April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Union

by theplotlessplot - Jam Entry

Union is a game about a lonely square that travels throughout the Universe in search of his true purpose.

Use the Up/Down arrows or W/S keys to move.
Avoid red squares and gather blue ones.

This was my first LD entry and, although it didn't turn out exactly like I had imagined, it was still an amazing and wonderful experience!
Can't wait for the next one!

The tools I used were:
IDE: WebStorm
Framework: cocos2d-html5
Art: Pixen and Pixelmator
Music/Sound: GarageBand and Audacity

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#59Audio(Jam)3.75
#92Theme(Jam)3.81
#133Mood(Jam)3.41
#149Fun(Jam)3.24
#211Overall(Jam)3.30
#233Innovation(Jam)3.11
#265Humor(Jam)2.16
#278Graphics(Jam)3.16

Comments

tiffi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:35am

liked it, but is there an ending? (perhaps im not tooo good at it :D )

Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:42am

oops, I uploaded an earlier build by mistake.. my bad :P
it's fixed now!

Sestren says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:33am

Way too short, but the audio was very soothing.

hmmvot says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:35am

nice game :)

captainkraft says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:37am

I really like the asthetic you've got going on. The art and sound work really well together.

The main mechanic is pretty cool too. For the compo, the length is perfect.

The ending was great, although I'd speed it up a bit.

Great work, thanks for making a cool game

dakeese says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:39am

I enjoyed it! I could see this concept turning into a great complete game.

SmilingCat says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:39am

This partly reminded me of an old 2600 game, Planet Patrol, but with the shooting mechanic replaced with a collecting one.

Nicely done!

ilovepixel says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:09am

Interesting concept, it was a bit too hard for me though.

rujo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:15am

this is very original, i like it, maybe it should be enanched more.

ncgames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:16am

I like the concept of getting bigger as you go, and the risk/reward nature of deciding which blocks to go for. plus a surprise ending!

Folis says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:18pm

Short and sweet! The backstory was also really cute. Post-compo version, please? :)

JustinMullin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:35pm

Graphics are good, but the black on white at that speed made me have to squint. Couldn't rate audio (no speakers) Overall though, I liked the idea, too bad there was only the level. Story idea is fun, I imagined "The life of a Tetris piece" pre-Tetris. Nice game, I want more.

ElScootro says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:29pm

Very nicely done! I like the way the game played out. I think this has a lot of potential to develop further with more levels and plot.

metadept says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:08am

I like the aesthetics and mood of this one. The actual gameplay is a bit simplistic and difficult, but the mechanic of adding together your boxes is cool. It seems like you could do a lot with the random placement of the boxes, by having them in combinations of procedurally arranged patterns or something. Nice job!

multitude says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:20am

cool idea to grow the cubes and make this the level goal. fun, little game.

invaderJim says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:48am

You need to keep making games and never stop.

KunoNoOni says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:40am

That was a great little game. awesome use of theme. for some reason I hear no sound, very odd...

Elrobo says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:04am

I liked the reveal of the whole concept.

Alucard J says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:28pm

Clever idea. A prologue of the tetris block before it makes it to the tetris game! Would have also liked to seen more levels, and different types of enemy. Well Done =]

DaveDobson says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 4:46am

Wow, that was hard. Fun game, and definitely minimalist; you tried hard to establish the mood at the start, and it works, although getting overly romantic about squares is hard (I know, I tried in my entry too). The music and sounds are very cool, and the art has a clean, sharp look. I had some trouble with the controls at times - sometimes keypresses wouldn't work, or they'd register for a bit and then stop moving - it was almost like the key repeat was throwing something off, or cancelling motion, but it didn't always happen.

DaveDobson says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 4:47am

Wow, that was hard. Fun game, and definitely minimalist; you tried hard to establish the mood at the start, and it works, although getting overly romantic about squares is hard (I know, I tried in my entry too). The music and sounds are very cool, and the art has a clean, sharp look. I had some trouble with the controls at times - sometimes keypresses wouldn't work, or they'd register for a bit and then stop moving - it was almost like the key repeat was throwing something off, or cancelling motion, but it didn't always happen. The victory final scene was very mysterious and cool, but it happened too slowly, I think. Nice work!

brodavi says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 10:30pm

What a great little game. Wonderful idea, great sound, very minimalist :)

ZYXer says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 11:56pm

Great idea and funny introduction. Difficulty is a bit on the hard side. It would be nice if one could restart the game without having to reload the page.

glbs says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 7:23pm

The end is a bit sexual ain't it?? It's interesting that the player is growing and not the enemies but some situations happen to be just impossible due to the randomness of the spawning. Maybe it would be better with some kind of patterns?

ethankennerly says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 8:44pm

Avoiding dense areas of red squares while looking out for a blue square that was in an otherwise empty lane interested me. If you continue to develop this, I noticed after a while that the squares spawn at random positions, so could avoid the clumps of red to collect all nine and finish quickly.

kill0u says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 12:34pm

Nice concept, although we only see it for real at the end of the level :)

zkenshin says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 4:41pm

Neat game. A bit short, but good for a competition entry. :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]