April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Filters Are Us

by cyanpelican - Jam Entry

Dang, real life gets in the way *a lot*!
Hooray, finals week!


Well, nonetheless, here's what we've got so far:

It's basically a simple puzzle game where you hold a flashlight and walk around and try to avoid bumping into walls. Different colors of flashlights make different walls transparent so that the player can walk through them.

Only a few levels are done, but at least it demonstrates the mechanics of the game. Later, I'll add an additional link to an updated version with more levels.

As well, we later plan to implement 3D graphics and gameplay to make it even more fun...

Credits:
Kevin Parker
Tim Knutson
Darin Stoker

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#127Theme(Jam)3.69
#185Innovation(Jam)3.25
#356Fun(Jam)2.69
#367Overall(Jam)2.88
#505Graphics(Jam)2.25
#1800Coolness24%

Comments

CagedRat says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:02am

Why K?

cyanpelican says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:29am

K as in "OK"

Aceria says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:42am

Sorry, I don't have what's needed to play a .jar file so I'll move on to the next game to rate, but the concept sounds interesting :)

fullmontis says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:44am

I love this concept, and very well executed. You should develop this further.

free_napalm says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:40pm

Good mechanic, but as you said it needs more.

Lafolie says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:45pm

Bring on the brown torch

cyanpelican says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:21pm

This is way off-topic, but my webserver says that Mac, Windows, and Linux have all downloaded this game so far. Cool!

netmute says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:21pm

I have no Java installed, sorry :(

May 6, 2013 @ 4:57am

This was definitely an interesting mechanic, and I could see the puzzles getting complex very quickly. I agree that it needs more, or to be worked into a larger game. In any case, I hope you keep working on it!

Blinked says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 4:05am

Very cool little puzzle game, nice job :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]