April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Obscure

by Ysty - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Obscure is a minimalist horror exploration game. You are trapped in a pitch black complex, and must find your way out with what little light you have available. A monster is stalking you, and the only way to escape him is to close your eyes and run. Sanctuary is available to the south east, but getting there through the labyrinth will be difficult.

The game controls with WASD and a mouse, and requires sound to play.

Linux and Mac users can play the LOVE version, which requires Love2d (found at love2d.org) to be installed, but that's super quick and easy and will let you play a lot of Love2d games in Ludum Dare.

The post-compo version includes fixed collision detection, and reduced loading times.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#62Mood3.80
#191Audio3.32
#325Theme3.77
#419Innovation3.29
#576Overall3.15
#623Graphics2.94
#807Fun2.71
#961Humor1.67

Comments

naughtyloose says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:24pm

the idea is cool but its way to difficult to find your way because the vision spectrum is so small. Additional sometimes the player wont move even tough there is no wall. Keep up the good work! :)

AngelDE98 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:34pm

Interresting use of the "minimalism" theme.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:32pm

This was quite interesting but sometimes the view is just too small. Otherwise it was very original. A story or something like that could have been cool.

Idovoodoo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:56pm

A little tricky but innovative and moody, well done! :)

Merkoth says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:02pm

Great idea, love the atmosphere. I'd like it more with a wider view cone. Really fits the theme.

pjchardt says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:05pm

Great use of the theme and nice audio feedback. I found the game quite tense. One of the best implementations of the theme I have played so far.

Arkazon says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:06pm

Really nice, main issue is as naughtyloose mentioned - sometimes the player refuses to move and you have to jiggle about a bit in order to go down a path.

I managed to reach the sanctuary on my second attempt.

Ysty says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:11pm

@Arkazon Thanks, I'm glad you like it on the whole. Yeah, I did collision a little differently than I normally do (mainly to make the light work properly), but I didn't manage to get it perfect for player movement in time. I might try to see if I can fix that and release a post-compo version.

Ragzouken says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:26pm

Interesting idea! Suffers from the same thing my game does - it's really hard to navigate with such minimal information :P

Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:39pm

lol, I'm not exactly sure what's going on, but I liked the graphical style and the idea/mood! =D

omaromeir says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:18pm

I like the idea but I couldn't really get anywhere. The character gets stuck at times and I couldn't find my way.

GertJohnny says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:44pm

Awesome work - I went a very similar direction with my game, too.

Magnus says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:43pm

A cool idea. I'm glad there wasn't a spooky sound when the voice caught you. I liked the cool line of sight lighting.

fishbrain says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:30pm

Nice idea, but quite difficult.

wolfadex says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:30pm

Audio is superb, as is the game as a whole.

thatwhichis says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:10pm

I win! That... took way too many tries. My fault, not yours. ;-)

Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:46pm

So... hard.. have to keep playing... O___O

meszka says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:14pm

Nice atmospheric audio, but very hard as others have mentioned.

pvwradtke says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:23am

What can I say, this is a clear example of how good an experimental game can be. I have to agree with a comment that the field of view is too limited. Keeping the monster invisible was a nice touch, nothing scares more people than their own imagination. Wouldn't ne surprised to see this game as one of the finalists.

lekochen says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:37am

Great atmosphere but too hard.

fullmontis says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:28pm

Very cool idea! The mechanics actually add a lot of tension to the game. I have to agree with others that the FOV should be larger.

WiseGAMER says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:30pm

Good game indeed , but it's hard though , and the controls wasn't functioning well to me .

May 2, 2013 @ 12:02pm

good job i enjoyed it

Proch says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:03pm

fuckin scary :D

Ysty says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:29pm

Thanks for all your feedback. If you want to try an ever so slightly slicker version of the game, with working collision detection and less loading, I've uploaded a post-compo version here: http://www.ystygames.com/index.php/free-games/#Obscure

Prelucid says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:24pm

Cool. Creepy.

tankete says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 4:12am

Interesting game, but too hard to know if I'm doing well. Maybe a larger field of view?

May 8, 2013 @ 1:56am

Best audio I've experienced so far this ludum dare. Totally awesome and atmospheric!

May 13, 2013 @ 2:47am

You used the theme to an interesting effect but the execution IMO was lacking. Maybe some more work into this and it could really turn out well.

MinionStudios says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 2:06pm

Really challenging and interesting! The flashlight beams don't relly help that much, lol.

alts says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 6:59pm

Interesting game. I think the narrow light cone is enough. It only becomes a problem because movement is unreliable at times, as I'd get stuck despite there being nothing around me.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]