editor did not seem to work as expected ( could not use mouse wheel to select diff blocks )

Thepattybeast says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 8:14am

mouse wheel issue is fixed

metaldemon says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 12:54pm

nice platformer, it could have done with a little bit more content though :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]