April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Don't Freeze

by rpgwhitelock - Jam Entry

Not a complete project by any means due to lack of time to commit to LD this year. I was encouraged to submit it anyway as the environment & atmosphere is certainly there. I hope you enjoy it for that! Perhaps it's a kind of frozen Proteus right now?

The original design premise: Find warmth. Don't Freeze!


- Unity 4
- Blender.
- freesounds.org. a piano. some processed noise.

Enjoy a little chilly exploration!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#19Mood(Jam)4.03
#32Audio(Jam)3.91
#43Graphics(Jam)4.22
#300Theme(Jam)3.19
#310Overall(Jam)3.00
#403Humor(Jam)1.53
#429Innovation(Jam)2.42
#534Fun(Jam)1.97

Comments

DavidErosa says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:52pm

Man, that dude got me chills! Nice ambiance, a pity you could not finish it!

Jalict says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:53pm

I can't give it more than 3 stars overall. The theme fits very well and Graphics and audio is reaaallly good! Which totally sets the mood. Everything is very limited though, as you have described. So I can't give it that much more. But for what you have done,you have done an excellent job!

Richard Matey says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:57pm

Wow fantastic job of nailing that mood. Immediately from start of game, it felt cold and isolated, I really wanted to huddle close to that fire. Love the looks of the lightmaping hard edge poly and triangles.

psychomonster says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:58pm

Like the Mood and the Sound... to bad that this project is not finished. Maybe that is why I didn't find the goal :D It reminds me for the part in Deadspace3 where you have to stay alive in that Ice-Planet Level...

ilo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:24pm

The visuals and audio create a strong sense of presence. It's a space I'd like to explore further if there was more to see or do (whether in a traditional game sense, or like Proteus, as you said).

FREEZX says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:26am

Great visuals, and atmosphere :)

TheFuntastic says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:40am

I really enjoyed what you've done here. Are you on twitter? I'd enjoy talking further about it...

rpgwhitelock says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:01pm

Thanks for having a look everyone. Perhaps later in May I will use the furthering of this idea as a project to learn some more C# & Unity dev.

re: TheFuntastic. @rpgwhitelock on twitter

Zener says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:10pm

Very good atmosphere and graphics. Get some tima and finish it please

bbrown2 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:33am

Let me join with the rest in saying that the atmosphere is great and that the experience is haunting and beautiful. I'd like to see a full game of this as well.

Shugor says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:42am

Extremely nice atmosphere, I loved the triangle effects!

May 2, 2013 @ 3:12am

I LOVE your visual style!

EdoMiyamoto says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:34am

Very good mood, you have to do something with this !

ZYXer says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 12:44pm

Great graphics and sound. Really makes you feel cold. I hope you make a great project out of this in the future!

jim3wg says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 8:41pm

Very nice game !!

robotality says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 11:18am

Nice mood, but sadly not finished. But really nice ambiance.

MinionStudios says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 6:57pm

Fun and moody! Great art!

May 12, 2013 @ 6:35pm

Noooooooooooo... I was expecting a really great game! I loved the atmosphere, so sad there is no interaction or goal =(

rpgwhitelock says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 12:08am

Just about to start adding some more to this so I can start learning C# . Cleaning up the project a bit right now and trying to think of ideas.

Anyone have any ideas of what they would like to see? My initial thought was something involving staying warm, creating a strong sense of appreciating the warmth, a roguelike gameplay structure, you will freeze eventually whatever happens...

any thoughts or ideas are welcome.

May 15, 2013 @ 9:14pm

Like your idea yes, could be cool to create a very basic crafting system I think, which would encourage you to find things and explore (further every time because you can improve your equipment and stay warm longer)
Just ideas... ;) But I really liked your atmosphere, you NEED to do something with it ^^

rpgwhitelock says ...
Aug 16, 2013 @ 11:19am

Hello.

If you chance upon this page you may be interested in knowing that development of this entry is continuing under the new title "Into this Wylde Abyss".

http://blog.richardwhitelock.com/tagged/intothisWyldeAbyss

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]