April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

(Follow the) Line

by Chman - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I had a few ideas popping in my head as soon as I saw the theme, this is the one I settled with !

The goal is simple : do not let the white line escape its racetrack.

- Two gameplay modes
- Minimalist mechanics (one-button game, very simple rules)
- Minimalist graphics
- Minimalist ambient track (it's called "Silence", because I'm good at composing silent music)
- Minimalist game size (<64kb, online leaderboards & analytic included)
- MINIMALIST


About the two gameplay modes :

- Challenges : a set of 20 levels with progressive difficulty (score: lower is better, follow the racetrack precisely to get a better score).
- Infinite Run : randomly generated level (score: higher is better).


The game file size could have been way smaller if Haxe didn't break it with dead code elimination, but hey, 64kb is good enough. Have fun, and don't forget to submit your best scores to the online leaderboards :]


Controls:
Any key (one-button game)
R - Restart
Esc - Menu

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#8Theme4.46
#60Overall3.89
#64Fun3.74
#87Graphics3.97
#261Innovation3.50
#420Mood3.07
#768Humor1.95
#1043Audio1.49

Comments

Apr 28, 2013 @ 7:24pm

That's so cool, I love it!
Good luck in the contest :)

Markavian says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 7:32pm

Cool concept and presentation. Found the control scheme really unresponsive, struggled on the purple levels to get line to turn at the right point.

DrPetter says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 7:34pm

Very stylish and elegant! Crippled somewhat by inaccurate keyboard input. It seems I have to let go of all keys before a new one will register, which goes against the typical method of always triggering on the next hit regardless of held keys. I managed to beat challenge mode, but almost gave up on the last two levels where I'm convinced I would have had less difficulty with snappy response. Could be more fun with increased "actual" difficulty balanced by spot-on control.

l3dx says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 7:35pm

Just..one..more..try..
:)

Chman says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 8:07pm

Thanks guys !
Just did an update, the controls should now be way more responsive, sorry about that !

Super Hamster says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 8:21pm

Really interesting idea.

Xellinus says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 8:22pm

VERY Nicely done. I can stray a little too far out of the bounds, but still amazing. Good job!

nSun says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 8:54pm

OK, I dont understand "any key" at first time, and I play as a snake-like game... Good work with this theme.

redmaple says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 11:00pm

Really appealing, fun, and polished
Was a little lost for like 5 seconds until I read 'any key'

MisterMagnus says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 11:19pm

It's cool!

Looks awesome and that is good idea.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:00am

Great idead! I think i faced a bug: on level 9 line constantly turns wrong way ) E.g. when track goes right, line turns left

Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:14am

It's me again :) Forgot to rate

spiral says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:21am

Nice one

Deadlyapps says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:24am

Well done. Gets difficult quickly.

Sebastian says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:29am

Nice, I had a lot of fun playing this!

gilmore606 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:30am

Very nice visual style, simplest possible minimalist gameplay. Great entry.

ilovepixel says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:38am

Great game! This could have some music and it would pump it up a lot, kind of like a rhythm game. Please make a mobile version!

Ty Taylor says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:04am

This is so good. I hate level 19. In a good way.

Hadyn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:22am

Very cool! I refused to read instructions so it took me a while to realise it was a single button game (I had been pressing directional arrows up until about level 16), but it was a great challenge. Definitely matches the theme!

Hadyn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:28am

Just to add to that - infinite mode is great, but it would be even better if I could press a single button to retry rather than having to move back to my mouse - it's lazy, I know, but I feel like taking my hand of the keyboard messes with the flow.

Chman says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:44am

Hadyn: You can retry with "R" ;)

Crynix says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:44am

Graphics are great! I wish it was just space to move though. Pressing the up arrow key and having it go down was a bit odd.

Brian Corr says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:52am

This game is a lot of fun but the controls are not good. In a game like this they have to be really accurate and I don't feel like they are.

Otherwise very strong and polished.

Perry says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:56am

So pretty, the graphics are the real standout. Best themed graphics I've seen.

Vincenzo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:19am

You got The idea ! The first time I played, I used arrow keys, too.
Well done !

nicotuason says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:20am

Fun, challenging mechanic with a good difficulty curve and pleasing graphics. Good job!

Spierek says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:43am

Really simple, but it doesn't mean that it's easy (levels 17-20 are awfully hard). I'm digging that minimalistic art style.

BTW, every death gives you extra +100 points; shouldn't it decrement 100 every time you die?

Chman says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:47am

Nop, in the "Challenges" mode, lower score is better (an absolutely perfect run would be a score of 0). I should have made this more clear I guess :)

OysterKLAN says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:51am

This was awesome! I love the definitive visual style, and the tilt on everything. Really cool.

bms says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:52am

As always, beautiful minimalist graphics and challenging gameplay. Kinda reminds me of snake, great nostalgia :)
Well done!

SteFilms says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:04am

So simple, but soooo nice!! :)

TheFuntastic says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:15am

Very nicely done.

(Incidental aside, I was looking a flip'd just a couple of days ago ;)

Muu? says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:25am

An "one button game" where I have to click to start! It took me a while to get past menu... :|

Still, beautiful minimal game.

Manuel777 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:45am

lol, kongregate's website ditched the whole '64kb' thing :P
Asides that, one of the best games in the compo so far, excellent work, and congrats!! :D

Luxorix says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:50am

Good! Nice graphics and interesting gameplay.

aquilicoco says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:10am

Good idea. Simple and fun.

Xgor says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:41am

Really nice, Could use some more strict collision because I can glide on the walls and it looks kinda odd.

Aaants says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:45am

A great game with just the right balance of frustration and sense of achievement. Congrats!

martijn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:22pm

press any key... (clicks with mouse) why is not responding?

Very fun and elegant game

B says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:31pm

Super cool little game. I love it :) Would've loved it even more with some sound :P

AlbertoSM says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:33pm

Smooth as hell! I reached over 13000 points and I still wanted to play more. Nicely done!

Nakato says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:51pm

I love the simplicity and the style polished of your graphs !

robertcalvert says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:53pm

Amazing, it reminds me of snake and those electric buzzer hoop things. Looks and plays great:)

Griz says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:00pm

Simple and addicting. Played couple of times to try to beat the previous scores, but last levels always got me.

Logun says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:01pm

It didn't work. Link is broken.

raincole says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:25pm

Simple and fun. It's a little laggy

Tinco says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:33pm

Great fun, bit hard :)

rujo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:48pm

super cool!
it's one of my favourites
with potatoes in it could have been the best

deige101 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:54pm

Cool idea, I had fun.

Are says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:55pm

So simple, thus amazing.

gokuhd says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:55pm

Beautiful graphics, very simple and challenging, I like it a lot.

rogueNoodle says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:09pm

Proof that the simplest ideas can be the most addictive. Great visual design as well - nice job :)

wonderwhy-er says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:10pm

Sadly lacks sounds for mood. But yeah its LD so all is fine :D

Still great, great use of simplicity.

tompudding says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:29pm

It was crying out for music since you're just pressing a button to a rhythm, but really impressive nevertheless. Looks really polished

M0N0QUARTZ says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:45pm

Very Cool!

timtipgames says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:46pm

This game is so minimal in so many ways that I don't know what to say else than: Well done.

Gremlin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:53pm

Love the slick minimalism of the graphical style. This is a clever use of one-button input.

Millisecond timing is clearly an important part of this...if you haven't already you might want to look at ways to reduce latency in the input loop. Are you polling or using event driven input? Checking for the key down or the key up?

Mythalore says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:02pm

Well made, the controls are a little confusing but it's very nicely presented.

HelkeGames says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:03pm

Nice game well done!

DustyStylus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:06pm

Good thing my day job doesn't require reaction speeds like this! Haha, tricky little game with nice presentation.

LrdKzrth says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:07pm

This is a great game!

Andrei Barsan says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:19pm

Gaah, *almost* there. :P Great game, really polished. The difficulty increases slowly, and the game, overall, has a really nice feel.

someone says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:31pm

Excellent game.
Got a bit frustrated around level 17, but managed to complete the challenge mode. Could do with a way to pause between levels, or may be press a key to start. I like the way they flow together but needed a break without it killing my score.

ede says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:41pm

Great Game! Missed the chiptune music. ;)

robmozart says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:45pm

Level 19 was annoyingly good.

Gama11 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:52pm

Loving it - this is exactly my type of game (the go-for-a-highscore-type). Perfectly fits the theme and great fun, I'm only missing music and sfx.

theomnis says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:56pm

I beat it! I feel accomplished now.

IndieRetro says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:09pm

T'was pretty fun, really well made!

Ragzouken says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:14pm

Game looks great. Just couldn't do 19 no matter how much I tried :(

Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:18pm

So good! Fantastic entry!

allinlabs says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:33pm

Well done ! Great colors and enjoyable gameplay !
Too bad there's no music, I would have loved some for this kind of game.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:53pm

Very nice game. With some cool, smooth music it would be even greater!

loxo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:05pm

I like the color scheme and the angle. The two modes (challenge and endless) are a good idea, I think my game needs this too. This would be my favorite, if it had sound.

Kyle Bolton says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:18pm

I really liked the graphic design and game mechanic. Very addictive. I saw that you've been improving the responsiveness of the controls, but I still think it could be improved a bit. There were a couple of instances where I felt like blaming the game for my loss, because the line didn't change directions until it was too late.

Aside from that, great work!

Broxxar says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:30pm

Great, simple, theme is used well.

Oh and addictive fun, best of all. Great work, sound and music would be the next step I imagine.

dick_claus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:33pm

That is awesome. It would be great with ambient music.

kochb says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:36pm

Very fun.

rpgwhitelock says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:40pm

Real potential here for a super-hexagon like title.

brxtr says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:05pm

I like the concept and I like the execution even more. Because of the continuous nature of the game, I'd have thought a pause button would make sense, though. The visuals look nice and clean. It's a shame about the lack of audio, but a polished version of this has got great potential to do well on mobile (like I know you're planning)!

pereubu says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:12pm

Addictive and very well executed ! It's a shame your silent soundtrack doesn't include some dubstep D:

BortStudios says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:14pm

Quite fun, can't find anything to comment about. Wait...

I wish there was more!

glbs says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:20pm

Great and addictive, would be even better with sounds, the gameplay is pretty rythmic

mrexcessive says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:22pm

OK... so you want to teach me about frustration... Very good game... completely not for an old git like me... argh... my nerves are twitching, I will have nightmares about white lines. Very innovative, like a music playing game without the sound.

adnzzzzZ says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:27pm

Really simple and well executed idea. Good job!

dx0ne says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:30pm

You squeezed so much fun in so simple game. Great execution and totally into theme.

Merkoth says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:56pm

Love this game, very cool and great presentation. Nice job!

TheSheep says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:28pm

Really fun game, like a snake without the strategy. Good job!

Rafael Sales says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:33pm

Awesome game. Extremely addictive!! :)

d_durham says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:22pm

Brilliantly addictive and lovely clean visual style. Having the two game modes was a really clever idea too. One of my favorites so far, well done!

Ray_Mickelino says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:24pm

This is awesome. The only thing that it was lacking was music. It fits the theme well, and it's fun. Great job.

m64 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:34pm

Simple game but very fun, congratulations!

SonnyBone says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:42pm

Great challenge! Nice use of theme, and WOW it looks so smooth and delicious. Good work!

omaromeir says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:42pm

Wow awesome! I love the idea, the execution and the minimalist graphics!

maloki says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:44pm

Very nice! I would have liked to be able to control the line to turn left or right, to add to the difficulty. This works better with as a minimalist game though. Would work nicely on mobile devices, too! :)

Chman says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:48pm

Thanks so much for the warm comments guys, it means a lot ! <3

Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:55pm

For as simple as this is, it's quite beautiful. It really could have benefited from some sound effects, but nice job!

Oh yeah, the short-cut prevention is pretty funny. :)

Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:59pm

Coloring Inside The Lines: The Movie: The Game!
Fun to play, and when I don't get perfectly center it makes me want to mess up and try again!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:00pm

Well done! I liked this a lot. Almost made it through all 20 levels.

Also, it's strange that I care, but I think I liked this more because all the levels are at that odd 15-degree angle. Somehow that makes it feel "artsy".

I was able to cheat at some intersections by pressing multiple keys in quick succession.

Cheshyr says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:02pm

I completely missed the one-button part, so I spent my first play-through actually hitting the arrow keys to change direction. :-p Very nice work; one of my favorite games of this LD.

runonthespot says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:07pm

Very tidy little game- nice work!

McFunkypants says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:15pm

Really fantastic! Makes me think of light cycles. Worked flawlessly for me. Great work!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:25pm

So much fun. Very cool.

KEFIR says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:26pm

Cool! This one is one of most addictive :)

lightsoda says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:41pm

Love the presentation. Quite challenging, which is a good thing, not that easy to adjust to the slope.

Some kind of audio would have been nice.

Felix20 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:45pm

Sweet, this is fun adn looks cool. It fits the theme very well. Some music would be nice. It gets really hard to beat at the spot that the purple screenshot shows. And then I broke it by right clicking. The line just went straight past the screen and got stuck.
Anyway great job!

ataxkt says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:59pm

Really great! The best arcade game I've played yet. Feels really polished, and well in the theme.

TobiasL says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:07pm

Really nice! Was way harder than I expected.

r3d5 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:10pm

Oooo great use of the theme in art and game design!

tonic says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:12pm

Pretty fun & interesting take on the minimalism. Well done!

Split82 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:12pm

Minimalism rulezz :) nice!

minibutmany says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:18pm

This really fit the theme, well done!

Crazi456 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:34pm

Very addicting, fits theme nicely!

8BitPimp says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:47pm

This is really great. The aesthetic is really nice. The crisp vector graphics are perfect for the concept. Very well done. Truly minimal.

Gaeel says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:50pm

Excellent one-button game, would work great as a mobile game.

Severely lacking in the unts-unts-unts department though.

Try playing the infinite mode with something like this playing in the background : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eMhFA5izRgQ

jerombd says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:03pm

It's just great (i am !! Snake with a twist! (64kb?! O_o)

DavidErosa says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:09pm

I like the game, but as somebody said the controls got a bit delayed (at least on my computer). I usually end up crashing because the input is recognized around 0.2 seconds later :(

Jackamikaz says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:18pm

Simple and fun!

Galvesmash says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:22pm

great game! xD

ddionisio says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:29pm

This is as minimalistic as it gets, but still manage to be stylish. Definitely has that modern touch to it.

tudd says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:30pm

love the tilted + clever gameplay.

wish there was a track other than "silence" though.
ended up repetitititititititive however.

wallmasterr says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:10am

simple but realy hard, good snake training.

Richard Matey says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:22am

Great execution on this theme and love the design of the aesthetics

Bevilacqua says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:30am

This game is super fun. Love the idea and the game plays great

qdowngames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:54am

I was a tad confused that every time I played anything the game would end. Probably some bug... Looks cool though!

ps3master72 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:19am

great game! fun and simple

Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:35am

Really great use of the theme. Wish there could have been a little background music, but other than that it's one of the best I've played.

ilo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:48am

Yep, that's minimalism alright. Very impressive. :)

sparkleswirl says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:55am

This is amazing. Love how just tilting the game a little makes the visual presentation so refreshing.

daydalus says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:54am

Fun mashup of snake/infinite runner. I like the smooth camera style and shifting colors. Nice work -

Kitch says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:02am

Very nice. Most of what I have to say has been said above... good work!

Elrobo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:39am

I quit at level 14 just knew that wasn't happening. Liked the concept.

cwilloughby says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:52am

Super cool. Loved the idea. Addictive. Very difficult. Had trouble with loose controls a bit, never felt fully in control.

metadept says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:00am

Nicely done! Seems like I've played several similar flash-based snakelike games this time, and had a really hard time with the quick timing in all of them. Maybe I'm just bad at it? Great presentation in any case. All it needs is for the direction changes to be timed with some bumpin' chiptunes soundtrack and you'd have a modern rhythm classic.

OnlySlightly says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:17am

Love the look and feel of this game

Zathalos says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:45am

Super simple but not easy. I love the concept and actually enjoyed it more than I thought I was going to. You just need to add some kickin' music, sounds, and poppin' visuals and this game will be perfect. Great job.

SaintHeiser says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:19am

So simple and adictive!
Nice entry =)

tankete says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:20am

I liked the polished, clean look. The controls felt a little loose. Overall I enjoyed it.

DaveDobson says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:37am

Very cool - neat concept, perfect for the theme. Some of the levels were very hard - I had to give up after about 25 tries on Challenge 14. Free play mode is fun too. Very nice work.

siondream says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:40am

Simple, clean and visually interesting, loved it. Would have liked a key mapping for the Retry option so I don't have to switch between keyboard and mouse every time.

TravisChen says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:09am

Slick!

Dir3kt says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:14am

Aaahh it's so frustrating to die at the last turn ;/

Very nice (hardcore) entry that perfectly fits the theme. Good job.

Would have really loved some music.

TheThirdOne says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:35am

Far too unresponsive for me.

alts says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:48am

Fantastic game. As others have said, it's only marred why weird unresponsiveness. i found myself having to use multiple keys because rapid key presses weren't being registered as distinct. Other than that, great visual presentation, and great embodiment of the theme.

Kvisle says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:55am

Very nice, but I had to give up at level 18 -- I don't have the reflexes required for this :)

Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:04am

Awesome game :D Amazing what you have done in so short time!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:11am

Slick. Well presented. Hard.

finefin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:17am

missing some sound/music. but apart from this it's a great game!

saggiosoft says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:22am

Great design, great (minimalist) idea, some weird responsiveness of the commands. Very good overall.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:45am

I gave up at level 19 because my timing is whack. xD

Clean finish, good job! ~

fishbrain says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:47am

Brilliant! All round superb entry - crisp, clean, minimalist graphics and simple (yet challenging and fun) gameplay.

Hegemege says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:51am

Fits the theme pretty well, couldnt get past the 19th challenge

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:55am

Very good, polish it with sound it'll be awesome !

Maple says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:13am

Oh man. This is EXACTLY the kind of game that I look at and think "Why didn't I come up with that idea!?"

During challenge mode, I was thinking "This would be even better if the score went up more the closer you were to the center of the line", but you pretty much remedied that in infinite mode with the bonus points. My only gripe is that I think infinite mode should have mimicked challenge mode in the types of turns and loops you came across. It was also kind of disorienting being able to see the line generating ahead of you.

I'm happy that you could play with any key, because using the arrow keys, instead of one key, helped me to be more precise.

But yeah, I can totally see a spruced up version of this getting a sponsorship. Good job.

Chman says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:23am

Maple: actually, in challenge mode, the score is linked to how close you are to the center of the line (+ death) ! The lower, the better (it's basically "distance from center in pixels * 10" on every turn). A perfect run without death would give a perfect score, 0. Good luck with that :]

3.14 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:30am

Actually pressing right arrows helped me play the game. Too bad there is no sfx and music. It would really add to the game (as it does to every game). Good job!

MathiO says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:31am

Most of my thoughts on this have been mentioned already in these comments so I just wanted to say very well realized concept. Keep at it!

JaydenB says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:53am

I didn't get the any-key at first, was playing it as a more snake like game then figured it out an it made my game much easier. I think something like that should be expressed more within the actual game, I didn't see it in there standing out enough for me to figure it out earlier! Got really difficult on the purple levels! But just one, more, try..

cahman says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:28am

Brilliant!

NuSan says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:43am

Well done, i realy prefer the infinite mode, less frustration than doing the same level over and over until beat it. Great job!

Saturnyn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:45am

Nice take on the theme and nice graphics.
Made me realized I have a crappy sense of rythm :(

Flai says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:45am

Really liked it :)

Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:46pm

Wow, very nice. simple but very effective !

bobiniki says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:49pm

Quite liked it, even though I'm terrible at it.

geepit says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:28pm

Really cool idea, well executed. A lot of fun

Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:30pm

Very simple and addicting game... I love it especially the visuals and the gameplay :D

lucasncv says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:49pm

Addictive! The silence's very weird, haha.

RobKat says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:55pm

Great visual style and very simple yet effective gameplay

Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:06pm

Beautiful design! Excellently in theme and fun to play! It does desperately need some sounds but other than that, it's spot on brilliant!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:25pm

Stylish and top marks on the aesthetics! Controls take a little getting used to but still a solid effort.

naughtyloose says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:34pm

that was great!

patrickward says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:37pm

Nice and simple, but fun! Music would have helped a little, even if it was just generated music. Great effort overall.

Brassawiking says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:47pm

Just rotating the lines made such big difference visually. Good work on that one!

Jubjub. says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:10pm

Really, really addictive. Gets very difficult very quickly for me though haha.

fullmontis says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:19pm

Great little game, fun and simple at the same time!

Vaalen says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:38pm

Good game and good concept. Very minimalist.

whitetigle says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:50pm

Very addictive. Very well done. Fits very well the theme. Just Bravo!

jhice says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:05pm

Excellent. I finished number 22 (21.150) :p

YsenGrimm says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:30pm

Interesting idea but for me the controls seem to be a bit to late from time to time.

robotality says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:49pm

Absolutely nails the "one-more time" trigger in my brain. Very hard, but very addictive. Great entry.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:37pm

Great visuals and addictive as hell. I think you could turn this into a great rhythm music game if you hooked up a beat as your player is moving and trigger sound effects when you turn. This would also help the player get the timing correct.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:43pm

Well this was fun fun fun on a bun. Would have loved some audio in there too! Love the above suggestion of syncing it to a beat :) Awesome work!

Ludipe says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:43pm

Simple and fun, keeps you playing until you finish it.

cyanpelican says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:51pm

Quite addictive and looks really cool.... I'm thinking of writing a bot to play it automatically because it seems like it wouldn't be too hard

Lev_Astov says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:25am

I'd really like to try this, but nothing happens. It doesn't respond to anything I do except R to restart and Escape to go back to the menu. In infinite mode it ends instantly with a score of 3.

bummzack says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:05am

One of the best. Simple and brilliant at that!

Travis Irby says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:20am

So simple but so fun! Very stylish too awesome job

Dissing says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:50am

Amazing for this theme!
Good fun and nice visuals.

numpad says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:03am

Awesome! One of the best games here. Sadly, there was no sound, wich would've made it even better. But anyways, good job! (I didn't know it was a one-button game, always played with arrowkeys)

frr171 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:47am

Surprisingly intense for a game that only takes one button to play - I expect to see this on my Android phone!

Husky says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:04am

Cool, simple but challenge.
And it truly match the theme :p

JaJ says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:37am

I really missed the music. Other than that great entry!

Siewart says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:34am

I think I like this. A lot.

May 1, 2013 @ 10:51am

Wow, nice game! The gameplay is so simple, but still challenging. It fits the theme really nicely. I like the slight angle of the game, this makes the game look more playful and fun. :) Well done!

Stiju says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:56am

It could definitely need some audio but the visuals is very nice, good job.

Jod says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:05pm

Very minimalistic indeed! I would have loved some sounds with this, it's a very rythmic game.

Gungnir says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:42pm

Good job. Personally I found it a bit too frustrating but I can see the appeal is there for some folks.

Also, some sound would have been nice.

gre says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:23pm

This is just great!
Very well polished.

I didn't get it was a 'one button' game the first time and tried to play with arrows :D
You game become very frustrating around levels > 10
It was a great time though, you deserve to win.

The absence of audio is ok *maybe*, I was actually playing by pressing strongly the space key! it almost became like a rythm game :D

Minimalism/Simplicity is hard to reach, this game show how a simple game can be efficient and powerful, good job!

naufr4g0 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:40pm

Very cool game!
Simple but stilysh and fun!
I've the 2nd best score! :D

Zccc says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:01pm

This really proves that even the most boring game idea can be made good!

N427 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:18pm

Pretty good production quality, although I found it very frustrating and had a score of 40450. :c

lekochen says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:08am

Very stylish and addictive.

moomoo112 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:45am

rather fun, and surprisingly challenging

KevinZuhn says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:12pm

Wonderfully simple and well presented and most of all fun.
It took me a while to realize that any of the arrows would suffice to turn the line. Here I spent the first ten levels trying to steer the line like a chump! I only realized that I wasn't steering the line when I tried to deliberately turn off the prescribed path.
Anyway, would really love music in this game!

Jellycakes says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:08am

Really cool. Simple to play and pretty fun too. Although I came completely last place on the leaderboard. Oh well.

Beldarak says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:04am

So... frustrating... But I like it anyway

Nambew says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:16am

The concept is interesting and very portable to mobile. The graphic style and gameplay fit to the theme, really great work and good luck.

recursor says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:39pm

Button press detection seem to lag a bit whenever things get faster, but this is pretty fun. Nice use of the theme.

pentaphobe says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:49pm

should carry a warning about its addictiveness.

very super-hexagon, I likey!

DarkX2 says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:59pm

Hard and good

zatyka says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:07pm

Great job. Great potential for a successful mobile game.

Pixelulsar says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:44pm

Fun game and neat concept. Pretty Difficult.

Sylvain.p says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:26pm

Great interpretation of the theme. it's the story mode of snake ? :-)

Xaychru04 says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:32pm

Great game! I like how simple it is and it can be very difficult...

johnfn says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:01pm

Surprisingly addictive. Clean graphics. Nice work!

Komradus says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 6:17am

Really fun game!

BrothersT says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:59am

Very nice. I'm a sucker for leaderboards :) Only way I can fault this is by saying that the really fast turning sections in the main game are impossible to do normally, it's not responsive enough to do it accurately. The only way to complete it is to just mash the keys when you get to a complicated corner, and it just does it for you.

Madball says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 4:38pm

That's really minimalistic but fun. I liked the tilt of screen.

Prelucid says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 6:48pm

Nice, it's like motion graphics made into a game!

May 4, 2013 @ 8:18pm

Wow, the game is very fun and addictive. I only miss of one sound in game. Great Work!

euwaku says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:31am

Neat design, simple concept... just love it! Fits perfectly the theme.

BlackDogg says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 2:02pm

One of the best game I saw yet. Simple on every aspect but great at the same time. Nice elegant graphics, engaging game play, well done !

kill0u says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 10:12pm

Nice concept, very polished game :)

Jorjon says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 10:14am

Elegant design overall :) Although controls don't seem responsive.. Maybe it's because of Flash.

xdegtyarev says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 6:26pm

Very nice concept

Jeremias says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 6:27pm

Solid use of the theme and nice visual style.

shawn42 says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 9:17pm

So good... the leaderboard really helps with this kind of game.. just had to get a better score...

atraxgames says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 10:23pm

The perfect minimalist game. Stylish, based on a single rule however very fun to play. Compliments! The only thing it lacks is badass background music ;)

Orni says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 6:56am

this game is insanely polished and also a lot of fun - fits the theme perfectly as well :)

nicely done

Make A Game says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 8:30pm

The visuals are beautifully sharp and the gameplay feels amazing.

mildmojo says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 11:02pm

I started using the left and right arrows, then realized you could use all 4 arrows, then realized it didn't matter what key you were pressing. Heh. Should've read the instructions.

Very nice art style and color palette. I had a helluva time beating "Almost there" in challenge mode. =) I like the way you can see the level being drawn ahead of you in infinite mode. The whole game reminds me a little of Sophie Houlden's Swift*Stitch.

I think some low audio tones would be great when you're navigating each level.

badlydrawnrod says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 9:47pm

Stylish, fiendish and minimal. What more could anyone wish for, other than some sound.

Xanjos says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 10:20pm

Could do with some background music but the visual style and mechanics were great and infinite run mode is really addictive.

Oye Beto says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 12:22am

I liked the mechanic, fun and simple :)
Also the graphic style is clean and minimalistic. I don't know if it's me or the controlls aren't 100% accurate. I wish it had sound.

Good job.

Tozy says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 8:12am

every time I'm more convinced that flash doesn't work for this type of games where time accuracy is so important :/

marnaouf says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 8:33am

Had a lot of fun playing this game. Great work.

May 12, 2013 @ 12:25pm

Very elegant visuals; they fit well with the theme and I instantly knew how to play the game. The mechanic was fun, if familiar, and gave me 'one more try' syndrome.

SuperDisk says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 3:38pm

It's ok.

Kind of like the "runner" games (canabalt, etc) except in a different format.

PAMVllo says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 4:46pm

So hard! BUT REALLY Entretaiment!

imagnity says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 5:27pm

True entertainment!

ethankennerly says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 5:36pm

Timing the turns to trace the path interested me. If you continue to develop this, sometimes my timing was off and I was not sure if the frame rate was consistent. Have you considered music that is cued to the turns?

dector says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 11:31am

True minimalism. Nice idea. Wanna publish some mobile ports?

lorancou says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 8:40am

Very stylish game! I can easily see this becoming a hit on a mobile store, you should give it a shot. Just a shame there's no audio (yet?).

May 15, 2013 @ 7:11pm

First, i played it with the arrows like snake and didn't notice I was doing it wrong until I read in the description about it being a one button game... LOL! Nice game, but keyboard entry seemed a slight bit laggy, which is deadly for a game like this. Otherwise, really cool game !!!

ohsqueezy says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 3:36am

Super fun! The subtly angled line creates an interesting perspective, and the design variation and progression of difficulty in challenge mode are great!

Floko says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 6:06am

Beautifully done, awesomelly developed, fun and simple to play.

Not to mention that nailed the theme perfectly.

I only wished there was some music or sounds.

My personal favorite, congrats =]

klianc09 says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 3:06pm

At first I thought "Silence" was a real songname and I wondered why there was no music... >.<

deepnight says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 9:09pm

A very clever idea :)
Something in the controls doesn't work very well though, but I couldn't exactly find what. So I didn't score a lot :)

Shugor says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 10:16pm

This is one of the best games I have played this Ludum Dare! very polished, smooth graphics, a really nice game!

Codexus says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 10:18am

Very minimalistic.

Roupette says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 3:51pm

Very simple mechanic, so addictive. I cursed my fingers :p.

Dotanukii says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 7:18am

The slight angle the screen is on really makes it challenging and forces the player to get the timing right. Really clever, nice job!

davidpeter says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 3:02pm

Kind of weird that I could press any arrow key for it to turn. Got frustrated after a while, and was fun while it lasted!

Purplescape says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 10:37pm

Fast paced and kept making me want to try again!

0xc0dec says ...
Aug 21, 2013 @ 3:59pm

You inspired me to make this: http://0xc0dec.org/my-games/line-bound/

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]