April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Run or Splash

by Yacodo - Jam Entry

Minimalism... Well, then.

Run or Splash : You play as a potato and run for your life.

You have to reach the Next case in time, increase score by running on the maximum number of tile in the minimum amout of time possible. But take care, after you leave a tile it disappear.

(Use your arrows keys, Enter to continue, m for mute, space/p for pause)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#108Humor(Jam)2.93
#275Fun(Jam)2.88
#304Theme(Jam)3.18
#340Overall(Jam)2.94
#376Innovation(Jam)2.62
#381Audio(Jam)2.32
#386Mood(Jam)2.58
#446Graphics(Jam)2.56

Comments

Aevek says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 10:25pm

Bizarrely addictive...

ndssia says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:14am

Cool - would like to see some monsters or traps perhaps :)

Well done.

Selliato says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:16am

The leaderboard make this game very addictive.

aquilicoco says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:41pm

Splash!!

Good work.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:18am

I need to potate more tiles!

saggiosoft says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:31am

A little bit frustrating...

mort96 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:09pm

For some reason, this is quite addictive..

rwos says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:45pm

Well this doesn't have anything to do with minimalism, does it? (But then again, this is a really stupid theme, every game here is "minimalistic", so... I don't count that against you) I like the game - it's simple, yet still surprisingly fun to play. Audio is nice, graphics are nice - good work!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:38pm

YES!!!!! Potato AND minimalism, way to go!!!

nSun says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:14pm

A potato through a maze ruined chased by a rabid vegetarian shark... I hesitate between WTF and why not ?... (humor +5)
Well done, you should be proud !

brodavi says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 10:09pm

Good game! I think I would like it if it wasn't possible to clear the level unless the player got some minimum number of tiles cleared. Bonus points for clearing more than the minimum, super bonus for clearing the maximum.

Xanjos says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 12:34pm

Pretty good game. Could be better with some hazards or give players an incentive (like an extra score bonus on top of what you already get from moving from tile to tile) to traverse all the tiles in a level.

mildmojo says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 11:07pm

Nice work! I didn't realize that the timer was resetting on every level at first, so I was rushing through. Then I realized it was more about walking over as many tiles as possible before exiting.

The potato-eating shark with the McDonald's logo on its dorsal fin was great.

It would be cool to see other kinds of obstacles or challenges, or maybe emphasize tile completion by rewarding (or requiring) a certain number of tiles before the exit opens up.

Tsuki_Usagi says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 2:30am

fun but a bit too easy... xD'''

Brassawiking says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 3:15pm

Star-rating on success and level selection would have made so much for this one. But it is a good start to work with =)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]