April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Escape

by caasi - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are almost blind, traped in a dark dungeon.
Try to escape with minimal feedbacks!

EDIT: update link text, it's not a flash game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#296Innovation3.45
#325Theme3.77
#961Humor1.67
#1079Audio1.27
#1103Mood2.25
#1260Overall2.32
#1266Graphics1.97
#1318Fun1.68

Comments

raincole says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:13am

Well... I don't really get it. Where am I?

TheFudster says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:23am

I see mostly only grey. I wasn't really able to do much of anything. Maybe it needs more explanation?

SenorDiablo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:23am

nice graphics

intrudergames says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:26am

Sorry, i really tried but i can figure out this.

Mekuri says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:27am

That was weird. I think I get the part of moving around in a dark dungeon where you can't see. But maybe a bit more explanation would make it easier to play.

Rasto says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:32am

nothing happens.. Sorry i was not able to play

caasi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:51am

Ok, more explanation added.

@raincole:
Thanks for your visiting, I like your games. XD

@SenorDiablo:
nice comment

@TheFudster:
@intrudergames:
@Mekuri:
@Rasto:
More explanation added!

jhrrsn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:32am

I get it, but man - hard game! I got the whole 'dark screen means you've moved' thing, but I kept getting killed/pursued by a mean fella. Cool idea though! Maybe it needed a simpler, easier first level to ease you into the mechanic?

ndssia says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:34am

Doesn't seem to work for me on Chrome, with updated Flash - stuck at a grey screen.

caasi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:25pm

@jhrrsn:
You're right, I think break it into more levels is better, and I can add some background story if it's not just one level.

About the visual feedback, I think sound feedback will be better, but I have not found any good tool for sound effect on Ubuntu.

@ndssia:
It works fine on Chrome.
So I think it's the poor visual feedback misguide you :p

DdlyHeadshot says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:30pm

Doesn't run at all on the Gecko 2 engine - what's it running in? (Flash runs fine on the Gecko 2 engine)

lekochen says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:21pm

Cool concept and visual effects. But man it's hard. I have to look at your source code to find the way out. lol.

Husky says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:58pm

For the good old days lol!
I need a paper and pen to pass the game.
Pretty hardcore, but I like it!

caasi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:16pm

@DdlyHeadshot:
Gecko 2 engine? Are you still using FireFox 4?
I am not sure if jaws.js can work in JägerMonkey or not.

@lekochen:
@Husky:
Thank you.
Honestly I didn't work as hard as you guys this time. XD

tonic says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:04pm

That's certainly minimalism. Seriously hard though, I don't get much how can I play it well. =)

Toastation says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:23pm

Awesome

GertJohnny says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:30pm

I had to cheat via source, but all in all a neat concept !

nseward says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:01pm

It was fun to figure out. I also had to get paper. Great idea.

cableplays says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:09am

I don't know how to start!

deathray says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:11am

Ahh! So confusing! I didn't have the patience to figure out what the difference between plain grey and flickering grey was.

Bevilacqua says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:09am

Well... i just don't get it i guess.

Lamprabbit says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:09am

not enough feedback to keep me playing, should have made the start easier and progressively become harder. I have the same type of issues with my game, once people understand it's fine.

VictorGrunn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:44am

Interesting game, though there's just one problem I have with it: I can't tell if the controls are for a top-down perspective, or 3D.

I think I understand what you're going for with the light and the lengths of time it gets 'darker'.

Meep says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:50am

Interesting idea, but was very difficult. :( I feel it could have benefited from slightly more explicit clues in addition to the shade-shifting grey. It has potential, though! :)

Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:33am

I get that you see the screen darken when you move but it only seems that you can move in a sideways U shape, and at part of it you take damage. Too hard.

BigBlackBeard says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:56am

Grey screen for 2 minutes...
I think your game is great, but sorry, I'm not really patient :).

Uhfgood says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:01am

Not really getting it.

donan says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:21am

So hard to play :/
Concept itself its good for the theme.

Luxorix says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:22am

I finished. Hard.

Jubjub. says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:01am

This is cool, but really difficult haha!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:22am

Good idea, but it's too hard and too little feedback. I saw some longer pulses of gray which I thought might be longer halls, but didn't really help me. You need to find some way to give the player more feedback as people will become frustrated very quickly.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:57am

I tried for a small bit, just watched grey change tones a lot at seemingly random intervals. Didn't really figure it out, and wasn't really having fun with it. It certain was minimalistic, though.

lotusgame says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:04am

Need more feedback and action on good or wrong way. Add sound and item would be an idea to give more interest.

Yacodo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:27pm

Oh god. This one's may be the hardest. Begin to understand it but didn't figure out how to deal with the "information" to find the exit.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:05pm

Needs a bit more explanation on how to play.

shines says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:07pm

Great concept, but definitely would like (as others have said) a little more introduction to the game mechanic to grok how to interpret the flickrs. I don't mind a learning curve, but that was more of a learning cliff.

Zed says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:09pm

I guess I walked into a lava pit? I think some sound would've helped, or maybe a slightly better visual cue as to at least some idea of the direction I'm moving in.

It's a really cool idea, though.

rezoner says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:18pm

Interesting idea. Have figured out what's going on after a while - still haven't managed to get out of dungeons. This game is begging for some sound effects.

Msquirrel says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:03pm

I liked the idea and I really wanted to like the game, but the lack of feedback was so hard to work with :(

Msquirrel says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:05pm

(sorry cut off comment by accident) Still, the idea was good and it was great that you made a game in 48 hours, so good job!

Spiridios says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:39am

This really needs more feedback than just a flash. Audio would help. Also, I looked at the map to orient myself so I could figure out what the different flashes meant (yeah, cheater, sorry). If heal-spots can just be spammed for health, why don't they just heal you up fully to start? Even looking at the map, I thought it wasn't winnable until I realized that.

May 4, 2013 @ 11:24pm

I don't understand.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]