April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Fog

by fussycashew - Jam Entry

Fog is a game in which your goal is to connect the nodes of the world to remove the fog and unveil the map hidden underneath.

The minimalism is in both the fog hiding everything but what's necessary to complete the map, as well as the story having very few details, leaving the player to imagine their own storyline.

The game was written in under 72 hours, with all the art, sound effects, and coding done in-house. Music thanks to incompetech.com and Bandetto (hidden fun).

Don't press N on the main menu if you are at risk for seizures.
No reason.

Note: If you're having trouble running the game, try installing the XNA Redistributable.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#23Graphics(Jam)4.42
#36Overall(Jam)3.87
#40Mood(Jam)3.81
#74Audio(Jam)3.66
#138Innovation(Jam)3.38
#154Fun(Jam)3.22
#397Theme(Jam)2.89

Comments

Logster897 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:27pm

Awesome Game! Good graphics and a very fun game.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:52pm

I don't have windows :(

hgouveia says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:55pm

Great Arts, but i couldn't pass the first screen i didn't know what to do, also is a shame there is not source code, +1 for XNA :D

fussycashew says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:57pm

hgouvia: Read the controls page. The goal is to connect the nodes (little orb things) into a chain

ddionisio says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:00pm

I can't run the game...it hangs then windows says it stopped working. I'm on windows 7 x64.

fussycashew says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:06pm

ddioniso: Try installing the XNA redistributibles

hockeygoalie5 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:06pm

Very awesome game! The implied story line was amazing, the mechanic was simple and interesting, but the art was the best!

Daisuke909 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:11pm

This is a really pretty game, although I felt like there was some symbolism that I wasn't getting. :/

ddionisio says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:14pm

Ok, I got it to work. I basically reinstalled the xna redist...odd.

Anyways, I really love the art in this game, really cool. Also the fog is awesome and the levels are well designed such that you don't blindly fall into traps. The subtle glow of the mushrooms is a nice touch.

Mousseto says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:33pm

Beautyful and poetic game! Maybe i would have make the difficulty grow more. Beautiful work!

Markavian says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:03am

Gorgeous game with a solid mechanic. I loved the playback leading to the reveal, felt really natural as part of the gameplay.

Beldarak says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:12am

Beautiful and really charming. Good job !

shohs says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:17am

I really enjoyed the art direction that you took with this game. I also thought that the fog and then the reveal worked out very nicely. The music was fitting, too

Zim the Fox says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:21am

So I pressed N and what is this.

This was a great game and your artist is fan-tas-tic. The only thing this game needs is a readme explaining the controls.

Zedd says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:16am

This is a fantastic game!!!!!!! I loved every moment, All of the art is exquisite!!!

DaGamesta says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:47am

Graphics were nice, music was charming, and it was an interesting concept altogether, Not sure how minimalistic you can really say this is, but I'd say it's enough. I can hardly believe you made all those levels with all that art and design in 72 hours, good job!

Jhelle says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:50pm

Didn't see how it fit the theme. But I found it very soothing and beautiful to look at.

HelkeGames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:51pm

Awesome game! Loved the graphic well done :)

TomboFry says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:51pm

I saw a blog post of this before they all had to be entered - I told myself to keep an eye on this one, so glad I've found it!
Very peaceful, quite relaxing, I definitely enjoyed this one a lot

Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:59pm

The art and ambiance are good, but I think the mechanic lost its appeal after the first few levels. It would have been nice to have some complexity added to it as you progress.

lucasncv says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:02pm

Loved this game, very cute!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:02pm

Very cute game! Had a nice style to it, was fun to play and I felt compelled to finish it. Music was charming, and the whole experience was very warm.

dissonance says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:08am

Very chill game. The art is nicely done. I like how after beating a level you get to see the background revealed to you. Good job!

fullmontis says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:32am

NOOOO it crashes on start up (Windows 7 64bit) :(
I really wanted to try this out...

fullmontis says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:53am

Ok, please disregard my stupidity, it looks like I just needed to download the XNA framework :D
Fantastic game with a really charming mood and interesting mechanic. I love how the fog dissipates when the level ends.

vilya says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:54pm

Something of a flawed masterpiece this, I'd say. Lovely art & sound, nice mechanic and very well put together.

Some suggestions:
1. You shouldn't have to use the mouse to click on next, when all the other controls are on the keyboard.
2. The first light should be activated automatically - bit annoying to have to backtrack because you didn't realise/forgot that you needed to activate it.

May 3, 2013 @ 6:34pm

Good Work!

TheCze says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:36pm

Excellent entry. Finished the game. Really liked the way the finishing of a level reveals the whole picture. Great way to combine a good mechanic with good graphics!

TheCze says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:37pm

Excellent entry. Finished the game. Really liked the way the finishing of a level reveals the whole picture. Great way to combine a good mechanic with good graphics!
Would be nice of those orbs would be automatically be activated when you move past them, I forgot to activate them somtimes and had to walk back the same way.

Sestren says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 1:17am

I would really like to try this game out, but I'm actually getting malicious software warnings from Google Chrome, for some reason.

r3d5 says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 6:04am

Dawww! What a great ending! I loved the game thanks for making it!

fussycashew says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:49pm

Sestren: Chrome warns you when you download a zip containing an exe from a "non common" site. You shouldn't get the warning if you download it from the mirror hosted on Dropbox instead of my domain.

Tifu says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 1:36pm

Great game. Love the feeling of watching the art appear once you beat a level and realising what you've been wandering through =D

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]