April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Buried

by danielcmessias - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Here's my game, it's called Buried!

My original idea was to have a geometric styled game where you ascend up falling blocks. It then warped into a survival game whereby the Greek Gods are trying to bury you in the underworld.

It was a lot of fun to make, and turned out pretty ok.

In retrospect picking a fight with the God of the Underworld wasn't such a smart idea.
In order to escape being buried alive you'd better start jumping.


When the Gods are keeping you down, you should dig deep
When the Gods are keeping you down a hole, you should climb, fast.

Controls:
WASD - Move
Double tap W to double jump
Avoid the Gods attacks
Don't hit falling blocks
Ascend out the hole
Collect Suns of Apollo to attack back at the Gods

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness93%
#210Humor2.89
#363Graphics3.32
#368Audio3.02
#501Mood2.95
#526Fun3.02
#634Overall3.10
#675Innovation2.98
#1169Theme2.76

Comments

Mega1mpact says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 10:03pm

Is it me or is this game pretty damn hard.

Apr 28, 2013 @ 10:12pm

Oh it's hard alright

TheThirdOne says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:25am

I believe you took my music. You should give me credit.

TheThirdOne says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:56am

I may be wrong though. I looked at music.mp3 in your jar and that is not that same as mine. I think it may be a loading error by libgdx. My music is also called music.mp3.

Chman says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:18am

Hard but fun. Nice music too.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:38pm

Yup I don't have your music at all. Their is a glitch with libgdx whereby if you have the same file name in the same directory it seems to replace them. I've had this happen with textures as well, I can assure you it's my own terrible midi music I created using a generator!

numpad says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:16pm

Getting really hard. Not really fun to play due boring movement. But great idea :)

Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:23pm

My favorite moment when i understand i can double-jump. Great game!

rogueNoodle says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:24pm

Pretty cool - it was a little slow for me on my Mac, so I'll try it again on my PC at home before rating. Love the art and the idea, though.

JohnnySix says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:13pm

It got a chuggy after a lot of blocks were coming down, and I spawned a load of blood with the mouse.

Dig the concept, so bonus points for humour and style.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:21pm

Nice game but it's the music that really stands out. Well done with that! A little too hard perhaps and the movement controls could be a little easier by overall a great concept.

sparkleswirl says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:25pm

Doesn't work when I double click it and when running in console/command prompt it says I can't find or load main class Buried.jar. =(

Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:04pm

Which OS are you running it on?

Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:21pm

As people mentioned it's kinda hard. It could help if you were given some sort of guide to where blocks would land. Otherwise your eyes are all over the place. But nice mood, and the shaking effect was cool.

Muu? says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:41am

Hard and humorous. :D
Nice background music.

AlanZucconi says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:36pm

Hahah we actually had a similar idea! :-)
I wanted to "fight Gods" as well with my "Tower of Pixel".
But didn't have time to expand that part the way I wanted!

AaronYip says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:26am

Loving the concept :D

fullmontis says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:22am

Well that's hard... I think you should make the character jump at least two blocks since this way it is too easy to get stuck in a pit and die. Still, very humorous and fun to play!!!

May 1, 2013 @ 3:13pm

You can jump two blocks, you can double jump! :)

Dietrich Epp says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:08pm

It's kinda hard because a couple falling blocks can easily put you in a pit two levels deep, which you can't jump out of. And the only way it becomes shallower is if a block falls on your head! Maybe if there were more of a pattern to the blocks, e.g., if they didn't randomly make deep pits, it would be more manageable. Pretty graphics and nice concept, though.

geckojsc says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:25pm

Awesome soundtrack, frantic and fun idea!

Was frustrating to get stuck in a gap, and the player hitbox made it very hard to jump around a falling block to get on top of it without taking damage. Also the game got slower after a few minutes of playing, I guess it could have done with some more optimisation. :)

Despite that, it's an enjoyable and quite polished game, makes me want to keep playing!

Is there a way to reset the game without closing/opening? There's times when I know I've lost, but I have to wait to be killed before I can try again.

May 1, 2013 @ 8:01pm

The only way to reset is to wait until you die I'm afraid! I think getting stuck in pits can be frustrating when you are on a run, I definitely agree the placement of the falling blocks needs to be structured and not random. Thanks for your comments!

ZYXer says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 1:16pm

Really like the graphics, the shaking gives you sense of the power you are up against. A bit on hard side I must say. Is it even winnable? :D

May 5, 2013 @ 1:24pm

Awesome. I've enjoyed this game very much. I'm feeling scared when i play this game, every falling block could be the one who kills you. Very challenging! Beautiful entry! Well done!

Fnkee says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 1:38pm

Interesting concept. I'd love to see how far I was from killing the God (if it's possible). Also, a way of escaping those 3x1 pits would be great! Nevertheless, I enjoyed it!

May 5, 2013 @ 8:47pm

It is possible to win, there's a lovely end game graphic to see if you do! Whether it's humanly possible to do I have no idea, I certainly can't do it! Thanks for the comments!

alts says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 8:57pm

Fun game. The addition of double jump greatly expanded the number of strategies for actually surviving in the game. I'd be interested to see how the game plays if you could jump onto a block while it's falling and not be hurt. Additionally, a way to give up when you get stuck in a pit would be nice. Good work.

angelk says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 9:10pm

Nice! There's a decent amount of polish on this one. It feels "complete" with the graphics, audio, and gameplay. I wasn't able to kill the God, I wonder if you can?

PhaZ90771 says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 5:41am

Interesting idea. The controls felt unresponsive though.

Msquirrel says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 9:47am

Nicely done, good job

tankete says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 1:18am

Fun! But got hard quickly! Nice idea.

multikorv says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 11:02am

Really nice! Until I got stuck in a hole. :) It was really addictive.

goerp says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 3:06pm

Well, I thought the music wasn't that bad.
I liked the game, I think you have something there you can build upon. Interesting game mechanic.
The biggest thing for me to adjust is the controls. They should be smoother for such a fast paced game.
But well done.

Purplescape says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 11:34pm

I like the graphics and the idea of climbing out from being buried by the gods. A lot of urgency there. I tried many times but it always became impossible. Cool concept!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]