April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Out Of Light

by Msquirrel - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Your are stuck in a Zombie infested building.
Your torch is on minimal power, your health is minimal after your previous encounter with the dark walkers. You have to collect supplies and travel from safe room to safe room. Collecting the keys for the next room.

Controls:
WASD and Mouse.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#455Mood3.00
#532Audio2.75
#569Graphics3.00
#768Humor1.95
#980Fun2.50
#1018Overall2.71
#1075Theme2.93
#1181Innovation2.15
#1236Coolness49%

Comments

GetFun says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:28am

Oh, zombies!

jerrre says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:30am

could you provide a java 6 version for OSX?

Xgor says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:34am

Great amosphere... but it feels really odd because you can't be killed and it really kills the game (pun not intended)

swizzcheez says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:34am

Can't seem to die...

Frib says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:34am

Nice entry! The levels were a bit large, though, and there lack of potato batteries made things difficult to navigate because I kept running out of light :D

semi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:40am

Nice game! Not knowing the levels, the light slowly dimming was the biggest difficulty factor in making it to the next stage. I'm not sure how much zombie bites I can take, but it seems to be a lot. Having the feeling of almost dying would have made it even scarier probably :)

Good job, would play again!

SmallDeadGuy says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:47am

I didn't seem to die. And ammo was so scarce I killed like 6 zombies then just ran around looking for ammo.

poohshoes says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:49am

I liked the lighting affects, running around in the dark could be a little frustrating. The zombies didn't do enough damage to be scary, they were just annoying.

Msquirrel says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:25am

Oh, god, you can't die? Oops, typo, will fix now

Msquirrel says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:25am

Sorry about that :S

Msquirrel says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:32am

Uploading new files, with dying enabled now. Will be fixed in 1 minute.

MinionStudios says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:49pm

Really fun and challenging. I kept running out of ammo and the walkers got me. Good game!

HelkeGames says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:11pm

Nice game! Cool and very minimalist great job ;)

Msquirrel says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:42pm

Java 1.6 version for OSX, is uploaded now!

f7f5 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:00pm

Tried running on Fedora 16, got the following exception

Exception in thread "main" java.lang.UnsupportedClassVersionError: uk/co/mutantsquirrel/minimalism/Game : Unsupported major.minor version 51.0
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass1(Native Method)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass(ClassLoader.java:634)
at java.security.SecureClassLoader.defineClass(SecureClassLoader.java:142)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.defineClass(URLClassLoader.java:277)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.access$000(URLClassLoader.java:73)
at java.net.URLClassLoader$1.run(URLClassLoader.java:212)
at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.findClass(URLClassLoader.java:205)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:321)
at sun.misc.Launcher$AppClassLoader.loadClass(Launcher.java:294)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:266)
Could not find the main class: uk.co.mutantsquirrel.minimalism.Game. Program will exit.

Msquirrel says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:12pm

f7f5, that error means you tried to run a file compiled in a later java version with an earlier version. So I could try making an earlier version, but, I think you need to update java...

EdoMiyamoto says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:07pm

How to be afraid of tiny pixels !

May 3, 2013 @ 2:04am

@Msquirel for the problem with Linux and Mac you have to compile the jar on a Java 6, Mac users you can update to J 7

Boiúna says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:14pm

I lked the graphics, but the game is a bit slowly.

Msquirrel says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:19pm

@Cognizant Game Studios I have already changed the Mac version to compile with 1.6, do I need to change it for linux as well?

PixelIndigo says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 9:47am

Wow! Enjoyed it a lot. Zombie's sounds are annoying, but main music theme keeps you in fear. Very good work.

Ernyz says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 11:17am

Nice game, 5 stars for the mood :) altough supplies were a bit too scarce. Btw, I just realized our games look very similar, at least for me :D

Rialgar says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 11:18am

awesome horror when the light is almost empty and you start searching for a potato, but cant find one. Then you find one and see ZOMBIES ALL AROUND YOU!
Not sure if there are multiple levels or it just restarts after winning.
The bullet sound could use another design iteration.
I found the lowering light quite aprupt, maybe you can make it smoother.

Msquirrel says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 11:47am

I can confirm there are multiple levels, there is a key somewhere on the map, it is randomly spawning in set locations, you grab that, then the next safe room opens.

"Btw, I just realized our games look very similar, at least for me :D" - I'll check it out!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]