April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

RPG

by jcvsmc - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Minimalist Text RPG

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness68%
#64Fun3.74
#75Audio3.67
#127Overall3.71
#142Theme4.03
#196Mood3.38
#199Humor2.93
#871Innovation2.71
#883Graphics2.62

Comments

Zekyon says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:18pm

Woah! very minimalist and classic game, very very good!

FenrisWolf says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:19pm

I really liked it! It seemed pretty balanced from what I saw, which is always a good thing. One bug: I noticed you would kill enemies and they would have negative HP, but other than that, the game worked perfectly. And that isn't a game breaking bug or anything to begin with. Well done!

CogComp says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:19pm

Truly a minimalistic RPG!

Gama11 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:24pm

I really liked it and played it for a surprisingly long time. This is probably as basic as a RPG can get, so you nailed the theme.

The difficulty curve seemed rather steep. You have to grind quite a bit in order to be able to hope to make any progress at all in the second area. Too much IMO.

The resolution seems unnecessarily small to me.

My favourite part is probably the music, which was incredibly well-done.

JaJ says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:29pm

Everything that needs to be there is there, and very little more. Good job!

DkCub23 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:34pm

This is my favorite so far! So simple, so addicting.

h2n0 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:39pm

Very good game loves all of the joke weapons ;)

TijmenTio says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:18pm

After 10 minutes of playing still not past the town sewers.
Other than that really nice game and I think I'll play some more later on :)

Spanfile says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:48pm

Needs more options for fights, pressing the Attack button all the time is boring.

invaderJim says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:54pm

Love it! An RPG you can just jump right into and start playing. Good job :D

dasrkrain says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:57pm

Wow! I spent WAY too much time on that game! :)

Great job! Best game I've played so far!

Martze says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:07pm

Not bad. The game would be a lot more playable if it allowed you to use the keyboard, as there's quite a bit of grinding involved.

badlydrawnrod says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:13pm

Like having a dungeon master in my home. Progression needs a bit of tweaking, but I played it for quite a while. Nice.

Hiku says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:15pm

Boring after 10 minutes, but very cool minimalist game :)

SmilingCat says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:04pm

I found this pretty addicting. Good job.

atraxgames says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:06pm

Dungeon Master Simulator! Speed up a little the progression and it will be perfect.

Polar says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:20pm

Absolutely loved this game - I literally just played it for the last couple of hours :) The only bug I found was that against a couple of much stronger enemies (relative to me), I managed to heal them with magic - my damage was negative :P Still, that's probably the result of using harmful magic on the undead.

HelkeGames says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:24pm

Nice game, very minimalist, well done! :)

loxo says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:55pm

It definitely fits the theme, interesting idea.

Ray_Mickelino says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 2:14am

This is by far, my favorite game so far. I loved it. It fit the theme really well. I hope that yours does really well in the competition. Well done.

manax says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 3:16am

Very nice. I was thinking about doing a minimal RPG, but I like your way better than what I was thinking. ;)

Couple minor bugs:
The attack button doesn't ungray, until you move the mouse away.
HP overlaps your MP, in town, when HP >= 1000.
Game balance could use some attention. Even at level 10, it seemed it was better for me to grind against the sewers than struggle with the much stronger monsters in the Dark Woods.

I think I spent WAY too much time playing this... ;)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]