April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Super Sword and Shuriken

by Ravenous Games - Jam Entry

Fun, rapid paced, dungeon crawler. The team at Ravenous Games developed their first game in Unity3D, for our first Ludum Dare! Created by a team of 3. Hope you guys enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#39Graphics(Jam)4.26
#61Fun(Jam)3.58
#144Overall(Jam)3.47
#179Mood(Jam)3.25
#239Audio(Jam)3.00
#402Innovation(Jam)2.53
#411Theme(Jam)2.84
#2059Coolness0%

Comments

MaxSzlagor says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:57am

Wow! Graphics look fantastic. Enjoyed playing through the different rooms. Didn't like having to fight enemies a second time when backtracking. Do the doors open randomly?

I wondered how I could go into some of the doors that didn't open. Would like to hear some sound effects.

Continue did not work for me - it just hung on the last screen (I was on a boss like creature wielding 2 swords). Awesome job!

_Rilem says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:54am

It's a bit difficult, but it definitely looks cool!
I instantly died when I got to the boss, because I had 1 heart left. Maybe you could make monsters drop hearts at random to replenish your health.

Continue didn't work for me also.
But great job overall. :)

Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:24pm

Thanks for the comments guys. SFX didn't work on the web version only. We didn't realize Unity couldn't load XML resources in the web player. Also quickly patched that glitch with the restart button on the game over screen.

graytest says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:55am

Great graphics, but quite difficult. Some sounds effects would've been nice.

Hatscat says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:18am

So nice! It's a great game!
but a little bit frustrating at the end, when I enter in the boss room a flying monster kill me every time while changing room

Awennor says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:01am

May not be the most innovative and doesn't really do much with the theme but... Amazing! Best graphics so far!!! Truly awesome! Will try to borrow some ideas when designing enemies! Thank you for this entry!!!

May 1, 2013 @ 1:17pm

Beautiful !
I really like the dynamism !
Great job

DaveDobson says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:53pm

Great look and feel. Fairly difficult - I'd have preferred a more gentle difficulty ramp so I could figure out the combat. Also didn't know if stars or sword did more damage - it would have been nice to know that, or to have some visual representation of damage to enemies (even just changing color or something). But very neat; I liked the audio track and animations very much.

Travis Irby says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:27pm

Fun game! Cool art, good controls well done :) Saw this in the spine email, cool that you used it, Ive been really liking it.

poohshoes says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:52pm

If I stood at the entrance and spammed sword and ninja star I couldn't get hit.

EdoMiyamoto says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:57am

Very very good, a few bugs, sometimes a bit hard (mainly because of bugs, i know hard is a minimum in dungeon !), i played 5 times in a row, it's very good !

Prelucid says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 8:51pm

Awesome game. Mouse aiming was kinda hard on my laptop, but other than that, good stuff.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]