April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Come Along With Us

by HackThePanda - Jam Entry

This game was done by @GMShivers, an artist, and @HackThePanda, a coder.
Ed Emberley is a children's artist.
The subtheme we chose for ourselves was 'Childhood Dreams'
The game is about following simple childhood dreams and avoiding the pitfalls of life no matter what life throws at you.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness68%
#76Humor(Jam)3.15
#264Mood(Jam)2.97
#281Audio(Jam)2.89
#332Fun(Jam)2.74
#374Overall(Jam)2.87
#401Innovation(Jam)2.54
#410Graphics(Jam)2.71
#466Theme(Jam)2.62

Comments

Aiji777 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:01am

I was about to play the game, but then my computer stopped me. It said that your digital signature has expired. The game can apparently run with unrestricted access. I don't full know what that means, but hopefully you will understand.

Bloated Hippo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:47am

I ran over babies each time :)

HackThePanda says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:21am

@Aiji777 That's normal, you have to give LWJGL permission to run. Java Applets tend to be overly needy with permisssions, sorry about that.
@Bloated Hippo
haha :D I should have made it more clear that babies don't slow you down though and can be run over, the same with red wagons and trees.

RandomSpark says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:44pm

It is very fun game, thanks =)

Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:15pm

Why is a kid dreaming of driving a school bus off a cliff? Anyways, a bit charming but also very limited. Also sad at the lack of Brontosaurus in the actual game.

HackThePanda says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:49pm

@RandomSpark :)
@AestheticGamer Interpret it as you will ;) Yeah, things got cut a lot around crunch time

HelkeGames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:30pm

Very fun game! I enjoyed it :D

Alex Rose says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:33pm

I WILL follow my dreams.

I love the little motivational game over screens. This is the type of thing I stick as my default webpage. Good way to the start the day.

Also, the wolf is hilarious.

Jhelle says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:49pm

Simple and enjoyable :). The collision felt a bit off on the objects.

HackThePanda says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:54pm

@AlexRose Hah I'm glad you enjoyed it :)
@Jhelle Thanks! Yeah, if the bus is moving too fast my shotty/quick collision code misses it. Also it only checks the front of the bus. I should have just done AABBs instead.

Mesene says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:55pm

At least original :D

kunzbe says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:06pm

it was a little bit short, but the music kept the mood up. :)

HackThePanda says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:09pm

@Mesene Thanks ^_^
@kunzbe I tried to find a balance between too short and too tedious for the casual LD voter to want to finish

whiteravens says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:06pm

Pretty funny seeing the bus jump over stuff :))

psychomonster says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:14pm

hehe southpark bus, babies... crocodiles :D Like it!

HackThePanda says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:17pm

@whiteravens I'm glad you enjoyed it!
@psychomonster What could be better? Thanks :)

LizEngland says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:35am

Cute, whimsical little game :)

May 1, 2013 @ 10:32am

Pretty fun and I like the message. I really liked the minimal children's art which seems apt as a tribute to an artist who worked in similar vein. Could have used more variety but as a game jam effort,nobody will complain on that.

negativeview says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:17pm

Kinda fun. The biggest complaint I had is that it was too hard to build back up momentum because of the arc of the jump. I get that it's hard to make the jumps when you're going fast. That's how it should be, but it should be easier to get going again when you slow down, not harder.

HackThePanda says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:31pm

@LizEngland Thanks ^_^
@lightnarcissus As you can imagine, there was more planned but it had to be cut haha :D I'm glad you liked what was in.
@negativeview I think I understand what you mean and I will take notes.

nddrylliog says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:41pm

Alrighty! Trying to give honest feedback.

The graphics remind me of old PC games so it actually brings back good memories to me, even though it's probably going to be a problem for most people, I actually appreciated it.

At first, it was hard to understand what exactly was negative and positive but after a few games I did get it. The game ran very smoothly and I appreciated the fact that it was on a curve - so you get extra points on innovation from me.

I would've loved to see some more organic movement from the character, ie. to make the equations behind movement a bit less visible. Add randomness? Interpolation? Something :)

HackThePanda says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:43pm

@LizEngland Thanks ^_^
@lightnarcissus As you can imagine, there was more planned but it had to be cut haha :D I'm glad you liked what was in.
@negativeview I think I understand what you mean and I will take notes.

HackThePanda says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:49pm

Interesting, my comment was sent twice. Good game wordpress
@nddrylliog I definitely should have put better instructions, probably be biggest regret outside of not having the dinosaur in the actual game. And alright, thank you, I've been needing to put more randomness in my games for a while, it hasn't become part of my style yet. Now that someone has said it I will definitely try harder at that :) Thank you again for the comment!

Hayawi says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:18pm

Meh. Also the jumping needs a bit of work.

Dmitrix says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:20pm

I really like your name. XD

ZYXer says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 4:04pm

Cute, simple game. I like the subtheme you chose. But the difficulty seems a bit arbitrary.

tsb says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 4:12pm

Quite a funny little gem :)
Loved the tune, and nograts for the graphics really loved it!

messiano says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 4:43pm

Jumping felt a bit weird. Beat the game in the first try, perhaps it could be longer (randomly generated for best results?).

MrBlade says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 3:38pm

Great game! Love the art style and the sounds. Keep it up! :)

MinionStudios says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 6:50pm

Follow you dreams... off a cliff. AWESOME!

drkrunk says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 5:43pm

I liked this, the music is catchy. Good job!!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]