April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

20 Seconds

by KayZ - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This game features multiple minimalistic games. Each game lasts 20 seconds and then the next game is randomly started.

Sound works in Chrome and Firefox. No sound in IE, sorry.

To play, you only need a mouse and sometimes even nothing.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#255Humor2.75
#794Innovation2.81
#816Mood2.62
#843Fun2.67
#929Overall2.82
#931Audio2.00
#956Theme3.09
#965Graphics2.52

Comments

Eternal_Rest says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:26am

I can dig it, other than the waiting and the achievements it could be interesting, but I cant stand waiting for no reason.

Tyro says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:38am

Pretty great idea with a lot of potential. Like Eternal_Rest, I wish it lacked the waiting intervals. I'd enjoy it more if it was more fast paced and changed to another game immediately after losing one. Minor nitpicks aside, 'twas fun.

YM says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:50am

I kept losing the balls because my mouse was in the wrong place as the 20 seconds ticked down.
Losing balls quickly combined with the occasional 20 seconds of indended nothing meant about 70% of the time I was doing absolutely nothing feeling quite frustrated :(

I like idea of doing something new every 20 seconds, but the implementation was off, too much waiting around.

KayZ says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:30pm

Thanks for the feedback :).

The waiting was pretty much inspired by the XKCD comic #1190 (Time). But you are probably right, too much waiting for a game.

@Tyro: That's a great idea. switching to another game after losing all balls. I should have implemented it that way.

HelkeGames says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:51pm

Pretty game! Love the idea :)

kewry says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:09pm

This is not the sort of anti-idle I'd enjoy since there is no control over what I can do and when I'll do it, it is nevertheless a nice idea

cahman says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:13pm

Neat idea, and a whole slew of games in one! The transitions between games can be rather abrupt. I'd often watch in despair as the game changed suddenly and the ball for the new game went sailing off into the void.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:23am

This is great! I got 360 points. Waiting is fine, people are wimps :)

I would like you to set up google analytics if you haven't already: I'd like to know how long people spend on the game. Also, world-wide leader board please.

Something else that's neat about this game is that later, you could implement more mini-games and throw them in without telling anyone. Only the most patient players would be able to discover the truth.

Did you ever play VESPER5?

KayZ says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:47pm

@arrogant.gamer
Good suggestion, I've added GA to the page.

World-wide leader board would take a while. It's all client side at the moment so it would be easy to cheat by submitting fake scores.

I was planning to add more games but ran out of time. But more games can be added and I probably will once the judging has ended.

Haven't even heard about VESPER5 until now, but that game is much more extreme about waiting :)

@cahman
smoother transitions is something I wanted to do and might add later

KayZ says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:29pm

Oh, I just discovered I have a bug in the breakout game. The blocks were supposed to return once every block was destroyed.

Also, in case no one has realized: Every 250 points the amount of balls increases. (In the pong-like games only after you lost all your balls)

Husky says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:12am

Interesting idea!
And so humor lol.

hypp says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:39am

Quite nice, this one!

hamrath says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:40pm

I liked it, but as everyone else said: too much waiting.

SmallDeadGuy says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:41pm

I got bored of waiting and decided to just go negative score. Got like 3 achievements. Kind of ok, not exactly original until I got to the 4 pong paddle bits. The sounds were ok but some music would be nice

larb says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:53pm

I also dislike the waiting parts. Everything else is great. I really liked it.

Tom 7 says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 1:22am

14 achievements, but I didn't understand the waiting game!

badlydrawnrod says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 5:14pm

The waiting with blank screens is frustrating. At first I thought the game was broken.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]