April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Permanent Destination

by NegativeZero - Jam Entry

We decided interpret the theme in the setting: a submarine. Submarines are built to be quite minimalistic as they need to be compact yet functional. Basically the premise of the game is that you have to single handedly fix a sinking submarine, namely three components of: The fuel, the battery and the engine, even while they continue to break. There's very little gameplay(you might even say... MINIMALISTIC ;D), but what you have to do is rather hard.

Unfortunately I got a bit... distracted... and did almost no work when I should have been. The gameplay is all there, but there's no polishing and in the sub hardly feels like you're moving.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2059Coolness0%

Comments

JonRB says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:50am

I tend to avoid content that isn't 'Web' on LD (Because I'm a terrible person, and I like not having to clear out my downloads folder after each LD), but it looked good enough and the file wasn't terribly big.

Sadly, when I downloaded it I found myself unable to run the .jar file. I opened it from the command line and it spat out :
Exception in thread "main" java.lang.UnsatisfiedLinkError: no lwjgl in java.library.path

Does that mean I need to install something? If so, please provide links.

Andrei Barsan says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:06pm

The creator probably needs to also export the lwjgl dependencies when creating the JAR.

hardycore says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:50pm

It ain't runnin....

Jonny D says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:16pm

I wanted to play this... :(

TijmenTio says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:26pm

I was really looking forward to this but I couldn't get it to run :(

NegativeZero says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:51pm

Oh gosh, I can't fix it from where I am right now. You guys will have to wait a few days :(

TheSarcastic says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:33pm

Doesn't run... Good graphics though

deepnight says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:19pm

I couldn't play it :(
Too bad, it looked really nice! Fav'ed for later check.

May 7, 2013 @ 5:22pm

Sadly it doesn't start on my Win XP (32-bit) laptop. Shows no error message though. Will check later.

Gremlin says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 6:14am

Can't play it because the Jar won't run. :(

lorancou says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 12:58pm

Does not run for me either (Win 7 64 bit, latest Java I believe):
D:\Temp>java -jar PermanentDestination.jar
Exception in thread "main" java.lang.UnsatisfiedLinkError: no lwjgl in java.library.path
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadLibrary(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.Runtime.loadLibrary0(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.System.loadLibrary(Unknown Source)
at org.lwjgl.Sys$1.run(Sys.java:73)
at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
at org.lwjgl.Sys.doLoadLibrary(Sys.java:66)
at org.lwjgl.Sys.loadLibrary(Sys.java:95)
at org.lwjgl.Sys.<clinit>(Sys.java:112)
at org.lwjgl.opengl.Display.<clinit>(Display.java:132)
at ludum.dare.Main.init(Main.java:112)
at ludum.dare.Main.<init>(Main.java:106)
at ludum.dare.Main.main(Main.java:583)

Sparrow says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 4:39pm

It doesn't run, I don't get an error.
Java runs in the background never showing itself.
Don't have this problem with other java games

dannycalleri says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 7:25am

Got an error when running the game :(

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]