April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.


Back to Browse Entries

Bouncy Ball Extreme

by Ray_Mickelino - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Boing Boing! In this adventure, you control a tiny ball, whose sole purpose is to destroy as many red balloons as possible. Be careful not to break the green ones though. Good luck, and have fun!

Hold the down button while falling to gain speed and height.

Hold the down button while rising to lose speed and height.

If you get stuck on the floor, press space for an extra boost.

Don't go to fast, or you could lose when you hit the bottom.

I might update this just to change the music. It gets pretty annoying. You might just want to mute it.

I will add the source later.
Made in Game Maker 8

This game has many fast moving images. Don't play if you are prone to seizures.

If you find any major glitches or errors, please post it in the comments. Also, please leave any additional feedback that you might have about the game. Thanks for playing!

I have now included an updated version. This version adds new graphics, and also makes the game a little easier. Also Fixed many bugs, and even added a timer. The update was done after the compo.

Downloads and Links




Luxorix says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:40am

That's interesting. Just a little bit difficult.

Nsmurf says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:07am

Nice. I ended up to fast though, you should put a cap on the speed if you do a post-compo.

Arkazon says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:37pm

Nice game, same as Nsmurf says though - I ended up going too fast, went straight through the floor and had to start again (at least that's what I'm assuming happened!)

zanzindorf says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:39pm

I liked the sound track. It needed some bouncing sound effects for the ball.

Ray_Mickelino says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:42pm

I actually tried to put a limit on it during the competition, but I couldn't quite get it to work, and I was spending to much time on it. I eventually just decided to leave it, but I might fix it, along with a few other little details. Thanks for the tip!

Daisuke909 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:44pm

The mechanic is very interesting, and with more time you could probably do something really interesting with it. I feel like a best times would be more compelling than high score.

Ray_Mickelino says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:04pm

I haven't even thought of a timer. I'll try and add that.

HeyChinaski says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:07pm

Really, really nice concept! Is it original? If so I'd really like to see this go on to be a much more ambitious project - ditch the minimalist graphics, throw in some more platforming ideas. I like how things got more interesting as you progress because of elements like key/doors and moving blocks. Some levels felt like a sonic bonus level and I spotted the Mario reference. It must have been tough to get the collision detection right with the ball moving so fast. Great work!

Ray_Mickelino says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:43pm

I was hoping that someone would spot the Mario reference ^_^
Thanks! And yes, it's original.

Hayawi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:32pm

Nice game, definetely has potential as a mobile app. I did find a glitch though, when you go too fast, it might reset the level or slow you down, which i found mean

Ray_Mickelino says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:39pm

Yeah, I noticed that glitch before. I couldn't work it out during the jam, but I am planning on adding an updated version by the end of the week. I'll try to work it out.

klianc09 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:26am

Can get frustrating when the ball keeps bouncing around uncontrollably. The music loop really is annoying.
If the ball were a little bit more responsive and the music would be acceptable, then this would make a pretty good game.

Ray_Mickelino says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:55am

Yeah, I didn't have much time to work on music... I'll work on it.

Jim Haslett says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:54am

I really liked this game. The ball is a bit too controllable. Perhaps making the controls a bit more "wild", like not so steerable while in the air, or maybe reflect off of objects at the angle you hit it.

fueelin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:58am

Cool game, liked the graphics. Reminds me of the Chaos Emerald stages in Sonic 1 a lot...

ilovepixel says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:06am

Nice game, it was a bit too hard though.

Jubjub. says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:11am

When I got used to the way the bounce works, that was really fun!

smilingrob says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:49am

Very cool that you designed an unstuck instead of saying too bad you lost.

StMatn says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:36pm

Cool game. I liked the level where you play 2 balls simultaneously. Music was a bit repetitive and some levels were a bit cpu-intensive and therefore running slow.
Great work!

P.S. I was a bit confused, which download to use. I rated "Windows(Jam)". Hope this is right :|

DBRalir says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:20pm

Very nice, but I felt that building up speed was a bit annoying. Needs a bit of polish, but it's a solid game.
(Unrelated: I ported my game to Windows, if you want to check it out.)

Ray_Mickelino says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:14pm

The one that was entered into the competition was the first link. The second one was a simpler, more polished version done after the compo. You can check them both out, but you should rate the first one. Thanks!

anjack says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:54pm

I didn't mind the music. It help keep me calm when the ball was moving fast!

tankete says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:17am

Interesting mechanic. The music loop got a little tired. Nice!

hamster_mk_4 says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:28am

You got a lot of interesting game play out of the tools you were using. There were a few bugs when the ball got moving too fast, but on a whole this game was a very enjoyable experience.

Ray_Mickelino says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:23pm

Most of the bugs got fixed in the update that I added, but I think that there are still some left. Thanks for all the feedback!

Rafael Sales says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 3:36pm

Cool game. Congratz!

someone says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 3:43pm

Fun game

kyru says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:58pm

Fun idea, straightforward mechanics. Nice job.

goerp says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:10pm

What is this, I'm just a bouncing ball? Wait , hold on I missed a few, go back, bit to the left YES!
This was pretty addictive. I didn't mind the music being repetetive, because your busy with the game.
My biggest criticism would be the smoothness of the animation. Maybe a bigger screen would help or moaybe if possible a higher frame rate. Sometimes it felt like I was scrolling an Excel sheet.

netmute says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:11pm

I'm on a Mac, sorry :(

Tifu says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:11pm

Ah my pet peeve, games that use the keyboard to play, but the mouse to navigate levels and menus...
Good game! Some interesting puzzle mechanics that I wish had been explored a little more, like two-balls-at-once level, and the falling block level (I was expecting to have to use the falling blocks quickly to get somewhere high, for example). I did end up building up too much speed in some levels and glitching through blocks, sometimes right through the floor to my death :D but it wasn't too frequent as to ruin enjoyment.
Good stuff!

tsb says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:19am

Fun entry.

You must sign in to comment.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]