April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Minimalist's journey towards overlord minimalism

by LionelJitro - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Both win and mac just require a double click to play. No installation required.

PLEASE DON'T CHANGE THE WINDOW SIZE IF YOU WANT TO PLAY THE GAME. I didn't have time to implement scaling so the mechanics break.

Platformer with no platforms (minimalism right there).

I suggest using an xBox controller or similar. I haven't beaten the last level yet, I hope it is possible.

"The world has been repressed by years of increasing government control. A small population moved into the caves to escape the grasp of insidious bills that the people didn't vote for. Government beasts are being seen closer to the bastions of the free. You are Minimalist and you have decided to lead the revolution to minimise the influence the government has on the world."

Engine: Loom
Graphics: Photoshop
Music+Sound effects: Audacity
Map editor: Tiled Map editor
Sprite Packer: Texture Packer
Text Editor: Sublime


******************UPDATE******************

There was a bug that made the game unplayable in level two.
And another that made the music repeat on mac(and only on mac).
I Changed two lines of source code.

Source changes on this commit: https://bitbucket.org/ljitro/ludum-dare-26/commits/3ce95abdd1b7e5b1a47aac698add162f1cb5dbec

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness67%
#208Graphics3.65
#294Humor2.67
#328Audio3.08
#598Mood2.83
#897Overall2.85
#1068Fun2.38
#1209Innovation2.10
#1211Theme2.68

Comments

BradleySmith says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:02pm

Interesting and unique art style, hilarious sound effects. The only thing to say is that starting at the start makes the game quite difficult to grasp. Overall a fantastic effort for 48 hours.

Jellycakes says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:03pm

Really nice game! Enjoyed apart from dying so often because today I am bad at video games. Dat Piano!

gilmore606 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:38pm

Beautiful art, funny sounds, but sending me back to the start every time is a bit much.

kratorspore says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:42pm

The controls felt a bit unresponsive for what you want in a platformer, especially the jump. Wonderful graphics, sound and mood.

Daisuke909 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:43pm

I don't really get the minimalism, and the platforming is kind of awkward... if the real government had those turtles... man, forget nukes. :P

gilmore606 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:37am

I came back to this one just to look at the art again. Are you an artist by trade? That screenshot's so tasty I want to chew on it.

richtx says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:54am

Kind of a kooky pitfall. I had fun with it. Great job.

boboKat says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:46am

Nice art. pretty hard since I'm not a bit platformer player but fun in a minimalist sort of way!

Skulls says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:46am

Hard game, love the artstyle and piano. I think what makes it so hard is that you can't move in the air after you jump.

JokerDen says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:13am

Love the art. I think making platformers is really hard for 48 hours. +

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:15am

Very hard !

omaromeir says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:17am

Difficult game, tight controls, cool sound and hilarious character voices :'D.

ncgames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:22am

a minimal jump for a minimal platformer. :D lovely art and transitions

SonnyBone says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:54am

Great artistic style and nice audio! It's a bit tough but rewarding when you finally beat it.

jacklehamster says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:23am

Nice graphics, ambiance, music and sound effects. The bat part is, for a game where you die instantly when you slightly get touched, starting all the way from the beginning becomes very frustrating. Try to make the game a bit more enjoyable for those who suck at platformers ;-P

MinionStudios says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:54pm

Quirky and interesting idea. I like the art style and the piano music!

HelkeGames says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:26pm

Very minimalist and cool game, i enjoyed it well done :)

Tainted_Code says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:21pm

Really good game, despite the poor animations and controls but hey, it's minimalism, so I'll let you off! ;)

May 4, 2013 @ 11:16am

Sadly it just crashes when I try to start it (Windows XP, 32bit). :(

May 4, 2013 @ 8:51pm

Nice game

nseward says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:59pm

First, going back to the beginning is a bit much and the hit boxes are a bit too big. That said ... oh my god. The music and the graphics are amazing. Super job. I loved it.

May 7, 2013 @ 5:00am

Having to walk across the first screen over and over and over again on every life kills the momentum of the game :\

May 7, 2013 @ 10:58pm

Frustratingly hard! (don't take it too personally, i'm fairly easy to frustrate :) ) The drawings are awesome, the sounds are nice, but having to watch it over and over (and *OVER*) again, every single i miss by a pixel killed the mood pretty fast. Getting killed a gazyllion times can work well, games like super meatboy have proven that, but the key to that is keeping the action fast. Revisiting the first screens that are empty and slow paced breaks the action and gives a very mixed experience of challenge, emotion, frustration and boredom. I like the concept of having the action on the bottom of a large screen, that's an interesting take on the theme. Good job, but with could have easily been so much better!

GranaDa says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 11:47pm

Something feels strange with the controls, maybe a bit unresponsive. Loved the art and audio. Good job!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 4:49am

too many turtle -- grrrrr -- nice effort

May 16, 2013 @ 6:25pm

This is so awesome that you developed for the Ouya.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]