April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Minia

by Frigolit - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This game is a simple platformer, minimalistic in the sense that you can only move and jump (and die) and can only be killed by spikes. Other than that there are blocks that disappear under your feet and checkpoints to respawn at, that's about it.
The game consists of four levels and possibly a secret level...

The game is made from scratch in JavaScript using HTML5 canvas, so it requires a modern browser (tested primarily in Chrome). jQuery is used for handling some initialization and window resizing, other than that there are no special libraries used.
All the graphics and levels are done in Photoshop. A level conversion script written in Pike converts the images into level files (JSON).

Currently there's no sound but hopefully I'll have time to add that as well.
The game has taken ~14 hours to make.

Full source will be available on github.
Enjoy! :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#12Fun4.04
#100Overall3.78
#170Graphics3.74
#214Humor2.88
#300Mood3.20
#737Theme3.35
#1014Innovation2.44
#1471Coolness44%

Comments

Florrpan says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 3:50pm

Awesome!

unclejunkie says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 4:47pm

great game, I liked the palette and exploding everything when reach exit.

kivifreak says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 5:16pm

Really fun level design, but how did you do this crumble animation? I liked it :)

Frigolit says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 6:51pm

Thank you! It's quite simple actually, i have a function called explode_tile_chain(x, y) which triggers a chain reaction of tile explosions, which just removes the tile, spawns particles and sets a timer for triggering explode_tile_chain(...) on the nearby tiles.
You can search for "explode_tile_chain" in the source code at http://frigolit.net/compo/ld26/game/main.js for details. Sorry about the horribly uncommented code though >_<

Aaron4576 says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 8:54pm

Amazing game!

Cybearg says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 10:35pm

Alternate game title: I Wanna Be The Super Meat Alien

Very challenging platformer with solid controls an a neat visual style. It does everything it wants to/should do, so I say big thumbs up!

The way things blow into bits is very satisfying.

Lerc says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 10:56pm

Nice tough platformer. I think it would be improved if spikes were only deadly if you fell from above. brushing them on the side and dying feels a bit unfair when it happens.

Crazi456 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:41am

Really fun, loved the art/animations!

Rasto says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:49am

like it, nut i stuck on level 5, maybe 6.. I cant jump so high..

dissonance says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:01am

Awesome! Love the exploding thing. Good job!

Manuel777 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:35am

I liked more the splash of blood than winning itself :P

ede says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:07pm

Great control feeling. Well executed!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:21pm

Cool! :)

rujo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:27pm

graphics and effects are really cool. (maybe i'd prefer to see the crude pixels instead of that antialias.)
nice entry btw!

mrspeaker says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:05pm

Could use more particles.

I kid, I kid! Damn, so cool!

TheSnide says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:23pm

Awesome

Norgg says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:47pm

Haven't played any of the so-called "real" levels, but really enjoyed this.

arnaudmolle says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:48pm

Cool, level design is fun.

Luxorix says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:37am

This is not meatboy, this is greenboy! Good job!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:00pm

Solid platformer!

It looks a bit fuzzy - could that be as it auto-scales to screensize?

SaintHeiser says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:56am

Not bad. I very impressed with destruction effect when I beat the level.

But game collisions are mad. And disappearing blocks worked on random way =(

Frigolit says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:16pm

Thanks for the comments everyone!
The fuzziness/interpolation/antialiasing, which is indeed caused by the upscaling, I thought wasn't possible to disable at first and it isn't possible in Chrome, but in Firefox it is and I've fixed it in git (playable at http://frigolit.net/projects/minia/game), so when Chrome gets support for it it should work in that as well.
I didn't want to fix it in the LD-version since it changes how the game looks and could potentially be seen as breaking the rules.

messiano says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 4:29pm

Awesome game, very fun. I liked the tight controls and checkpoint system. The difficult was well done, the only really difficult part was one spike jump which was sort kind of enraging. A death counter would be nice, as well as some BG music. Graphics are also nice.

Oye Beto says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 5:26am

- It's fun!
- I like the graphics
- Not innovative
- I had to keep a hand on the R key because it's very difficult and I died often. I'd like it to auto restart or restart with any arrow key.
- It should't resize the screen to the window because it has low resolution.
- Please put a checkpoint at the beginning of the secret level :P
- I beated it the game but not the secret level (yet)
- I'd like to see the next version with sound

Great job. I'll check the source code because I want to learn to make games with HTML5

did you beat my game?

Frigolit says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 10:32am

It should resize to the screen but it shouldn't get blurry, which has been fixed in the post-LD version (except in Chrome).
I regret not adding sound as well, would've done a lot for the game.

Thanks for the feedback! And nope, I haven't beaten your game yet :)

May 19, 2013 @ 11:10am

This was awesome! Very solid controls and fantastic level design. For what it is I don't really have any complaints, aside from the lack of sound and music. The crumbling/explosions at the end of every level was always a very satisfying conclusion!

Roupette says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 11:16am

Cute ! I wish I could run for a more nervous experience :).

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 11:21am

Yeah, sound would have done wonders here, but you already know that. Still, this is exactly how the tried-and-true LD staple platformer should be done. Very nice work. Difficulty was pretty good throughout, though there were one or two parts that were a little more unforgiving than I would have liked. An extra frame or two of time on the blue blocks would have been good, I think. Didn't make it all the way through the secret level, though I gave it my best go D:

Paul Sinnett says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 5:51pm

Nice level design. The checkpoints came in just the right places. It could have some with some music and sound effects to round out the experience.

FREEZX says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 5:51pm

Wow, this game is very fun and challenging! Great job

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]