April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

unessential

by voxel - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Click to focus, U,H,B keys to play.

If this game doesn't fit on your screen, please leave a note on this page with a way for me to contact you, and what kind of resolution you have. I WILL FIX FOR YOU <3

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#23Audio4.00
#58Theme4.19
#78Mood3.72
#102Graphics3.91
#170Humor3.04
#223Overall3.53
#395Fun3.16
#588Innovation3.09

Comments

cwilloughby says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:13am

Okay. This game is sick. I didn't realize until the 3rd time through that I was playing rock, paper, scissors. This is a great wrapper on it and the polish is obvious. Impressive work.

gizmo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:40am

excellent visuals!

swizzcheez says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:08am

Certainly one of the most artistic presentations of rock, paper, scissors I've seen.

TheFudster says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:12am

Extremely well done.

alts says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:16am

Really impressed with the animation. The polish around the RPS mechanic simultaneously hides it, and eliminates potential grievances against it (especially with the attack pattern breakdown after death).

rwos says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:36am

Wow, the art and audio are just phantastic! Gameplay - well, pretty minimalistic. :) At first I didn't realize that it's turn-based (I admit that I didn't read the instructions...). Overall I like it, though - not so much as a game, but more as a piece of art.

Mythalore says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:46pm

Couldn't get past potato, but very innovative, with cool art and music!

peggiosoft says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:07pm

this game is so f*cked up that i like it.

jerombd says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:45am

At the fisrt sight, it looks like a (pretty) samurai version of "rock,paper,scissors" but the ultimate attack when you're wounded is a clever touch!
Btw, perfect Bushido atmosphere thanks to the audio.

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:54am

It looks great, and randomly clicking keys makes a great sound nice sounds. It would make a great video remix of some kind. Aesthetically A+.

In a recent job application I was given the following challenge: "Change Rock Paper Scissors in such a way that it would be compelling to play for 5 minutes or more."

GaTechGrad says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:08am

I thought the outcomes were completely random at first, then I realized that once defeated it shows the opponent's attack frequency, which allows you to appropriately counter their moves the next time you meet them. However, the final boss uses each attack equally so it really is a crap shoot.

William Bundy says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:17am

The music and visuals really contribute to the theme of the game, and also fit in very well with the "minimalist" theme too. The RPS mechanic too, makes a lot of sense from the minimalist standpoint.

Uhfgood says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:29am

Pretty slick, I also noticed I was a "student" there ;-)

Tozy says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:52am

Well done voxel! You covered all the aspects without leaving any detail unattended. Did you choose the keys on purpose? They make you put your hand and arm in a quite particular position.

kidevil says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:50am

Ah! This is similar to mine ;) Loved the audio and the pixel graphics for the blood! Nice work!

Dezzles says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:05am

<3

PsenFilip says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:23am

EEEEEYOOOOOO !!

This game is hella fun like I said before. I really loved the sounds! Awesome creation

plash says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:30am

Notes:

- Ooh. Love the audio work.
- Needs movement sound!
- POTATO!
- Can't get past Potato!
- I HAVE SLAIN THE POTATO!
- What's this!? /Translates./ Lead Boxer? Ohhh, "voxel"!
- I BEAT HIM! It was close, but I won!!

What I would change:

- Just add movement sound! Enemy death sound would be nice, too, but it needs movement more!

amijlee says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:47am

Really cool idea. Is there a pattern I need to learn to get better, or am I supposed to figure out the correct move from how my opponent is standing or something?

voxel says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:06am

To anyone finding the game difficult: when you die you are given a summary of what moves that enemy uses. You can use this to vastly increase your chances of defeating that enemy on your next playthrough :)

Sanguine says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:08am

Great mood! It feels a bit random though

PTSnoop says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:37pm

The final boss and I managed to exactly match each other's moves for quite a while there, it felt a lot like two masters who were able to counter one another perfectly. Very impressive game!

Sinuath says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:20pm

Cool entry voxel, i really liked the graphics and the music :)

juaxix says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:13am

Koan:
Cherry-tree of triangles,
sphere moon above,
who is the survivor?
---
Love the simplicity of aesthetics and shapes, a little fun :)

MinionStudios says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 5:17pm

nicely done! EEEoh

Colapsydo says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 9:00am

Simple and efficient, hence minimalist.
The game is really polished from characters animation to ambient sounds.
Great work on this game.

richy486 says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 11:04am

Slick graphics

jimday says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 4:27pm

very nice animation and graphics. but it's mainly luck, or trial and error

May 13, 2013 @ 12:10pm

I found myself wishing that the gameplay progressed a little more slowly. I beat the game on my first try, simply mashing the buttons at random... Great job with the audio! The graphics were great too! I really liked the tree at the end.

May 15, 2013 @ 2:11am

You know, it was a nice game. Sounds were pleasant, and the theme was simple. It took me a while to get to the statue.

voxel says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 10:10am

Thanks for playing everyone :)

BTW it's turn based, so take your time and think. Or just mash the buttons I don't care.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]