April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Less is More

by therayman94 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#344Innovation3.40
#389Humor2.50
#590Theme3.50
#958Audio1.95
#1037Overall2.69
#1039Fun2.42
#1169Mood2.11
#1275Graphics1.96
#1316Coolness47%

Comments

Suese says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:42am

ClassNotFoundException

Sh1rogane says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:33pm

Same here ClassNotFoundException ld48.MyApplet

richtx says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:06am

Second screen really ramps up the difficulty. I went for points right away, then found the minimalist angle :). Nice one. Lost audio sometime during play.

Almax27 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:14am

Runs for me. Certainly less is more, good idea but frustrating controls and cheap deaths spoils the fun. Enjoyed the simple 'done in paint' graphics thought and the walk animation was something to behold :D

basspenguin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:43am

I like how I instinctively collected coins then I was wondering why I died... lol

Nice way to flip things on end. Digit!

JonRB says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:43am

Pretty nice game, the graphics left something to be desired although I suppose they were true to the theme. There is a tiny bug on the 'you scored too many points' screen where the arrows don't line up with the options but apart from that everything seemed to work just fine.

orange08 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:35pm

Nice idea but the glitchy-fast movement and mismatched graphics didn't do the game much good.

Blinked says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:57am

I did the same things as basspenguin. It's funny when you play a game with backward mechanics lol xD

xandy says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:21am

i like your game idea but the controls were a bit hard :(

eedok says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:22am

got 716: http://puu.sh/2Lcpl.png

messiano says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:28am

I liked the idea, but the movement didn't felt very natural. Second level was a bit too hard!

Tyro says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:28am

It's very difficult to hit enemies with the punch. It might be better to create some sort of object actually in front of the player to prevent him from being repeatedly hit while attacking.

Things I liked:

* the novel concept
* how the environment's colors changed when you collected too many points.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]