April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Mini-Malice

by Starspell - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You play as a white blood cell protecting the body by eating viruses that are attacking red blood cells. Whenever a cell is destroyed the viruses multiply. There are other viruses and cells with special effects within the game.

Full controls on website.

This was the first time I've made my own music from scratch.

Whilst I think I could have done better with this game it is reasonable considering I changed the entire game around after the first quarter of the competition. Also there is little to no connection to the theme besides the name of the game sort of sounding like "Minimalism".

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#117Fun3.60
#227Audio3.25
#230Mood3.32
#243Overall3.50
#315Humor2.63
#470Graphics3.15
#573Innovation3.11
#1063Theme2.95
#1744Coolness28%

Comments

summontherats says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:08am

The music is great! It really fits the game.

It's pretty smoothly coded overall, but you do seem to move kind of slowly. Since the viruses are also really small, that means that getting the last ones are kind of annoying.

(Of course, I'm also an idiot. For a while I thought I needed to eat as many viruses as possible, so I was letting them kill the blood cells... because that made more of them! I should have actually read your instructions. :|)

Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:44am

One thing I found t be of particular interest was the way very little of the feedback (virus count) was given through HUD, using mysical cues instead. Made it seem a bit of a shame to have that one boost bar. I'd suggest that for post compo (if you do that) make the boost be shown by something different (shade your cell or something?)
That's the only interesting feedback I can give. I think the graphics could maybe stand to be a bit bigger, and maybe make the music accelerate from the current point when virus levels are critical rather than restart at a faster speed (dunno how hard that would be).
That's the bad bit. The rest is good!

Starspell says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:43pm

Thanks you guys. Glad you enjoyed it and thanks for the great feedback!

CAukamp says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:17pm

Nice game. It got a bit easier after i realized that the boost also increased the turning speed. I liked the increase in difficulty.
Well done.

itsZN says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:29pm

Very nice :D I like the graphics and music!

runonthespot says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:32pm

Pretty neat. The graphics were really interesting and detailed, and I liked the way the little viruses stalked the red blood cells but ran away from the white one. Pretty cool!

Purplescape says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:05pm

I like the concept. The player turns a little slow. Well done overall.

Yann says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:28am

Hehe indeed we had the same idea for the title (:

Nice simple game.

In a game design standpoint I understand why you've choosen such control (we have rotation speed has to be considered when we want to reach some area) but I find them quite frustrating and hard to use.

But like the idea.

Starspell says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:45pm

Thanks for the feedback everyone ^^

brxtr says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:12pm

I was confused about the objective of the game, but the concept is somewhat interesting and it seems well-coded.

MartianWatts says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 3:59am

I like it! It's a kind of PacMan with Resident Evil movement LOL ..

marnaouf says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 8:37am

The music was really great. Pretty impressive for a first time. Also, nice concept, graphics and fun game.

someone says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 2:35pm

Nice game, good music. You move infuriatingly slowly though.

dek says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 10:42pm

Nice game. Fitting the theme. I liked the clues that you gave!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]