April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Darkness

by Liikeaturtle - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Collect the light orbs to prevent yourself from falling to deep into the darkness...

Score is measured by amount of time you survive. Hope you like it and have fun!

extra note: sound doesn't work :(

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#872Mood2.57
#1043Humor1.44
#1061Audio1.41
#1128Theme2.84
#1147Innovation2.21
#1275Graphics1.96
#1313Fun1.72
#1326Overall2.00

Comments

hockeygoalie5 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:12pm

Movement was annoying and the lack of sound made it dull quite early. The collision was also a bit off. Good concept, though.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:13pm

The game ran well for me and the gameplay was easy to understand. The controls were a bit frustrating because when I hold down a movement button it doesn't continue moving in that direction until after about a second. So I have to rapidly press the directions to move quickly. I survived for about a minute but couldn't find the door.

HunLyxxod says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:18pm

I had a bug with the controls: when I am near a wall, the controls are inverted. I don't know if this is wanted.

Could have been better if the controls were more fluid. There is a 1 second delay between a key press and the character movement. This is quite frustrating.

Priapus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:21pm

Because each time when you move the a new screen, you can easily cheat the system by going back and forth between two until and orb spawns.
Controls for moving are really hard and many times I floated through obstacles.

Hamumu says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:24pm

I had the same problem where the controls would reverse sometimes when you touch a wall. Weird! Seems like there's a strategy in hanging near a corner to generate new rooms fast as possible... although I forgot to check whether backtracking gave you the same room or a random one. I made it 90 seconds!

Michael Hall says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:31pm

Buggy movement/collision. Also I think there was supposed to be sound, but I didn't hear anything. I didn't realize the point of the game either.

TehSkull says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:31pm

I'm not sure that this game is possible without cheating as Priapus described. Interesting game nonetheless.

invaderJim says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:34pm

I agree with the others that the controls are a little tough to get used to, but you've got the workings of a minimalized dungeon here. Hope you had fun making it :D Keep at it!

ChrisGaudino says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:36pm

Cool idea. I had the same problem with the slow controls, and sometimes they inverted when near an object.

free_napalm says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:37pm

I felt like losing was not my fault, there just were no more orbs in reach.

jmf says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:37pm

As others said, collisions are off. Nice concept though and fun to play.

Blinked says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:38pm

Movement is a bit annoying, and the collision is very annoying. It was a nice concept and fit the theme fairly well, but not well executed.

lytedev says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:38pm

Collisions tended to be odd. Random tiles were very haphazard. Game was extremely easy. Mood was great and I like the idea, but it could be better executed. Even in 48 hours. =)

netguy204 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:40pm

I would have tried it if you had a mac or linux build.

@SamPotasz says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:57pm

I liked the mood of this game :)

fullmontis says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:01pm

I like the idea but there are a few problems. Movement was stiff and unresponsive. Graphics are kinda dull and the absence of sound makes it lose a lot of charm.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:02pm

I don't have windows :(

Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:03pm

Good effort.

quill18 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:05pm

Nice concept!

TaleLore says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:14pm

Pretty unpolished as far as ludum dare games go, but I do like the idea that your character fades out as time goes on.

KunoNoOni says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:21pm

Good use of theme. Neat concept. sometimes the grey squares would overlap when they spawned. Fix the controls, the overlap, add some spit and polish and you'd have yourself a great little game. I give props for finishing, and for giving it a good effort!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:25pm

Really annoying movement. Why can't I move diagonally, and why is it not a constant movement? I also had no idea what to do after I found the first door... there were no "lights" around me that I could see.

voidstar69 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:33pm

It took me a few seconds to work out that I needed to use the WASD keys rather than the mouse or arrow keys. The player character is very dark, almost invisible against the background. I did not hear any sound, although there seems to be a music resource file.
I played this game for a minute, but did not find the light in any of the rooms that I visited.
This prototype holds the promise of a much better game.

shohs says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:59pm

Interesting concept, but the execution could have been better. The movement was jittery, and the collision detection was a bit off (although when it did happen, I liked how it was kind of bouncy). Some sound also would have made it more interesting, as others have said. It definitely has potential, though.

On a side note, it looked like your source code, and it looks like this should be platform independent, though I could be wrong.

Prudiiarca says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:49pm

sorry, but it was too bugging for my opinion. the controls weren't smooth, i had to write my own batch file for launching and couldn't find any light orb.

May 3, 2013 @ 6:50pm

Moving mechanics were a bit annoying but disregarding that it's a nice game for 48 hours.

geckojsc says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:08pm

Nice idea! Congrats on finishing and releasing! I don't have much criticism aside from what has already been mentioned (annoying controls, bad collision, etc.) Maybe you could have kept the input simpler and just set the player velocity when a key is pressed, and reset it to 0 when a key is released?

I'm sure you're allowed to fix the music if you made it during the compo and it was supposed to be working, as long as you're not adding new features. If you fix it, just leave a note in a readme or the description or something, and re-upload the game. :)

May 8, 2013 @ 6:11am

I can't leave a rating on this one since I don't have Windows.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]